We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”

Apples Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #61 of 3,605 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
Description: Furnished in an elegant and modern style, the focus of the restaurant is the open kitchen, where guests can watch the chefs preparing a variety of dishes in wood ovens and on the lava grill. From 27th September to 5th October, the standard menu will be complemented by authentic Japanese cuisine, as Hirokazu Nakazato, chef at the Park Hyatt Hotel Tokyo is joining the team at Apples Restaurant and extending the repertoire with original Japanese dishes and sushi recipes. A regular programme of special events includes a sushi cooking course on 4th October, when the Japanese chef will introduce participants into the secrets of making sushi.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nothing to comment really, the food was perfect, the staff friendly and the prices good. Loved the atmosphere and the decoration of the restaurant. A Hamburg must.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    88
    25
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went with my wife on a Saturday night. Somehow my booking was lost but eventhough the restaurant was full, the manager fixed a window table for us. We ordered the 5-course wine menu and it was staggering! Great taste and fantastic service by the staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HansTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Reservation through Tripadvisor worked perfectly. Reception and service very polite and forthcoming. Food excellent.

As the kitchen is "open" to the dining room, it can sometimes feel a bit noisy but on the other hand side its nice to see the chefs at work :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good five-course menu for a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We checked out the Apples due to the recommendations on TripAdvisor. We ordered the five-course menu including wine for 59€ which definitely is a deal. The courses were good, the ingredients partly excellent. We liked the combination of five wines escalating with the courses. We thought that nothing was really mind-blowing (or tongue-twisting), in fact we missed the love or passion in the detail. Most of the ingredients were pre-prepared and from the fridge. Some combinations were contra-productive like beetroot with beef. However variety and price-value were very good.

Personal was friendly and not too much button up. Ambience is ok, nothing special, high-class hotel style with loads of wood and wanna-be-cool decor.

We might come back for the menue and an diverting evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No 1 in Hamburg? Hmm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I know this is the no rated restaurant in Hamburg but my opinion would be "very good but not great" Ate here with several business colleagues recently and the Goats Cheese starter was excellent.

I then shared a Chateaubriand steak with one colleague and it was pretty good but really just like a nice Fillet Steak. Chateaubriand should be more done on the outside and medium rare on the inside I think. It was pretty much a "Medium" fillet.

The main thing was the length of time between courses. I expect a little wait in a decent restaurant but not over an hour for the main course. Total eating time was 7-10pm!

Wine was good and nice breads etc but overall I would just say "Pretty good"

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apples Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Apples Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing