We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissonance in Delivery” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Empire Riverside Hotel
Ranked #24 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dissonance in Delivery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a Sunday & Monday night on business... my international travel landed me in Germany but all of the meetings had been moved to Brussels. While on business, the stay was basically a leisure stay until I made my way to Brussels for meetings.

The structure of the building is large and grand from the outside. The entry is grand as well, the reception desk is formal and accurate. The first floor bar/lounge and sitting areas are quite nicely designed and furnished.

The elevator is nice. The hallway on the 4th floor often smelled of smoke. I had room 416 and had no view but one of surrounding buildings. I was a bit duped-- it faced the way I requested, but no mention that it was too low to see the water. But this was ok.

Entering the room, it was modern and sparse. The design was minimalist, and had adequate power all around. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a uniform tile both inside and outside the shower, and the floor. The bathroom was nice, though the shower was not large. It had no door, by design.

The hotel had zero wifi in the rooms or hallways. It was only to be found on the ground level. I couldn't believe it. Crazy.

Additionally around sunset I tried to visit the 20th floor bar-- beautifully designed-- and closed. Another fail.

Finally-- for being sold as an upscale hotel, the room contained only hair and body wash as a permenant soap at the sink and in the shower. This is typically a sign of an economy hotel.

So in the end, I had an unmemorable hotel experience. I had nothing in particular fail me, but the hotel itself made no memories. The price was upper scale. The building is up scale. The delivery didn't achieve up scale with the missing room amenities in the bathroom, and the unexcusable missing wifi.

I did grab an ethernet cable for the internet. I have a Macbook Air, and of course rarely use ethernet but do have the extra adapter. A sign greeted me by saying "Don't use personal wifi routers. It causes problems to the system and you will be billed if you cause problems."

The only way a personal router could cause a problem is by fully utilizing the internet-- so in that, they're telling you-- you have one option to use the internet-- via Ethernet, but please don't really use it.

The wifi was free, and I had maxed out my allotment of data within just a few hours in the room.

Not sour grapes, but also could be doing a whole lot better than they're doing. Some change in mindset and management are in order.

Room Tip: When booking, check on the view and not just the direction. Some rooms are low enough that even if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    437
    126
    29
    18
See reviews for
62
413
70
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Hip hotel slap bang in the middle of the Reperbahn.
Great room and wonderful and distinctly German service. Breakfast is expensive €25, but is a meal that'll last you all day.
Wellness was a little oasis and enabled us to steam the stress and alcohol away.
Great location and will use hotel again

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to this hotel in Hamburg whilst on business trips. Not as expensive as some business hotels which tend to exploit the customer knowing that all costs are on the company account. Hotel was chosen because it enjoys a good central location avoiding the need for taxis in the evening.
Great views of the Elbe and across the city. I was upgraded on this visit to 18th floor so views were even better.
Spacious room, clean and tidy. Bathroom adequate and no separate shower soap and shampoo, a characteristic of the budget hotel - change that if management read this review.
Still no wireless internet in the rooms only Ethernet cable. Wireless available in the public rooms where it works well.
Good cross section of guests from business people to upper market holiday makers.
Staff very helpful and courteous in reception and restaurant.
Sweets on check in counter which is always a bonus!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was in this hotel last week, on a business meeting. Location is fine, rooms are spacious and very clean, with a great view on Elba river and Hamburg harbor. Beds are fine, toiletries are included,, off course. Chocolates on a pillow and St.Pauli surviving kit ( condom, ear plugs.. ) is a nice touch. Staff is very friendly and efficient. Buffet breakfast is superb. You can find everything that you want and more. Hotel has a superb bar on 20th floor with a great view.One o the best hotel that I ever visit and it has only 4 stars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in the ER for 3 nights. We sent a bag in advance which they (on request) opened and ironed prior to our arrival - everything worked fine.

Unfortunately we didnt get the booked room in a 12+ floor, but the view was quite good anyway.

The Bar has a brilliant view, but the staff isnt too friendly...

Overall, I would say a fair price for a good hotel, but nothing fantastic

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
304 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

picture the hotel with floor to ceiling windows right on the port of hamburg. the decor is modern and very comfortable. the staff is efficient and nice. and then you ask about wifi.. yes it is free but you can only connect in the public places.. no , there is none in the room but you can connect by cable.. by cable? my mc air does not even know what it is!!! for an hotel of this quality this came as a surprise. on the other hand, the wifi in the public places is fast.

no coffee machine in the room. this for me is a must but other people do not care. breakfast served downstairs is abundant is good with a great view on the river. a nice bar with a view on the 20th floor

the hotel is located 10 minutes from city center, 35 minutes by foot. there is a nice promenade along the river and the restored wharves right in front of our hotel.

so everything is good but for two details. no wifi not coffee machine in the room.

Room Tip: the view is nice from almost all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauremm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at 23:15 at the Riverside on Sunday evening. There is no food available after 23:00 and no room service either! This means that to eat you must go outside in the middle of the red light district; not really attractive! Rooms are fine and sparsely decorated but with some nice amenities such as robes and slippers. The strangest thing however there is NO WIFI in the rooms and no room service; the least would have been to have a kettle or a coffee machine but this was not the case. So, if you are like me and enjoy a coffee in your room before going to work, this is not possible. There are much better hotels at the same or lower prices in Hamburg, so read Tripadvisor before you visit !

Room Tip: Higher rooms will probably offer a better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#69 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Riverside Hotel

Property: Empire Riverside Hotel
Address: Bernhard-Nocht-Strasse 97, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empire Riverside Hotel towers 90 meters above the River Elbe and dominates the skyline of Hamburg harbour. The hotel is located in a unique position high above the St Pauli Landungsbrücken in a triangle between the Hafen City, Elbchaussee and downtown Hamburg. Guests have immediate access to the city center and the port, and can watch ships entering and leaving the harbour from their beds. The Empire Riverside Hotel has 327 rooms starting from the fourth floor up to the twentieth floor. Most of the rooms are offering floor-to-ceiling panorama windows, extra-large beds, air conditioning, flat screen television, wireless internet, minibar and safe. The hotel restaurant waterkant serves international maritime cuisine and guests are welcome to watch chefs preparing the food in the show kitchen. There are two hotel bars: DAVID'S Bar & Lounge looking out onto Davidstrasse and the nightlife passing by, and the Skyline Bar 20up, offering an unrivaled panorama view overlooking the River Elbe and the Port of Hamburg. The RIVERstyle fitness& spa features cardio training machines, sauna, steam bath and Kneipp basin on a total of 200 square meters. The Empire Riverside Hotel is located in St. Pauli with acces to Underground and S-Bahn train in only 5-minutes-walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Empire Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Riverside Hamburg
Hotel Empire Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing