We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elb-Residence Appartements
Ranked #256 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Enjoyed the stay here, price was good kitchen is available at an extra charge, gym is only cardio section and pool is relatively small ( popular with family's) food at the in hotel bar is good and staff are very friendly

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views, lower floors give you a look into people's homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela_Gorres, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Elb-Residence Appartements, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hamburg.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

I chose this property for three reasons: first of all, because it has a well-equipped kitchen, second - a swimming pool, as it's a good idea to have a nice swim after a long walk around the city and before going to bed, and the price was really affordable. On the whole, we didn't regret choosing this residence as it is in a queit middle-class and lower middle-class area, just a few minute bus-ride from the main railway terminus and thus from the very centre of the city, The buses run strictly according to the timetable, so we never waited for a bus for long. It's also possible to reach the hotel from the S21 station Tiefstack, as the bus stop is right at the exit from the station, But I would not recommend doing it late at night as the area may well be empty of people at this time. But it is 5 min. ride from the hotel stop. We liked the views from the windows (we could even see one of the ELb's horns), the cleanliness and the comfort of the apartment and the equipment. The only thing I didn't find in the kitchen was disposable filters for a coffee machine , there weren't any, and it is not very prudent to buy a pack if you're staying for two or three days. So we did not use this machine. What a pity! Another drawback we found was the cold water missing at times (perhaps they needed much for the swimming pool) and we had to wait a while before taking a shower, as we were running the risk of getting burnt.
As for the swimming pool, it is nice, but it doesn't have any changing room. And since it is in the adjacent hotel Holiday Inn, you have to go along quite a chilly passage between the hotel and the residence in a wet swimsuit. Not very healthy and pleasant. And there is no attendant in the pool, so people are free to do whatever they want to, without paying attention to other guests.e.g there were two kids playing the ball in the pool, causing a lot of inconvenience to the others making them even bump into each other to avoid being hit on the head with a ball. And it is not so pleasureable to have the splashes of chlorine water from the ball in your eyes, especially if you're allergic to it. The boys didn't stop playing even when they were asked to do so (there were some 5-6 other people in a small pool) and they were even encouraged to play further by their sort of ill-bred mum,. So we decided against using the pool.
I have no complaints about the front desk personnel: they speak good English, did everything very quickly and gave us a detailed map of the city immediately on the arrival,and were extremely helpful. So, despite some minor problems we liked our stay in Hamburg and the Elb Residence in particular.
And for Russian tourists and businessmen. There is a Russian supermarket 'Mix-Markt' just in three S21 stops (Friederich Frank Bogen, 81, Netteinburg station, just accross the road, behind a long apartment block). You can add some Russian flavour to your very nice German stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvetlanaMosowRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnHotel, Manager at Elb-Residence Appartements, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your detailed feedback regarding your stay with us at the Elb-Residence. We really appreciate this!

Please accept our apology for the situation in the pool. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception when you feel disturbed. We will take care of the situation immediately. However, there seems to be a misunderstanding regarding the changing rooms. These are located on the same floor as the pool and are only a few steps away. We are sorry we did not give you this information upon arrival.

We would be happy to welcome you back at the Elb-Residence, when you will return to our beautiful city of Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I experienced just once this hotel.
the fist impression was good, refurbished and with proper spaces.
But immediately afterm the queue at the check in makes thing real.
Globally, it's a good deal if we search something in the industrial area, not so expensive and with a good breakfast. (i didn't experience the dinner in hotel).
The room was big, but smoky even if i asked for a no smoking, and it was close to the road... so noisy.
The bed was too soft and the bathroom was a little bit decadent (at the limit of the acceptable).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

You have everything you need in these apartments, we even had a balcony. They are very clean, but a bit dated. The drain in our shower was blocked the first day, we tried to tell them but it wasn't fixed during our stay. So the drawbacks of this hotel is location, no information from hotel (a map, directions to bus etc. would be nice), didn't fix drain, need to change pillows and towels. On the plus side you have a kitchen, more than enough space, quiet location, cleanliness. OBS! There's free wifi for 24 hours, and you should take the 124 or 120 bus to hauptbahnhof to get to the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for New Years 2010, and really it was a great hotel.

Location; In a quiet part of town. There is a bus stop just a few mins walk from the hotel, very convenient, takes you right to the center of the city in 10 mins (line 120 or 124). This was the only inconvenience, that it was not located in the center of the city itself. Cheap good grocery store nearby (Aldi) and a diner which we never visited.

Service: Fantastic, very friendly.

Breakfast: Super, lots of selection!

Room: Very clean, large, well kept, it had a separate bedroom and living room.

Conclusion: Aside from the extra cost of travelling to and from the hotel, this is a great place to be. The breakfast is fantastic, so much variety, and you feel pampered in a nice comfy bed and apartment. It's not posh by any means, but its great really. Perhaps could be a bit cheaper given its distance from city center, but most everything is unfortunately expensive in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamster_Huey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wilma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 長万部幸太郎
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,086 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#227 of 321 in Hamburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elb-Residence Appartements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elb-Residence Appartements

Address: Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Hotel Class:4 star — Elb-Residence Appartements 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
INDIVIDUALITY.More living comfort through spacey rooms in a young design and functional equipment – the rooms of the ELB-RESIDENCE equally meet the sophisticated needs of business as well as leisure travellers.SERVICE.Make us of the facilities of the hotel which is connected to the ELB-RESIDENCE.RELAXATION.Pool, sauna, gym and massages.LOCATION.The city center is approximately 3 km away from the ELB-RESIDENCE. The bus takes 7 minutes to get there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elb-Residence Appartements reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing