We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamburg Holiday”
Review of Hotel Nord

Hotel Nord
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nord
Ranked #305 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff, always willing to help. The area is central but may be surprising at night and early am. We had no problems, except you need to be vigilant when walking on the sidewalk, lots of dogs going walkies.
You have to book breakfast 24 hours in advance but there are plenty of alternatives that have great breakfasts and opportunity to see people. We were very glad to stay there. Andrew

Room Tip: Very clean and bath was very good. We were on second floor and WiFi didn't work, there is no in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank 27AndrewAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 46 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Cold rooms, bad heating (we both got sick), uneven floors, hookers outside, 20x70cm ventilation "hole" into the shared 1st floor shower viewable from the staircase = no privacy in shower. Garbage "corner" from bar(?) outside preventing ventilation through open window. Random room cleaning (they cleaned 1/3 of our nights stayed), stains on both mattresses, and 5-10cm gap between them. Heavy cigarette smoke smell in the hallways. Only cold water in the shared bathroom with annoying motion sensor for the light switch (it turns of the light after aprox 10sec!) so you have to wave your arms to get it going again. Showers water-beam fixed to the tightest "blast" setting. I have never written a hotel review before, and never checked out 2 days early and switched to another hotel before this, and Ive stayed at some shady places.The hotel was very central tho, close to the hauptbahnhof, to say something positive.

Room Tip: Not room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrcarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Only making a booking with Hotel Nord if you have time to spend trying to find somewhere else to stay after you arrive in Hamburg!

I booked a month ahead using one of the big online booking services, and then phoned and e-mailed (in English and German) a couple of weeks ahead to confirm a booking for two beds and a late arrival, which Hotel Nord said was OK. However on arrival they wanted cash up front, which should have set alarm bells ringing, as well as an extra EUR30 as deposit for the key (I've had this in a hostel, but not anywhere with pretensions to be a hotel).

They then gave us a room with one bed, not the two I had booked. When we objected and showed the booking again the receptionist shrugged and said that, instead of objecting to one of us having to sleep on the floor, we should just be grateful that there was a shower, as while the booking was for two beds, we hadn't requested access to a shower when we booked!

They claimed to have no other rooms or beds. They must have known this well in advance, yet had not bothered to give us the opportunity to cancel. I guess they knew our booked late arrival would mean it would be too late for us to set about finding somewhere else, so they would get our money.

They refused a refund, even when I suggested we get only 50% back as they had provided 50% of what was booked. The manager supposedly could not be contacted at all, ever, except by e-mail.

Also, while Hotel Nord is indeed very close to the station, the linking street is very seedy , - neighbouring businesses are not exactly "family friendly", and accessing the hotel involves getting past undesirables on the doorstep drinking from bottles. People might feel very uncomfortable there, especially lone travellers.

There was also a mouse trap under the bed, make of that what you will.

In short, this hotel cannot be trusted to honour bookings, so should be treated as a last resort, perhaps if the hostels are full.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i-woz-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank PilleGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank 375tatjanam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#53 of 321 in Hamburg
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rilano Hotel Hamburg
#78 of 321 in Hamburg
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nord

Address: Bremer Reihe 22, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $87 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing