We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such nice rooms, but lack of aircon an issue at 38 Celcius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boston Hamburg
Ranked #34 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We had two suites, one used for ourselves and one for our kids. They were just very spacious and very nicely decorated. Felt great to have the room in the top of the hotel with all the windows and with the bed put into the "narrow angle" of the building. (Don't worry, curtains are available). The bathroom was more or less integrated into the room which an extremely cool shower. Wish I had one of those... Regretfully there's no aircon in the rooms and it was an issue as the outside temperature was 38 Celcius (yes!) during our stay.
Location is off the city center, but you would likely know this if booking it. There's a parking garage that can be used against a fee.
As we were arriving late, we used the hotel restaurant which is also trendy looking. The waitress did not have a good evening though, mixing basically everything up, but in a charming way, eventually compensating us for the whole thing by giving us free desserts.
The breakfast is very nice, again quite modern & trendy looking. During our breakfast, the fire alarm started, eventually resulting in the firemen coming into the lobby. The noise was on for at least 10 minutes. The hotel management was however fast in compensating us with a glass of champagne - and with a small box of chocolate when we checked out.
All in all - a great boutique hotel in very trendy style - but avoid the hottest summer days.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizLeisureFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

Plush, clean and cozy feel in the common areas and rooms. Huge bathrooms even in the standard sized rooms.
Quiet area, close to transit, but a bit far for those wishing to do walking tours.
Fabulous service in everything, I cant speak highly enough. They accommodated every request and certainly went above and beyond the standard, from lobby, to restaurant, to room service.
Pride in workmanship is certainly visible as well as the nice details only a non-chain hotel provides.
The only complaints are minor, there is no coffee/tea station in the rooms and almost no vegetarian meals.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaTheGreat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I visited Hamburg to attend a conference and to spend a vacation with my family. We stayed at Boston Hotel for 9 days, rely we enjoyed a lot our stay, the room was large enough for a family of 3 adults and 2 children. The staff in the reception were very friendly. There was a Kitchenette that was well equipped. There was a bathroom and a toilette separated. Cleaning was every day with changing towels. Wireless internet was free of charge. There is a near by supermarket and S train station ( Hellenstrasse) . It was one of the best hotels that we visited in Germany over the last 2 years.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I loved all the blackness in this place! Rooms have glossy black closets, black carpeting, black leather beds, black bathroom tiles and huge black rainforest showers (you could spend all day in there). The lobby, in contrast, has brown and orange furniture and lamps. It has a fireplace, a flat screen and a mini library and it's a comfy place to sip on some coffee, beer or wine. The hotel is a snug and swanky refuge in a dark and cold city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Boston (also goes as Boston HH) in Hamburg for 4 days. It was clean, the room was large by European standards, and the staff was fantastic. They were friendly, enthusiastic and took a bit of pride in their establishment. My wireless was free. I had their breakfast service a couple times and found it to be outstanding. Their lobby bar is usually open late. I did meet some other global business travelers who make the hotel their home for many weeks in a row. They were German, and very enthusiastic about their experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We found a good price and booked online through Expedia. The booking said a “large room”, but we ended up in a suite, and it was fantastic! The furnishings were modern and comfortable- the bed was great! We had a nice sitting area, where I enjoyed reading, and a huge walk-in closet (love to be organized!)
It was like having a nice apartment in the middle of the Schanzenviertel, a really cool neighborhood in Hamburg. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the subway, and 10 minutes in the other direction is a street lined with fantastic restaurants and bars for at least 3 blocks. We ate really well in Hamburg. I loved the city! I liked staying in this neighborhood- I probably wouldn’t recommend it for older travelers (direct in the city center might be better), but this is a great hotel and a great area for young people.
The staff at the hotel was incredibly helpful and friendly on a consistent basis. They also spoke English very well. Parking in the garage is 12 euro a day. We had some things planned for Sunday morning, so they let us check out late at no extra charge. Really friendly and really accommodating!
The bar/lounge area downstairs in the lobby is really comfortable and inviting. There is a cozy fireplace and tons of chairs to hang out in. Usually I spend very little time in hotels on vacation, but I felt like this was a really nice place to hang out in. Breakfast was also served downstairs (16 euro a person) and had a great selection of fresh squeezed juices, cheeses, etc. It was really nice to enjoy a relaxing breakfast here. The bar in the lobby also serves fantastic coffees and good drinks.
My only complaint is that the shower stall was very small- I kept banging my elbows on the sides of the shower. We also had a nice big tub though, so I managed.
Hamburg was a great city to spend a weekend in (wish it had been longer!) and I am glad we picked this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This hotel has a modern and young feel to it. The staff are very helpful and always available. On arrival, our room had to be changed and we were offered a tea/coffee immediately while this was arranged. The location is very good, with the Holstenstrasze SBahn station only two minutes away. Then it is only three stops to Hauptbahnhof, which csots €1.65. There are several streets with good restaurants/shops of character nearby where there are many bargains to be found. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fidge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
2,220 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#17 of 321 in Hamburg
673 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
1,603 reviews
The George Hotel
#39 of 321 in Hamburg
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston Hamburg

Address: Missundestr. 2, 22769 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $140 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Boston Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* superior boutique hotel with a penchant for design and ambience. Modern and versatile. Discover our 46 rooms and suites in the style categories "Classic" and "Design". Enjoy a little rest and recuperation in our Finnish sauna. Work out free of charge at our small but broadly equipped gym. Get away from the urban hustle and enjoy a little recreation time in our relaxation room with natural daylight. The congenial restaurant with 40 seats comes with a great show kitchen, a lava stone grill and seasonal grill cuisine. A perfect place for a social evening and cheerful dinner. The bar and lounge with a cozy fireplace build the centerpiece of the BOSTON hotel. Pure indulgence in domestic atmosphere with individual service and the exeptional "BOSTON family charm". Our conference and convention area is equipped with an appealing foyer and three rooms from 34sqm to 64sqm, which provide the ideal space for individual meetings and conferences for up to 60 people. Hamburg. The port. The gateway to the world. Germany's musical metropole conquers any visitor's heart with a lot of sights, great attractions and various events in Hamburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boston Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing