We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Modern, stylish, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boston Hamburg
Ranked #44 of 320 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Modern, stylish, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The ambience at The Boston is something to write home about - welcoming, cozy, and warm. The staff are young, friendly and unfailingly polite. Our room was huge, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. We didn't try the breakfast because we woke up very late every day, but we also felt that at 18 euro per person it was a bit much.

The hotel is situated out of the city center, but with good public transport connections. The S-Bahn stop is 5 minutes away, and there are also regular buses. The area felt safe at all times. There's a supermarket close by, with a good bakery which also offers excellent coffee.

Only one stop away on the S-Bahn is the very cool Sternschanze district, where you can eat and drink at very reasonable prices and meet interesting people.

All in all, The Boston comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana_era
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    82
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
127
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel is very modern, with nice reception area and very friendly staff. Rooms are very big, interestingly decorated and generally good I would say. Bathroom has heated floor, nice feature during winter time. Breakfast is good, especially bacon excellent. Good coffee. Free and well working Internet connection.
Hotel is not exactly in the city centre. There is however S-Bahn station just 5 minutes walk. We got a bit unpleasant experience first evening, there was some wine promotion, where you could buy a bottle for 12.5€, but when we wanted to buy it, barman said that price is actually 30€. Strange.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
184 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was truly a pleasant surprise. Very stylish and elegant. Great staff, very good breakfast and free internet.
After checking out, I had to wait for my colleague in the lobby. The friendly lady in the bar immediately asked if I wanted something to drink, a coffee or tea. Free of charge and served with a smile.
Probably my new favorite hotel in Hamburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent a weekend away and wanted a nice hotel with amenities and close to the sites. I found this hotel on a website recommended by German travelers, and was so convinced of the recommendations, just had to book Boston. It was well worth it for a nice get away. Even though the area itself is not that great, the street the hotel is on is quiet.The hotel was close to the city s-bahn system and very easy to move about the city with a day pass.

We loved the big breakfast in the stylish lounge-restaurant area, the big rain forest shower, big TV, spacious room and attention to details like the magazines and maps, and Internet. Coffee and tea maker would have been great in the room to round things out. We did get a bottle of water with our deal, though.

On our check out day we left the luggage at reception and enjoyed a lovely potato soup on the couch in front of the fire ad warmed up from the cold grey Hamburg weather. Perfect, almost like at home: in fact, better. Nice, young and good looking staff was attentive and took care of everything.

We would go back for sure!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in October while exploring Hamburg and while it's not in the city center, it was close to a bahn stop with quick and easy access to everything. The rooms were large and not just a good size for Europe, huge! The color pallet was perfect for us, with shades of warm browns and pretty accents. It was very warm for a modern hotel. It was chic not stark or sterile. The bed was relatively comfortable save for the pillows, which could use some work. The bathrooms are well equipped with plenty of power outlets, an awesome towel warmer and great spacious stand-up shower with rain-fall shower head. The breakfast was excellent, certainly not your standard European hotel breakfast. There were plenty of options including some healthy options, good coffee, great tea selection and Champagne for mimosas or bellinies. There were even plenty of options for me as a gluten-free pescetarian. The bar/lounge was also fantastic. The bartenders were friendly and made great cocktails. After a cold, rainy day of sightseeing, relaxing on the couch next to the fire with a coffee and Bailey's was just perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovingThisLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was very satisfied with this hotel. It is not quite in the city center, but that does not matter, as S-Bahn is only a 5 minute walk away (Holstenstraße).
The staff was nice, the room I got had been upgraded, so it was bigger than I had ordered, but I did not have to pay more :-)
The room was by the way quite big, beds are nice, and it was all very clean.
There is a restaurant and a bar also, and I tried both. In the restaurant I tried one of the most expensive meals on the card, but it was well worth the money, and the wine (a Spanish bio wine) was excellent.
Breakfast was also impeccable.
All in all a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpskoubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#11 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#17 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
No photo provided
Hotel St. Annen
#2 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#20 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#18 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston Hamburg

Property: Hotel Boston Hamburg
Address: Missundestr. 2, 22769 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 320 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Boston Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* superior boutique hotel with a penchant for design and ambience. Modern and versatile. Discover our 46 rooms and suites in the style categories "Classic" and "Design". Enjoy a little rest and recuperation in our Finnish sauna. Work out free of charge at our small but broadly equipped gym. Get away from the urban hustle and enjoy a little recreation time in our relaxation room with natural daylight. The congenial restaurant with 40 seats comes with a great show kitchen, a lava stone grill and seasonal grill cuisine. A perfect place for a social evening and cheerful dinner. The bar and lounge with a cozy fireplace build the centerpiece of the BOSTON hotel. Pure indulgence in domestic atmosphere with individual service and the exeptional "BOSTON family charm". Our conference and convention area is equipped with an appealing foyer and three rooms from 34sqm to 64sqm, which provide the ideal space for individual meetings and conferences for up to 60 people. Hamburg. The port. The gateway to the world. Germany's musical metropole conquers any visitor's heart with a lot of sights, great attractions and various events in Hamburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boston Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing