We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for independent travelers”
Review of Hanse Clipper Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanse Clipper Haus
Ranked #18 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

First thing to point out about this hotel is the great location; next door to Hamburg's landmark Michaeliskirche (or Michel) and sort of 300m away from Landungsbrücken U-Bahn and S-Bahn station.
We were received with a big beaming smile at our arrival (always helpful) and the check-in, check-out were fast as bolt.
The room was clean, full of light, everything was in its place and working properly.
On the other hand I wish the wifi could be free for guests.
To sum up, it was a good experience and would recommend it without any doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoserraRenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 472 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Urban architectural coupling of glass with steel in down town Hamburg, this lofty place is a true gem. As soon as you walk in the room you get this home city feeling only movies can give you.

Two-story unified apartments with interior staircase leading to the second floor which pertrudes like a balcony inside the room. Bathroom is upstairs right next to the bed featuring a spacious tub- gotta love that.

A wall sized paneled window runs along both floors making the outside visible from any point in this room. Stereo system, flat panel, baroque styled couch with warm lighting all add in making the room unique. Kitchen is small but practical and parking is available by online reservation.

It's very close to the subway, various different restaurants types and cafes. Still, there is cafe downstairs where basic breakfast can be purchased.

The staff is friendly and the neighborhood fairly quiet for its location.

In January 2013 I'll be going there for the 5th time.

Room Tip: Go for the ''Maisonette Apartments'' they are 2 storie loft style
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yourgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

we arrived Saturday evening and had a problem finding the key box for the apartment - other than that it was perfect, huge place, got an upgrade, Nespresso coffee machine. Super stereo in living room AND bedroom. Great balcony. Walking distance to all attractions - also St. Pauli, in a neighborhood with Spanish and Portoguise restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

we stayed 3 nights at the clipper house in hamburg.the one near the überseebrücke .super new building modern and not over styled.everything we added at the internet booking had been checked,carpark,small dog.extremly warm and friendly welcome by the front desk.
the room it self,a junior suite had been a exquisite modern furnished apartment around 50 sm .windows at whole length of the room looking at a park and the gruner and jahr building.hight ceilings around3.20 m.little kitchen.desk at the windows with all sockets one needs,seating with a sofa and easy chair nice bathroom.
since it is a apartment stay there is no restaurant and no breakfast.but there are about 20 restaurants within 1-5 minutes walk as well as an delivery service which represents dozens of restaurant in town.
location is perfect in a lively living area next to the harbor ,the michel and the center of town.there is hardly any better one even so that are some areas which are more stylish but not as urban as that one.
so hanse clipper will become my favorite whenever in hamburg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfgang3633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this apart-hotel for a weekend visiting family. We had not stayed in premises like this but would not hesitate to do so again and would definitely recommend it. We had an apartment on two floors, that was no more expensive than what we would expect to pay in a hotel. It was very clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Central and quiet, it was the perfect base for the weekend we were there. Plenty of cafes on the adjacent streets.
Staff spoke perfect english and were very helpful.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Highlander03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have styed for a weekend at the hotel some years back and wanted the same type of room - it's an nearly all-suite hotel. At the time of the booking we were assured it was the same but upon arrival it turned out to be a completely different suite. When requesting an explanation we were told that it was due to changes in the rate 'plan' and language problems.
The hotel is nice and in a very special poruguese/spanish quarter so we did enjoy staying there but was disappointed about the mix-up of the information given by the hotel. So remember to diuble check if you want a specific room at the hotel

Room Tip: Make sure you know what type of suite you have booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked this apartment which is well-located for the city, harbour and transport. it is well appointed and would recommend it but......the staff were unimpressive, couldn't be bothered to help and weren't interested in sorting out our small issues.
It is unacceptable to be charged 5 euros per hour for wifi. The kitchenette is under-stocked with 2 Nespresso coffee capsules, 3 teabags and 1 dishwasher tablet!!!! Is this mean or what?? We booked for two nights. More could be purchased from reception.
Apartments aren't service during the stay, this is almost acceptable.
If your apartment is located onto the back street of the building, be prepared for noise!!!
Otherwise, a pleasant choice if you overlook the irritations!!!

Room Tip: Make sure the room is nearer to the reception area of the building and facing towards the church oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
AMERON Hotel Speicherstadt
#11 of 321 in Hamburg
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 321 in Hamburg
1,070 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanse Clipper Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanse Clipper Haus

Address: Ditmar-Koel-Str. 1, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#56 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $135 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanse Clipper Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Portugese Quarter with its many shops and restaurants, these elegant apartments are just a 5-minute walk from Hamburg Harbour. They include fully equipped kitchenettes, flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Hanse Clipper Haus Hamburg offers stylish, non-smoking apartments with a spacious work area and living room with sofas. The kitchenettes include a dishwasher and a Nespresso coffee machine, and luxury toiletries are provided. Guests can prepare their own meals at the Hanse Clipper apartments, and there is a supermarket just a 1-minute walk away. There are many cafes and bars in the area. Landungsbrucken Underground and S-Bahn Station is a 5-minute walk away, providing excellent connections to all parts of the city. Hamburg Neustadt is a great choice for travellers interested in restaurants, shopping and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Hamburg, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Hamburg! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hanse Clipper Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanse Clipper Haus Hotel Hamburg
Hanse Clipper Haus Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing