We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais
Ranked #103 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel with charm”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is very well located, only steps away from university and the train station Dammtorplatz. It's actually in an old apartment building which the owners didn't want to rent out to one single tenant only so there are about 5 different smaller hotels in this building now. The rooms are well decorated and have a nice charm. Breakfast is standard, everything there which you could expect. I even found a parking lot not far from the hotel. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hschw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    62
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
30
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Veenendaal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel Wagner is situated with other hotels in a former apartment building from the early 19-hundreds. We had a clean and spacious triple room, with good beds. This hotel is located close to the university, a 15 minute walk away from the city centre. There is also a station closeby, with good connections to the U- and S-lines of the subway system, which works very well. In the morning they have a good breakfast with lots of different choices in hams, cheeses, fresh breadrolls and croissants and a ample selection of teas.
Although our bathroom was a bit small for 3 persons, it had a nice surprise when you were taking a shower: the showerhead had different coloured led-lights when you turned the water on, very funny!!
Only downside was the noise which entered the room from the corridor, as the walls were rather thin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukkie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The location of the hotel is pretty good, near the university. Room was fine, clean. Luggage storage available. I gave it an average rating for two reasons. The first is that there is no airconditioning in the room. I was there when it was 25-35 degrees celcius and then the room would be much more comfortable if there was airconditioning (or an electric fan). The second is that I would frequently hear loud footsteps coming from people (I think also staff) walking the hallway and slamming doors. This was annoying, especially in the early morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked two single rooms which were both of adequate size with compact, clean bathrooms. It was quiet, set back from the main road but still well located for the train station and the beautiful Planten un Blomen gardens on the other side of the train line. There are plenty of restaurants near the hotel and as it is the university precinct, plenty of cheap cafes and almost decent coffee.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and spoke good English. There were no bar fridges in our rooms which isn't so great in summer. Even though there is no air con I like the fact that you can open your window and there wasn't too much noise.

There is a bike hire station just near the hotel and if you decide to hire, create an account on the internet first www.stadtradhamburg.de. It is a rather complicated process but will be less so if you do this in advance online.

Thang Long Vietnamese restaurant in Grindelalle 91 is very good and I can highly recommend Restaurant Broderson for local cuisine and great ambience. Their outdoor terrace area is very pleasant and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneEchidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is 10 minutes away from the city center and 5 minutes away from train station. Small room but clean and compact. Staff are very friendly. It has what you need for a city hotel, and it is nice to have kettle in the room to make your own cuppa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brighton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just one stop on the S line from Central Station and then a very short walk, this hotel is magnificently located near parks, water, affluent suburb and restaurants. Diana at Reception immediataly makes you feel welcome and could not have been more helpful for all of our stay.
There are stairs but this is a small price to pay for staying in rooms that we found very spacious, unique and stylish. We had 2 rooms and our family of 5 loved them both.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machasgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had an unexpected expense during my trip to Hamburg and had to "downgrade" my accomodations at another hotel, and I chose Hotel Wagner. I am pleased to report that staying a night in Hotel Wagner was well worth the 130EU I saved. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, English-speaking, and helpful. I arrived right at check in, and they needed just a few extra minutes to finish readying the room, so they offered me a complimentary coffee and cookie while I waited.

The room was tiny, about the size of a singleton dorm room, but it was enough for a single traveler. I had a room with a sink and a shower, but the commode was in a shared bathroom across the hall. (Which was very clean and accessible.) It had a small flat-screen tv and a beautiful window that actually opened so you could feel the breeze.

Book your room online so you can pay 7EU for the breakfast, it's well worth it. The area is very walkable and safe and walking distance to the Convention Center and right next to a college and a train station with food and shops. If you want to explore the city on foot, you can do it from this hotel.

My only complain was that the internet, while complimentary, was a little unreliable, but that's okay. If I ever wind up in Hamburg again, i will definitely stay at this cute little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMarshall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#93 of 319 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Preuss
Hotel Preuss
#233 of 319 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Rotherbaum
Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Baseler Hof
Baseler Hof
#51 of 319 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Rotherbaum
Hotel Bellmoor im Dammtorpalais
Eimsbüttel
Hotel am Rothenbaum
Hotel am Rothenbaum
#139 of 319 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais

Property: Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais
Address: Moorweidenstr. 34, 20146 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel , Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing