We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower class Bed&Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Apartment Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #212 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I actually booked this hotel as nothing else was available. The port of Hamburg was celebrating its birthday and the city to filled to the rim. (Side note - was a great event - highly recommend it)

The location of the hotel is OK. Only 2 subway stops from the main train station. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the actual subway station. The hotel is located on a residential side street. There are no shops / restaurants around the hotel. You need to walk 10/15 minutes to find some some shops OR take the subway back into the center (the recommended choice).

The breakfast is fantastic (better then any large hotel chain). Both warm and cold food are available. Breakfast price (7.50 Euro) was perfect.

Our room was 'interesting'. The mattress has seen many customers (with a 'hole' in the middle where everybody has slept). I woke-up on both days with back pain. The TV (not that I watched much more than the news) was very small and very old. Very old (early 70ies) 'cheap' furniture decorated the room.

There was some mold in the bathroom (between the tile cracks). I put a towel on the floor to cover it up. The bathroom in general was not the cleanest.

There was a small kitchen until in the room. There was also a refrigerator but it didn't work at all.

The room cost us 80 Euro per night (standard price). I find this too expensive for this type of room. 40 / 50 Euro per room would be more appropriate.

My personal opinion - if I had booked a hostel room and stay at this hotel I would have been very happy.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2009

City Apartment Hotel Hamburg is not as the name would imply in English. It is more like a country B&B you might find in Vermont, with a kitchenette. The rooms are lovingly decorated, with ample space for working, dancing to your iPod or just hanging out. It is kept very clean. The staff is friendly, without being overbearing. They are helpful if you ask for it, and know to leave you be if you want privacy.
They serve a huge European style buffet breakfast every day, and there is a quiet bar in the lobby. My room was directly over the bar and I was not wakened by noise the entire 2 weeks I was there. The room included hair drier, stove top, refrigerator, cooking pots, dishes, coffee maker and electric kettle.
There's a 'small' grocery nearby that carries all you'll need to stock your kitchenette if you plan to cook your own meals or just want snacks and drinks.
Other than the grocery, there is not much dining or shopping in the immediate vicinity, but a 10 minute walk (turn left at the subway) gets you to all kinds of fast food and proper dining.
Anyone on the staff will call for a cab, which comes promptly. Taxi to the downtown harbor cost about 15 euros with tip.
City Apartment Hotel Hamburg was exactly the kind of homey atmosphere I needed after a day of work. I was very glad to stay there and hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luksusowarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We were 4 people staying in 2 double rooms from August 3 to 6 2007.

Postitive:
+ Friendly and helpful staff
+ Huge rooms with kitchenettes
+ Very clean
+ A wide range of different things for breakfast
+ Close to the U-Bahn (underground)
+ Gay friendly

Negative:
- A bit noisy (corridor/other rooms)

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jason1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I had to stay at this hotel for 4 nights in September. And it was awful.

When you first enter the room, it doesn´t look that bad. Not too small, leather sofa, bed, a little pantry and a bathroom.

Then I turned on the lights in the bathroom and the first thing I saw were hairs on the ground. Growse! The towel hanger was dirty, the toilet was dirty and you could even see little yellow (urin?) spots on the ground!

Also on the ground infront of the little pantry: hairs!

The bed was also very uncomfortable. You could feel every spring from the matress! I woke up with backache every morning!

They offered breakfast for 7,50 Euros. I didn´t try, but the room where they arranged the buffet was filled with cigarette smoke. They used the same room as a pub at night! Not very delicious!

But the most negative point was definitely the dirty bathroom! Even if it´s only a 2* hotel, it can still be clean!

I will never return!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ghostwriter_min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the City Apartment Hotel in early Sept 06 and had a very enjoyable stay.
Good things about the hotel are:
- Location: A quiet spot yet close to the Luebecker Strasse U Bahn (underground) which is only a couple of stops from the centre of the city
- Easy walking distance from the Alster lake (and surrounding park with restaurants)
- Big, well furnished rooms with facilities for self catering
- Excellent buffet breakfast available (E 5.00)
- Small bar for drinks
- Off street parking facilities
- Very reasonable rates (E75.00 - E95.00 per double room)
- Most of all, a very friendly welcome from owner Bernd Westermann and his staff.

See for yourself at [--]

2  Thank Winchester_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
NewLivingHome
NewLivingHome
#137 of 321 in Hamburg
76 reviews
Hammerbrook
City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
#118 of 321 in Hamburg
469 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg Alsterring
#71 of 321 in Hamburg
649 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartment Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartment Hotel Hamburg

Address: Schroederstr. 35/35a, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $91 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Apartment Hotel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Apartment Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing