We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place by the Elbe river, calm and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rilano Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #67 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place by the Elbe river, calm and modern”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Super place - as usual. Unique location, at walking distance to Airbus, by the river Elbe. You can walk along the river on a very nice path. Rooms are clean, simple but perfectly fitted with equipment.
Friendly and efficient staff, good meeting rooms with all business requirements met (we had workshops with 50 people). Good bar.
Only drawback: the restaurant is a bit slow (if not a buffet, much better) and the dinner card has not much choice on. Note that there are no other restaurant around ... so captive market.

Room Tip: choose the river view (odd room numbers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Front Office Manager at The Rilano Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Thomas f,
Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We also want to thank you for your feedback about our restaurant and the serving speed. We will discuss this internally and take appropriate action. We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts.
Best wishes,
Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    177
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
36
125
9
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Rilano is away from the city centre but enjoys a super position overlooking the Elbe
The staff are very friendly and will give you excellent advice on how to get around the city.
Rooms are comfortable and spacious - the only snag is that they do not offer hot drinks facilities in the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Front Office Manager at The Rilano Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear David P,
Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We also want to thank you for your feedback about hot drink facilities in the bedrooms. We offer coffee facilities in our Superior Plus category on the fifth floor. Don’t hesitate to ask for it on your next stay. We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay after all and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts.
Best wishes,
Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I chose to stay here for our 5nights holiday in Hamburg because we want a combination on enjoying sightseeing but also relaxation. So we were happy as we got exactly this. Don't be put off by commuting by ferry (if your not planning late nights out in Hamburg)as they are frequent and for me the gerrymandered to the charm of our holiday. The only thing that lets this hotel down is the restaurant. We couldn't afford breakfast at 19Euro per person per night and the restaurant served fine dining style food at expensive prices however the taste didn't match the price. For example 18Euro is the most I've ever so want on burgers and chips but it was average tasting. My advice to this hotel would be simple and great tasting food for half the price and your guests an local diners will enjoy it much more.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Magsandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Front Office Manager at The Rilano Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Magsandstu,

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay that much and we are glad that you liked the location. We also want to thank you for your honest feedback about our restaurant and meal prices. We will discuss this internally and take appropriate action. We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay after all and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a clean, modern hotel that is clearly designed to be used by people traveling on business, particularly as it is next to Hamburg's aerospace district. The rooms are large, modern and comfortable, the staff helpful and everything is very well presented. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. If you are staying here on business expenses then fair enough but we had a look at the prices and really wouldn't pay them for a general stay. A delve into the wardrobe for example found a price list for the hotel laundry service: €2.90 to wash a pair of underpants, €8.50 for a pair of trousers...

The only thing that lets it down really is the lack of things to do in the area, the hotel lies on the edge of a business park and as such you really have to drive or take the ferry (there's a jetty right outside) to get anywhere to eat and drink in the evening. The choice of local bars and restaurants is quite slim, but do try the "floating boat" bar across the river at Teufelsbrucke for large helpings of very tasty food. There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel which are good (if a bit expensive), and if you're staying for a few days it is nice to get out. There nearby town of Finkenwerder has some amenities such as a bank and supermarkets.

So, generally a pretty good hotel, if expensive and a little isolated.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has views of the river, the other side has views of a patch of wasteland and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spottswoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Front Office Manager at The Rilano Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Spottswoode,

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you couldn’t enjoy the location but we thank you for your recommendation of our rooms, staff and service. We are happy that we could meet your expectations and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altorf, France
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Rilano Hotel in Hamburg is a fantastic Stop for anyone in Hamburg for Business. Zabojad Exploring Germany while its numerous stays enjoyed the view on the sea during breakfast and Dinner. The restaurant serves marvellous fresh fish and the bar very tasty Hamburgers. Zabojad always pleased to visit and stop over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Front Office Manager at The Rilano Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Zabojad,

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor with a five star rating. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay that much and we are glad that you liked the view and the location. We also want to thank you for your recommendation of our breakfast and for your compliments for the dinner. Our chef appreciates this very much. We are happy that we could exceed your expectations and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A Business type hotel which is good if thats what your needs are. for a romantic venve its not the place to be. a nice postion by the river, however but there is little else otherwise, and a good 40 mins to the city.
The rooms are good but furnished for business not pleasure, the service could be better, the restaurent is OK, but again could be better.

Room Tip: the river side rooms offer a more plesent view/aspect, but at a price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Front Office Manager at The Rilano Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Steven D,

Thank you for your honest review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay . We also want to thank you for your honest feedback about our restaurant. We will discuss this internally and take appropriate action. We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay after all and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Hotel is app. 20 min by car from Inner City of Hamburg located. The absolute near to the west side of Elbe river enables leisure atmosphere, from restaurant and most of the rooms is river view given. A working river-boat-bus connection to Hamburgs Inner City is one kind of public transport; a public bus connection also exists. The Hotel offers an acceptable sauna. The parking place is expansive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan C, Front Office Manager at The Rilano Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Andreas S,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad that you like the view and the location. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#20 of 319 in Hamburg
651 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#61 of 319 in Hamburg
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Garni Fock & Oben
#210 of 319 in Hamburg
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rilano Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rilano Hotel Hamburg

Property: The Rilano Hotel Hamburg
Address: Hein-Sass-Weg 40, 21129 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rilano Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quiet located 4-star The Rilano Hotel Hamburg offers a terrace overlooking the river Elbe and Blankenese, a beachbar, a private pier directly in front of the hotel as well as a 24-hour-SPA. The Airbus headquarters are in immediate vicinity. All rooms of the non- smoking The Rilano Hotel Hamburg are air-conditioned with flat-screen TV, laptop safe, hair dryer, private bathroom and free WIFI up to 100MB. A lot of rooms enjoy direct river views with panoramic windows. Guests also benefit by 4 free drinks from the minibar every day. On the top floor you will find the SPA. From here you have direct views on the Airbus headquarters. A Finnish sauna and a gym with equipment from Technogym belong to the SPA. Free WIFI up to 100MB is available everywhere in the hotel. In the restaurant River View you can enjoy our rich buffet breakfast as well as regional and international specialties. The Fusion Bar, the summer terrace and the beachbar complete our gastronomic concept. With a total of 170 rooms and suites as well as conference facilities up to 220 persons it is the perfect hotel in Hamburg for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Rilano Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Golden Tulip Hamburg
Hamburg Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing