We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water tower turned first class hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #12 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Water tower turned first class hotel!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just recently heard about this hotel and decided to stay during our 3 day visit to Hamburg.
The decor in the rooms is modern and comfortable. The room we stayed in (4th floor) was small for American standards, but did not lack any convenience.

Since it was originally a water tower and a lot of the original interior was kept, the decor in the lobby, bar and even in the workout area is beautiful and quite unique.

The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in the "Schanzenviertel", surrounded by dozens of restaurants, bars, night spots and shopping. It is a somewhat alternative/ multi-cultural area, that is mostly frequented by a younger crowd and might not appeal to everyone.

Parking will cost extra, if you can't find a public spot on the street. There is no actual parking lot, but reserved spots outside and 2 (very small) indoor parking garages. (Euro 12-17/ night).

The subway station is right outside the hotel! It is only 2-3 stations away from the downtown shopping district, the Reeperbahn and other local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jags7803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing this positive review.

We are glad to hear, that you were satisfied during your stay and that you felt comfortable in our historic and charming water tower. As well we are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in Hamburg and profited of the very good connection of public transport.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    671
    122
    32
    16
See reviews for
270
953
108
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our huge tour group stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. I requested for a triple sharing set up for my family. Hotel location is definitely not central . You need to get a taxi for a 10-15 minute ride to the city centre or the main plaza. But it is within a park , near a train station, and a 5-10 minute walk to some restaurants and a mini grocery. Going to the lobby from the main floor, you have to go through an escalator which is like a conveyor belt (a little bit high rise ) so be careful with your luggage ( which usually you have to do it by yourself ) in going up and down. Lobby had a nice design and decor, but I would not consider it as a spacious one , although there are some seats available for waiting guests. Elevators are card key accessible , although cramped ,ensuring some sort of security . The room size was typical European , which was small , but somehow amenities are functional . I agree with some reviewers that somehow bathroom set up intrudes with privacy , making one uncomfortable if taking a bath or doing something else . Flat screen TV was medium size and English channels are very minimal . Aircondition temperature controls are fixed, and since it is the beginning of the summer season , we would end up opening windows instead to allow air coolness to set in. Problem however is when trains pass by, making those noise which at times bother our sleep, so we were forced to close our windows instead. Service was inconsistent in the front desk , they seem hesitant to help those who wish to avail of the free internet use at the business center. And when we request them to change our US dollar to euros , they ran out of funds to we were asked to come back the next day. They had some perks, such as the coffee machine dispenser situated in the lobby, which serves free drinks for guests , available during morning and late afternoon. And the room turn down ( i noticed that rooms are made up and turn down at the same time ) would give a mini chocolate and a rubber ducky toy intended for every guest. The buffet breakfast they serve are definitely top notch , and i think this one compensated for my initial mixed reactions regarding this hotel . Food selection is always fresh , and replenished consistently . I liked the cold cuts, cheese, juice corner and the availability of bread baskets for the pastries/ bread selection. A unique feature is the honey dispenser (there are 3 different types ) and the honeycomb which is included in the buffet. Food tastes really good, and even my daughter just kept going back for more chicken nuggets and bacon. I noticed however that the staff can't make a good omelet or sunny side up. what i like is the dedicated service of the lady wait staff who are very attentive , and even show concern by asking us if we are enjoying our breakfast . Maybe offering free internet would have been a really big plus for this hotel . Anyway I would spend 2 euros for each time I would use the the internet for an hour.This hotel is geared more for local tourists. Absence of free wifi doesn't make this a good value hotel , but somehow basic services and breakfast would somehow compensate.

Room Tip: Higher floors give better view, and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello from Hamburg’s water tower,

Thank you a lot for your visit at our hotel and your detailed review here on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to hear, that you liked our historic water tower and that you felt comfortable with us. We thank you especially for your great compliments concerning our extensive breakfast buffet.

However, we are sorry to read, that you weren’t totally satisfied with all of our services and we apologize for the inconveniences. As we only have a certain amount of change at the reception desk, it may sometimes happen, that we are not able to accept an exchange. We always gladly let you know the location of the closest cash machine.

Of course we a pleased, that we could make joy to you with the mini Mövenpick chocolate and the complimentary coffee in the lobby.

We hope to may welcome you soon again in Hamburg or any other Mövenpick hotel worldwide.

Best regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good things:
- the location is very good (set in a park, close to a nice restaurant district).
- the breakfast buffet is open until 2pm on weekends which is convenient

Not so good things:
- the service is rather 'cold' but helpful if you persist; don't expect good recommendations for a night out; if you wanted a spa treatment (not at the hotel, but anywhere in town) but did not book before arrival, forget it - the hotel can make a call, but do not expect miracles
- the rooms have rather small windows but that is forgiveable, I think, given that the building used to be a water-tower.
- lack of basic comforts is rather not forgiveable for a 4* property:
-- the armchairs work only if you sit straight on them. Try leaning back and the 'seat pillow' simply slides out. So forget about lounging on them.
-- Now, if you try that on your bed, you will soon notice that there is no back rest, there are not enough pillows in the room to help you fix that, and finally, there is a sharp ledge just where the neck is suppose to rest...
-- No free fi-wi in the rooms is very much 20th century + the pricing model for it is extortionate (1h = 3€, 1 day = €12)
-- No kettle in the room, so forget about morning coffee in your bed unless you want to face room service
-- finally, there are no extraction fans in the bathrooms - so you can imagine what that means after having a shower or using the toilet...not inviting at all

Room Tip: Never except the first room you are offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podroznik2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hallo from Hamburg’s water tower,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for writing this review here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read, that you liked the location of our hotel and that you enjoyed our late riser breakfast.

However, we are very sorry to hear that you weren’t completely satisfied with our service and our hotel rooms. The size of the rooms (about 26m²) and its windows is indeed caused by the historic building of the old water tower. We offer a “pillow-menu” from which you may order different kinds of pillows free of charge to your room to may provide the best possible comfort.

Alternatively to the chargeable WIFI every guest may use our two computer terminals in the business center free of charge, 24hours daily. On request we gladly provide you with a kettle (for a small fee). Starting from our room category superior coffee- and tea facilities are included in the room rate – just let our reservations department select the best deal according to your wishes.

We apologize for the inconveniences and hope to may welcome you again anyway to convince you of our unique product.

Best regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote d'Ivoire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business and I felt very well looked after at this enormous hotel.
+ bedroom was silent which was amazing, nice size TV and chocolates on the pillow a nice touch
+ excellent service, very polite and willing to help
+ fantastic breakfast, everything you could ask for - I particularly liked the real honeycomb
+ like the idea of choosing your pillow type
+ gym and saunas look very good
+ location good, close to the train station.
+ big bathroom with all the creams and shampoo I needed.

- The internet wasn't working during my stay which cannot be helped. However I had to go to the lobby to use the internet and sit with the unusual dripping soundtrack (because it's an old water tower). I liked it at the beginning, but after 10 minutes I felt like I was in the sewers!
- The scrambled eggs weren't good for breakfast (although I have yet to find a hotel in Hamburg that are up to my standard!)

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and for writing this positive review.

We are glad to hear, that you were satisfied with our facilities, our service and our F&B offer.

Unfortunately last week we had a technical challenge with our internet, which could be resolved only by the provider. We apologize for this inconvenience. As well we are sorry to hear, that you weren’t happy with the scrambled eggs at breakfast. Don’t hesitate next time to ask our cooks to prepare your egg according to your wishes.

We hope to may welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location
+ very close to the train station Sternschanze
+ next to a park and restaurants
- some road construction going on
- not close to tourist attractions / city centre

Hotel
+ refurbished water tower which makes it special and stylish
+ outstanding service and very friendly staff
+ easy to access for disabled
+ Chocolate time instead of Tea Time --> complimentary chocolate/muffins and coffee til 6pm
+ Early morning complimentary coffee at the reception
+ nice breakfast with variety
- rates are bit expensive
- check-in / check-out took a while

Note that as a business traveller you do NOT need to pay the tourist tax, inform the reception and get the respective formula

Room
+ modern
+ room safe available
+ water pressure of the shower was good
- no complimentary water or water bottles
- no tea/coffee making facility
- no mini bar, no free wifi

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveleer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello from Hamburg and the water tower,

Thank you for your stay with us and your positive review. We are very happy about hearing, that you were satisfied with our hotel and that you felt comfortable during your stay.

We also thank you for your remarks about the points in which you see potential of improvement for the quality of our hotel. As we check in / out every guest personally it is sometimes difficult to avoid small waiting periods – we apologize for this inconvenience.

Starting from our room category superior we offer free coffee- and tea facilities and we have a minibar in every of our rooms (chargeable).

We would gladly welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located a 5 minutes walk from Sternschanze station, two stops from main train station. It is an old water tower, refurbished and has a very cool design. Great light designs and a hip bar (Cave Bar) add to the flair. We were greeted kindly and given a room already at 10am, long before check in time. The room was on the 12th floor and had a great view of Hamburg, you could even see the harbour area far away! The room was generally fine. I personally did not like that it had a glass window separating bathroom and bedroom and you could even see into the bathroom through a crack when you shut the lids. Also, a coffee machine was missing in the room as were cuetips, bathrobes and slippers though I am sure they would have been provided if asked. The personal safe was easy to operate, the beds cozy, the heating system working. Sprinkler system and smoke detector in the room, flatscreen TV and nice furniture. The restaurant offers delicious food, try it! In the lobby, they play sound recordings from ship typhoons and running water, which was nice on day 1 but definitely disturbing on day 4. There was no concierge, but the staff had an answer to all our questions. Also, other features I would have expected for the kind of money we paid and the 4,5 star rating were missing: First of all: No swimming pool! I knew that when I booked the hotel but that is not acceptable for a first class hotel in my opinion. Also no doorman, no bell boys, no piano (!) or live music, no evening turn down service from housekeeping (which by the way speaks poor German, staff from Poland and Philipines), however there was a separate mini bar replacement service and a floor supervisor who did a room inspection after HK left. I stayed in other top hotels in Hamburg like Atlantic, Marriott, InterContinental, SAS Rad and thought, this was standard. However, if you get a good rate and want a hotel close to the center with nice quaility rooms and reliable service there is nothing wrong with the Mövenpick (except if you plan to swim or enjoy the luxury features mentioned). We enjoyed the stay and might be back another day!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this friendly review.
It’s great to hear, that you felt comfortable in our extraordinary hotel with its historic and modern connected elements. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed our personal service as well as our great view out of the twelfth floor.
You are right: every guest will receive slippers and a robe free of charge anytime on request.

We apologize that the blinds in your room didn´t work satisfying during your stay. Our technical department will check the installation carefully for any errors. During the daytime there are always bellboys who assist you gladly with your luggage and provide you with information and advices about the city.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there only one night for business. This is a cool place with Swiss hospitality and very interesting interior. Nice spa and gym area. Very good service, they even gave me a breakfast bag when i checked out early. Downside: no free wifi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,

thank you for taking the time to write this friendly review. We hope, that you enjoyed your breakfast-bag even you were so busy.

For the next stay you have the opportunity to book our business category which includes free wifi or use the complimentary internet terminals in our business corner.

Greetings from Hamburg,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 317 in Hamburg
1,436 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 317 in Hamburg
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,373 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Property: Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing