We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #13 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location
+ very close to the train station Sternschanze
+ next to a park and restaurants
- some road construction going on
- not close to tourist attractions / city centre

Hotel
+ refurbished water tower which makes it special and stylish
+ outstanding service and very friendly staff
+ easy to access for disabled
+ Chocolate time instead of Tea Time --> complimentary chocolate/muffins and coffee til 6pm
+ Early morning complimentary coffee at the reception
+ nice breakfast with variety
- rates are bit expensive
- check-in / check-out took a while

Note that as a business traveller you do NOT need to pay the tourist tax, inform the reception and get the respective formula

Room
+ modern
+ room safe available
+ water pressure of the shower was good
- no complimentary water or water bottles
- no tea/coffee making facility
- no mini bar, no free wifi

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveleer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hello from Hamburg and the water tower,

Thank you for your stay with us and your positive review. We are very happy about hearing, that you were satisfied with our hotel and that you felt comfortable during your stay.

We also thank you for your remarks about the points in which you see potential of improvement for the quality of our hotel. As we check in / out every guest personally it is sometimes difficult to avoid small waiting periods – we apologize for this inconvenience.

Starting from our room category superior we offer free coffee- and tea facilities and we have a minibar in every of our rooms (chargeable).

We would gladly welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located a 5 minutes walk from Sternschanze station, two stops from main train station. It is an old water tower, refurbished and has a very cool design. Great light designs and a hip bar (Cave Bar) add to the flair. We were greeted kindly and given a room already at 10am, long before check in time. The room was on the 12th floor and had a great view of Hamburg, you could even see the harbour area far away! The room was generally fine. I personally did not like that it had a glass window separating bathroom and bedroom and you could even see into the bathroom through a crack when you shut the lids. Also, a coffee machine was missing in the room as were cuetips, bathrobes and slippers though I am sure they would have been provided if asked. The personal safe was easy to operate, the beds cozy, the heating system working. Sprinkler system and smoke detector in the room, flatscreen TV and nice furniture. The restaurant offers delicious food, try it! In the lobby, they play sound recordings from ship typhoons and running water, which was nice on day 1 but definitely disturbing on day 4. There was no concierge, but the staff had an answer to all our questions. Also, other features I would have expected for the kind of money we paid and the 4,5 star rating were missing: First of all: No swimming pool! I knew that when I booked the hotel but that is not acceptable for a first class hotel in my opinion. Also no doorman, no bell boys, no piano (!) or live music, no evening turn down service from housekeeping (which by the way speaks poor German, staff from Poland and Philipines), however there was a separate mini bar replacement service and a floor supervisor who did a room inspection after HK left. I stayed in other top hotels in Hamburg like Atlantic, Marriott, InterContinental, SAS Rad and thought, this was standard. However, if you get a good rate and want a hotel close to the center with nice quaility rooms and reliable service there is nothing wrong with the Mövenpick (except if you plan to swim or enjoy the luxury features mentioned). We enjoyed the stay and might be back another day!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this friendly review.
It’s great to hear, that you felt comfortable in our extraordinary hotel with its historic and modern connected elements. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed our personal service as well as our great view out of the twelfth floor.
You are right: every guest will receive slippers and a robe free of charge anytime on request.

We apologize that the blinds in your room didn´t work satisfying during your stay. Our technical department will check the installation carefully for any errors. During the daytime there are always bellboys who assist you gladly with your luggage and provide you with information and advices about the city.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed there only one night for business. This is a cool place with Swiss hospitality and very interesting interior. Nice spa and gym area. Very good service, they even gave me a breakfast bag when i checked out early. Downside: no free wifi.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hello from Hamburg,

thank you for taking the time to write this friendly review. We hope, that you enjoyed your breakfast-bag even you were so busy.

For the next stay you have the opportunity to book our business category which includes free wifi or use the complimentary internet terminals in our business corner.

Greetings from Hamburg,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our second stay and, as with the first, the room was clean and comfortable and the service excellent. My only complaint is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Perhaps this is a cultural difference. Nonetheless, the inability to wake up with a quick coffee did negatively colour what was otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grantgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for your visit in our hotel and your friendly review. We are glad to hear, that you have chosen us for the second time.

We regret, that you have missed a tea/coffee facility in the standard room. We offer complementary tea/coffee facilities in our superior room category and higher. As advice for your next stay, we would recommend you to book a superior room, from which you will enjoy in addition a great view over Hamburg. Further we offer complementary coffee specialties at a self-service bar daily from 6 until 9 a.m. as well as from 5 until 9 p.m. in the lobby.

The more we are happy that you were very satisfied with the personal service of our employees.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in Hamburg.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What an amazing hotel! The architecture, the staff and location are just perfect. We upgraded our room to the 14th floor and had a superb view of the city, The room was very comfortable and was immaculate. Food in the hotel was of a very high standard, again great service. Breakfast is served till 14:00 at the weekend so there's no need to rush. I was going to point to the front desk staff as an example of smooth and efficient service but, to be fair, everyone who works in this hotel are a credit to the Moevenpick group.

The location is in a pleasant park and there is a fantastic little cafe just a short walk from the hotel. It's called the Café SternChance and is well worth a visit.Overall just a briliant choice for a break in a very nice city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan&Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this friendly review.

It’s great to hear, that you felt very comfortable in our extraordinary hotel with its historic and modern connected elements. We are glad to read, that you enjoyed our personal service as well as our rich buffet breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A very nice hotel buided in an old water tower. Very impresionant with a modern architecture which maintain the old style. The rooms are comfortable, clean and modern, maybe too little but enough for 1 or 2 nights.
The personal was very polite.
The whole athmosphere in the hotel is elegant and modern and is worth to stay couple of days.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Maybe you nust ask for the last flour to have a panorama of Hamburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihaiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this friendly review.

It’s great to hear, that you felt very comfortable in our extraordinary hotel with its historic and modern connected elements. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed our personal service. We will gladly forward your positive feedback straight to all of our colleagues.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice, modern, helpful staff and convenient proximity to Hamburg fair.
Would recommend for business trips as it is not in real center.
The fare I paid was value for money as it was during one of huge fairs.
Would recommend and come again!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZGtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for staying with us and writing this friendly review. It’s great to hear, that you felt comfortable in our nice and modern hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 323 in Hamburg
1,085 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 323 in Hamburg
2,575 reviews
St. Pauli
east Hotel Hamburg
east Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 323 in Hamburg
842 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 323 in Hamburg
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $143 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing