We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Modern in an old water tower” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #11 of 320 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern in an old water tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A very nice hotel buided in an old water tower. Very impresionant with a modern architecture which maintain the old style. The rooms are comfortable, clean and modern, maybe too little but enough for 1 or 2 nights.
The personal was very polite.
The whole athmosphere in the hotel is elegant and modern and is worth to stay couple of days.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Maybe you nust ask for the last flour to have a panorama of Hamburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mihaiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this friendly review.

It’s great to hear, that you felt very comfortable in our extraordinary hotel with its historic and modern connected elements. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed our personal service. We will gladly forward your positive feedback straight to all of our colleagues.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    470
    75
    20
    12
See reviews for
194
682
87
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice, modern, helpful staff and convenient proximity to Hamburg fair.
Would recommend for business trips as it is not in real center.
The fare I paid was value for money as it was during one of huge fairs.
Would recommend and come again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZGtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for staying with us and writing this friendly review. It’s great to hear, that you felt comfortable in our nice and modern hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

very good moevenpick hotel. meets all standards of the company. location of the hotel is a off stretch from the town business center. hotel has very good spa area. hotel offers very good selection of in-room entertainment. hotel serves excellent dinner and has large variety of selection on breakfast. quiet hotel for the town.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hello from Hamburg,

Thanks a lot for your positive review about your stay in our water tower. We are pleased to read, that you were totally satisfied with all of our hotel facilities and with our personal service. Thank you as well for your compliment concerning our food and beverage offers.

We hope to may welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This beautiful, modern hotel is situated in an old watertower in the centre of Hamburg. It is very nicely decorated and feels luxereus. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel also offers a sauna and sanarium, which are very nice, The hotel staff is very friendly and metro station Sternschanze is right in front of the hotel. We would definately book this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notebook80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hello from Hamburg’s water tower,

Thank you very much for your visit in our hotel and your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you liked our historic tower and that you felt very comfortable during your stay. It’s great to hear, that you have also used our cozy sauna area to relax.

We would be pleased to welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Hamburg,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel experience was fabulous, very short walk to nearest rail link, wonderful decor, welcoming reception staff, internet available in business centre where we could print our boarding passes, lovely fitness centre with limited but excellent equipment, 2 sauna's and ample shower facilities, did not have breakfast but we did take advantage of happy hour in the Cave. The room was very contemporary, clean and comfortable with a pillow menu!
Lovely novel hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hello from Hamburg,
thank you for your stay in our hotel and for spending your time to write this review.

We are happy to hear, that you were satisfied with our facilities and our personal service. We will gladly forward your positive feedback straight to all employees.

We hope to may welcome you soon again in our unique water tower
Merry Christmas,
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel based very modern at a historical building.İt's very huge stone tower.They made very specific changing inside to making possibility of stay.Succesful. Very smart room interiors solution and general space sirculations. Clean rooms,feeling home. Breakfast is good but no experience for lunch or dinner.Employee are very helpful and friendly. best choice for the Exposition business.

Room Tip: Not fair side , best side is city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batufuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Abteilung at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hello from the historic water tower,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this friendly review.

It’s great to hear, that you felt very comfortable in our extraordinary hotel with its historic and modern connected elements. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed our personal service as well as our rich buffet breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

MARRY CHRISTMAS & A HAPPY NEW YEAR
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#10 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#5 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Property: Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing