We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool architecture, classy all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #15 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I was here for business, but got in a bit of sightseeing also. As others have mentioned, this is a converted water tower that you can see for blocks and the design is really sharp. This is one of a few hotels I've ever been to where I would suggest if you're not staying here, at least stopping in to see it and have a meal- the architecture is that cool and the food is that good. Breakfast and lunch buffets were outstanding with too many good options to fit in my belly. The location is also good- fairly close to the lake and right by the metro. The rooms were somewhat large for a European hotel but cleverly designed and classy throughout. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Hello from Hamburg’s water tower,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you felt very comfortable during your stay and that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our exceptional water tower and our delicious food offer as well.
Hopefully we may welcome you soon again in Hamburg.

Kind and warm regards
the Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

I booked a standard room but as we were celebrating my friend's birthday I had asked for a nice room with a king size bed. Not only did we get both but they also surprised us with a little birthday cake which we found waiting in our room. Very nice touch! We really liked the modern design of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The tube station is only a 2 minute walk away and it only takes two stops to get into the city. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and your positive review.

We are pleased to here that you felt very comfortable during your stay. Thank you for your compliments concerning our service and the modern design of our historic water tower.
We hope that you enjoyed your little birthday cake! Perhaps we may welcome you on your birthday, too!?

Greetings from the water tower,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was our first stay in a Movenpick hotel and I have to say we really couldn't fault it! The hotel is in a converted Water tower which makes it quite distinctive to look at and it sits on a small hill in a funky part of Hamburg. It is slightly out from the city centre but this isn't really a problem as there is a metro station nearby. The hotel has clearly been decked out to quite a high standard with large rooms with good furnishings and a quality feel throughout. The bar is quite cool in style and very modern looking. It was a nice place to sit and have a 'pre-going out' drink and the staff were friendly and efficient. The best thing by far, however, was the food in the hotel restaurant. Our package included an evening meal and it was superb. The restaurant was busy (it seemed with non-guests - which we took to be a good sign) but the staff were quick and friendly. Our waitress was a local student and she recommended a great German wine to go with our meal and was patient and gracious with our halting attempts at speaking German! All, in I would definately recommend this hotel. It's not a cheap option but if you are looking for a class place to stay but at a price that isn't ridiculous - this is a good bet. Oh, and the breakfast is excellent also!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markyd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Hello from our historic water tower,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to write this friendly review.

We are very pleased to hear that our hotel in the historic water tower was according to your taste. Further we are happy, that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service of our lifestyle bar Cave and our restaurant. Great, that we could convince you with the quality of our food and especially our rich breakfast buffet.

We would love to welcome you very soon again in Hamburg!

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed for the weekend with 13 others at the start of August and found the hotel to be decent, clean and excellent service. Just what you need when you won't be spending much time at the hotel and only have two nights in Hamburg. Rooms were good and spacious - not sure about this continental European passion for hotel rooms with windows between the room and bathroom mind you. Who is that for exactly? Also the blinds didn't come all the way down which meant you had to avert your eyes whilst your room mate was in the shower. Can't complain though and staff were very good. One of our party left a mobile phone behind and it was in the UK with him again in two days.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Hello from Hamburg,
Thank you for your visit in our hotel and for writing this review.

We are glad to hear, that you had a nice weekend in Hamburg and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We decided to integrate a window between the room and the bathroom because otherwise you wouldn’t have any daylight in the bathroom. We apologize for the broken blind, which protects your privacy usually.

At least we would like to thank you for your compliment concerning our service. We hope to may welcome you soon again!

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very nice hotel & staff cleane and good location with cool entrance you can feel the sound of water

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albalooshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Hallo from Hamburg,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and this positive review.
We are happy to hear, that you felt comfortable in our historic water tower.
The sound of water is one element of a project called memory, which always recalls the history of the building. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed this special atmosphere.

We hope to may welcome you very soon again!

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Movenpick hotel is located in an old water tower so the entry, reception area, hallways and bar are quite spectacular. However, the room was rather small as was the bathroom, even though they were nice and clean. The view from the room was great. Checking in was a time consuming activity. I arrived around six which I can imagine is a rather busy time normally. I was however lucky I was the only one apart from another gentleman. There were two receptionists and they were both busy with the one other gentleman. At some stage one of the receptionist gave me a document to fill in and then she joined her colleague again to help the other guest. All in all the whole process took about 15 minutes. In the meantime, other guests were arriving and they also needed to wait. I think next time I will try another hotel as the whole experience didn't wow me.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and for taking the time to write this review.
We are pleased to hear, that our historic water tower and the great view from your hotel room were according to your taste.

Since the beginning of September we have some new employees at the hotel reception, who have to be introduced carefully in our hotel standards and procedures. That requires sometimes the attention and time of their colleagues.
Of course we apologize for this inconvenience and will forward this review to the responsible person.

We hope that we may convince you of the quality of our service, food and hospitality in one of our Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

A spectacular conversion from water tower to hotel creates a dramatic entrance to this hotel but visual effects aside, I was really impressed by the accuracy, speed and friendliness of the reception, both at check-in and check-out. Clearly, much thought and training has gone into this, given the arriving guest the confidence that all will be well while staying here (the fact that the hotel had given me an upgrade to a spectacular 15th floor junior suite helped - but weren't what stays most in my mind). Nice bar as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueDolphinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoevenpickHamburg, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Hello from Hamburg,

Thank you for your visit in our hotel and for taking the time to write this review.

We are very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our historic water tower and the special atmosphere in our hotel. Thank you for your compliments concerning our service. We are constantly trying to provide our guests a pleasant stay.

We hope to may welcome you soon again as our guest in Hamburg!

Kind regards,
The Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,493 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
1,601 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,449 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $134 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing