We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a short break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum
Ranked #92 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a short break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel was well located between several stations, within walking distance of the city core and close to shops, amenities and nightlife.
The rooms were well decorated, clean, tidy and everything was in working order. The bathroom was well equipped, very clean and housekeeping did a great job keeping our room tidy.
Check in was friendly and once the staff had dealt with the large awkward group in front of us (I felt sorry for the staff); we were assisted quickly and able to check in to our room early for a small €15 extra. We were informed that our room may not be set up for 3 people at this point however someone would do this for us shortly.
Sure enough, 5 minutes later housekeeping arrived; set the spare bed up for us and even left an extra pack of gummi bears on the bed (nice touch).
The beds were slightly firm however offered a great sleep and maybe the only complaint was that I prefer 2 pillows versus the 1.
Walls were sufficiently soundproofed too which meant we didn't hear any noise from the rest of the hotel: great considering that group was staying somewhere in the building too.
One last thing, if you are out and about; its late and can't remember where the hotel is - just look for the green glow. You can't miss the hotel!

I fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonable priced, well located city hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the road; which posed no issues to us however lighter sleepers may wish to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevKevUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel DAS Hamburg.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

DAS Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    339
    143
    41
    21
See reviews for
91
285
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at the hotel with 21 friends last weekend on a stag do and would go back again. Hotel is located just under 10 minutes from Central station. Rooms were clean, modern and spotless. Reception staff were on the ball all the time, especially when we required taxi's. Our bags were locked away behind reception safely as we arrived early Friday morning before check in. Check out time is 1100hrs, but 15 euro's extra will allow a stay until 1400hrs. Breakfast (not full English !) cost just under 10 euro's extra and consisted of the usual cold meats, cheese, scrambled/boiled eggs, toast etc. We had the breakfast on the first day, but there are enough places nearby including one called McDonald's which is apparently quite popular throughout the universe. Hotel has a good sized bar area as well. Just down the road on either side of the hotel is a Lidl and a Penny's for all your bits!. We had lunch in the Paulaner Miraculum just across from the station on Kirchenalle. 19 mixed grills and 3 steaks were all 100% and served at the same time. Good beer as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted that you had a nice time in Hamburg.
We would be glad to welcome you again in one of our Novum Hotels.

Faithfully Yours

DAS Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the DAS (design and style). The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk with suitcase. The hotel was very easy to spot with its bright green exterior. We went to check in, the receptionist was busy with another customer. So we stood and waited, immediately another member of staff came over and opened another check in desk. The check in was very smooth and friendly, within a couple of minutes we were on the way to our room. The rooms are a reasonable size for a 3 star hotel. The green theme continues into the bedrooms. The rooms are well fitted and to a good standard. Shower was hot and powerful. The rooms were warm and controllable heating which was good! The windows opened so we could get fresh air. The certain were a good standard for blocking out the early day light. The house keeping was good and was done every day. All the receptionist were always friendly and polite including the night team.

The area of st George has a bit of a bad reputation reading previous reviews. Yes there are sex shops and lady's on the street. However they do not approach you or bother you. We never felt uneasy walking down the well lite busy street at any time of day. We're were out every night till the early hours.
However we did visit the famous St Paul's reaperbahn and we did not feel at all comfortable there. Compared to St. Paul's, St George is the better option by far.

We're enjoyed every part of out stay at the Design & Style hotel and would stay there again, Hopefully soon!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and
your kind words regarding your stay in Hamburg.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel DAS Hamburg and have gladly passed your comments to our employees and directors.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

DAS Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days and found the Hotel very nice. Don't listed much to the complaints here and book this Hotel if you are in Hamburg. The staff are nice and professional, yes they are not perfect and they do not smile 24/7 like some people expect them to. The rooms are of a very high standard and cleanliness was very good. I have seen 4 star hotel having much worse rooms. Yes, the rooms could be larger and the beds a bit more comfortable. Breakfast is euro 9.50 but the choice is huge and of extremely good quality.
The Hotel is located very centrally: just a 5 minute walk from the Main Train&Bus Stations and served very well by public transport. A 20 minutes walk to the Rathaus and main city square and also not far from Hafen City. There are loads of eating joints, restaurants and bars in the vicinity. The area does have Sex shops and cinemas, as well as prostitutes plying their trade, as well as homeless people and some other unsavoury looking characters. At no time we felt threatened even walking at 10 p.m. Everyone goes about their own business without bothering others. Many times people want hotels to be like their own homes and the locations like their own neighbourhoods, but that is highly unlikely. So, get a bit of a culture shock end enjoy it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel DAS Hamburg. We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

DAS Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very smart with professional and helpful staff. Rooms were modern and clean, a very enjoyable stay.

Close to the central train station and good transport links can be accessed from there to explore the city and surrounding area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel DAS Hamburg.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

DAS Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location, 10 minutes to the town, on the edge of the red light area but not a problem. Smallish rooms but very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is 9.5 euros, we went next door to Baklava! We really were quite impressed until this afternoon. Then I'm afraid i was distinctly unimpressed.
In the morning I asked the receptionist to book a taxi/bus to take 6 of us to the airport. I watched her do it! Anyway five to six taxi driver walks in and then says he can't take six people and luggage!! I went to reception and to cut a long story short it was agreed to get a bigger taxi to come. All this time the original driver is hanging around, his English wasn't great so I asked the receptionist to sort him out, then our "replacement" taxi supposedly arrives and we are then told that we won't get a larger vehicle so we have to take 2 taxis. I complained again saying that the hotel should sort it out and basically a shrug of the shoulders...to top it all when we went to get into both taxis the original one would have only carried 4 people and the second taxi disappeared!!
Appalling customer service from the hotel so be warned, double check everything, sad really, it's soured my opinion.

Room Tip: All seem the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Location:
The hotel is conveniently located: just a 5-10 minutes walk from Hamburg central station. There are cafés and small supermarkets close by.
To be honest, I was glad that I travelled with a colleague. I would not have felt completely at ease to walk there alone when it was dark (but that applies probably to most streets around train stations and in Hamburg in particular).

Service:
All staff was friendly. We had to pay directly at check-in which I found a bit odd, but it sped up check-out on the next morning.
I was not completely happy with the baggage storage. They attached a sticker with my name on my trunk and the laptop rucksack and the room was locked. But when I reclaimed the baggage, nobody checked with which or how many bags I came out of the room. I prefer a stricter control.

Room:
I think the hotel opened just in 2011 - and you saw everywhere that the place was very new (or at least freshly renovated). The room was not exactly spacious but very clean. The interior was very modern and I liked the fresh apple green colour (even if it is a “cold” colour). There was a cupboard, a small table (which was big enough for one laptop but would have been too small for a second one), one chair, one armchair und the double bed. The tea and coffee making facilities were appreciated. I couldn’t manage to turn on the TV to watch the evening news, but I guess that was just because the batteries of the distant control were exhausted.
The window could be opened to air the room, and the thick curtains were nearly sufficient to darken the room.
I really, really like hard mattresses, but I didn’t sleep well because I felt I was lying on a wooden plank.
The bathroom was very small but spotless.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
ARCOTEL Rubin
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#112 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum

Property: Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum
Address: Steindamm 68-70, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly DAS Hotel Hamburg-Centrum)
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the concept of "Design and Style Hotel", a new brand was created. Centrally located in the lively St. Georg district-scene, you can expect the low-budget design hotel with 169 rooms. All rooms feature a 32 `` Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, room safe and work desk with seating. The hotel covers 6 floors, which were named after Hamburg's popular districts. For recreation, we offer our guests the sauna with sun terrace. In particular, the hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort at a fair price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Style Hotel Hamburg-Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accord Novum Hotel
Accord Novum Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing