We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in univerisity area of Hamburg”
Review of Hotel Am Dammtor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Am Dammtor
Ranked #171 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in univerisity area of Hamburg”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel seems to be an old house that has been converted into hotel rooms. We stayed in room 60. It was very spacious - nice compared to the major chain hotels that try to maximize space. Plenty of room for the bed, a desk and a small sitting area to read. The bathroom was tiny - but it had a nice shower with plenty of hot water!! The hotel reception was wonderful. They went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel has free wifi throughout - but in our room it was a very weak signal. I ended up going up to the sitting area to connect. The location worked perfect for us needing to be near the univeristy or the confernce center area - but it may be a little far if you are looking to be in the city center. However, the S & U bahn were just a 5 minute walk away to get all around Hamburg.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank AddiesGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
32
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germ, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed in Hotel-am-dammtor that is one of the best hotel Hamburg. I felt as if I am at home in this hotel's quiet rooms. I was offered all modern facilities and first class customer service. I enjoyed wide selection of food and drinks in homely surroundings.

Room Tip: "Rooms on south side are more beautiful"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank den365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

A week ago, I visited Hotel-am-Dammtor, a hotel in hamburg and enjoyed an extremely pleasant experience there. The hotel staff served me with their best possible services and the price they charged me was also genuine as compared to their services.

Room Tip: "Rooms on south side are more beautiful and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
46 Thank mack t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garmany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed at Hotel-am-dammtor during my business trip to Germany, and I will certainly like to visit this hotel Hamburg again. The staff of this hotel is incredibly helpful, and the location of this hotel is just terrific.

Room Tip: "Rooms on south side are more sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank maddy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hotel was inexpensive 80 euros per night and breakfast a further 10 euros

Wireless in the room ,my only complaint it was WIMLEDON WEEK and GERMAN TV

did not cover it .The lift was left over from WW2 and just about accomodated one traveller with suitcase

Outside Hotel not very inspiring inside the lady owner was very helpful as were all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GreyNomadsouthbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is a real jewel, the particular decoration is very attractive. In addition the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious and its goof for resting.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cavernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The room and mattress were ample and comfortable. The bathroom was small but modern and clean. We slept wil the windows open and it was quiet all night. The area is a university town, 1-2 blocks away from the Dammtor train station (hbf). Suggest to try across the street in a basement cafe: the latte and bear claw (this "u" shaped marzipan filled piece of joy). Also, Broderson's for dinner is a must and very economical. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerald_ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Preuss
Hotel Preuss
#232 of 318 in Hamburg
23 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#100 of 318 in Hamburg
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rotherbaum
Hotel Fresena Im Dammtorpalais
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Heimhude
Hotel Heimhude
#196 of 318 in Hamburg
35 reviews
St. Pauli
IntercityHotel Hamburg Dammtor Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dammtor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dammtor

Property: Hotel Am Dammtor
Address: Schlueterstrasse 2, 20146 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel , Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Dammtor 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Dammtor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing