We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“walk it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alster Lakes

Alster Lakes
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.58*
and up
Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster
Ranked #16 of 301 things to do in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: You can take a guided boat tour of the lake, or rent a canoe. There are running/walking paths through the park, along with bars and cafes.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“walk it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Best to see on a sunny day. Pleasant walk. Stop in a café then go to the main square........Why must I type 50 or more characters?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    272
    75
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakes with lots of opportunity for recreation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Alster Lakes of Hamburg are absolutely beautiful and offer wonderful opportunities for recreation. You can bike around the lake (takes me about 45 minutes), canoe or kayak on the lake, or take a boat cruise on the lake. In addition, there are a few nice park areas along the lake that are nice for relaxing, reading, or enjoying a picnic. Visiting the Alster Lakes is a must-do if you are in Hamburg.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate38880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We did the one hour tour and went all around the lake. We had good views of the city skyline. The tour guide was a bit difficult to follow as he talked very quickly and included quite a few "in" jokes. However, it is worth doing just for the views and the pleasure of being on the water (in a rather impressive solar-powered boat).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“give yourself a bit of andrenaline by canoeing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We took a 4-people canoe and did some sport. It was our first time and at first we could not navigate. Be prepared that others will pass you and pay attantion to the ships passing by! We had some hard time fighting with the wind against being hit by one of them!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Run Around the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

About 4 miles, lots of nice restaurants around the lake and the running path was very good and well laid out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LastFlightOut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alster Lakes also viewed

 

Been to Alster Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing