We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
east Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #19 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here amazing decor and design. Great bar area. Just a shame it was quite far away from the shopping mall i was visiting.....but definitely going back! Also loved the bar and seating areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear "Marylou H",

Thank you very much for taking your time to submit us your review about recent stay at the east Hotel.
We were delighted to welcome you and appreciate your comments especially about our services and that you enjoyed the accommodations of our hotel very much.

Please rest assured, that we will share your comments with our team which were in charge for you during your stay. Let us know, when we can anything do for your to make your next stay more comfortable.

Best regards

Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

A great hotel on a fantastic location, located just off the Reeperbahn in the city centre of Hamburg.
It has a great bar / lounge to catch a breath before heading out. Also the rooms where of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear "Jeroen S",

Thank you verymuch for your great review about your recent stay at the east Hotel.

We were delighted to welcome you and appreciate your comments especially about our services and that you enjoyed the accommodations of our hotel very much.

Please rest assured, that we will share your comments with our team which were in charge for you during your stay. Let us know, when we can anything do for your to make your next stay more comfortable.

Warm regards


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Came for a Birthday weekend from the USA and arrived super early, Room was ready by 9:00 a.m. While enjoying coffee and croissants was treated like royalty by bar and lounge staff. This type of service continued into the night with attentive service , tour ideas, where to eat and wonderful drinks. The Hotel is a "Hot Spot" currently with a super restaurant,lounge and club upstairs. Location is super..very near the Entertainment District and walking distance to many sites as well as the water/port/cafes.
Fantastic Hotel Design,location, and service.
Thank you Team East!

Room Tip: Rooms are dark but cozy..We had a suite and it was Super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear "Tuff",

Thank you very much for taking your time to submit us your comment about recent stay at the east Hotel.

We were delighted to welcome you and appreciate your comments especially about our services and that you enjoyed the accommodations of our hotel very much.

Please rest assured, that we will share your comments with our team which were in charge for you during your stay. Let us know, when we can anything do for your to make your next stay more comfortable.

Warm regards


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the East Hotel for two nights in July and found it very good. The location is excellent if you want to be close to Reeperbahn or, as in our case, the Heiligengeist for a concert or sports event. The decor and ambience is well done and the passageway over the second court really does give the hotel an asian/eastern feeling.

The hotel has embraced the trend of bathroom in the bedroom, only the toilet has a door (thankfully). We did not get access to our room until after an hour later than 'official' check in time, which caused us to just hang around the foyer for that hour. Perhaps you need to be more adamant about your expectations in access time than we were. We did not try the breakfast buffet but did have the coffee and croissant offer of the lobby bar and would advice you to head out for breakfast instead.

The staff was friendly and the bar and restaurant seemed well visited during the evening.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear "Tomlinn",

in behalf of the entire Team of the east Hotel Hamburg we want to thank you for your your great Review.
We appreciate your comments and your honest Feedback and regret the fact, that your check in time was delated. Therefore we had been spoken with our colleagues from the housekeeping department to improve our quality of service.
Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime to make your next stay more comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Thanks again


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

For a couple of nights it is refreshing to exchange practical and boring solutions for a more twisted look at a hotel room interior. With just a transparent curtain dividing the bed form the sink, and a separate room for the toilet and the shower, things seemed a bit strange.

The locatein just two block from Reperbahn and one block from the metro is impeccable.

As is the lobby bar, and the option of the trendy East restaurant in situ.

Room Tip: Go for the sligth upgrade from the lowest grade rooms. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PelleFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear "PelleFB",

Thank you very much for taking your time to submit us your honest Feedback.

We highly appreciate and value your comments and we are delighted to read, that you enjoyed our accommodations and especially that you slept well on our new mattress.

Please rest assured, that we will share your comments with our Team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future to Hamburg.

Thanks again and best regards


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice elegant modern style hotel.

Pros:
Close to the under ground.
Nice furnished rooms.
Breakfast buffet was good.

Cons:
If you are in the first floor you must be sure, you are not above the party hall, other wise it will be noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abolghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear "Abolghar",

Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us your honest feedback. We were delighted to host you and appreciate your comments very much.

For your next stay i already made a note in our System to garantee a room in a quiet are for your whole satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Thanks again,

best regards from Hamburg

Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great find, at first we were not sure about the neighborhood but it turned out to be fantastic, all of it, rooms, cool bar, food, drinks. It´s very good located, plenty to do and see around and metro close by, if you don´t feel like walking. One of the coolest hotels I´ve been lately.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear "Kai D",

thank you very much for submitting us your honest feedback.
We were delighted to host you in all of our outlets and we would like to thank you for your recent stay and your value comments. Please rest asured that we will share your comments with the my colleagues of the east hotel and restaurant.

Please let us know if we can anything do for you prior your next arrival.
We are looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future back to Hamburg and especially to east!

Warm regards,


Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,283 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,086 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#14 of 321 in Hamburg
2,307 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 321 in Hamburg
870 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to east Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about east Design Hotel Hamburg

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 31, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $142 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — east Design Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our superior design hotel east in Hamburg. We are located centrally in the heart of St. Pauli. Tourist destinations such as Hamburg's HafenCity, the port, the River Elbe and Alster lake, the Landungsbrucken, the famous Michel church, the city centre with its many shopping amenities (Jungfernstieg and Monckebergstrasse), the CCH congress centre, the Millerntor Stadium, Reeperbahn, Spielbudenplatz and the Stage Operettenhaus theatre can all be conveniently reached in just a few minutes by foot or by public transport. Situated directly alongside Hamburg's world-famous Reeperbahn, the east Hotel boasts a striking design juxtaposed with a soothingly colourful serenity, and tells the story of the former iron foundry that once operated here. Envisaged by the American architect and designer Jordan Mozer, this 4-star superior design hotel with 128 rooms and suites forms a truly unique amalgamation of restaurant, lounges, bars and hotel. After a long day of sightseeing and a boat trip around Hamburg's port, our guests can unwind in the east Mandarin Body & Soul spa, which features a sauna, relaxation area and sunny roof terrace and they can also stop by the east Sporting Club - free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your east Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing