We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modernly designed hotel in not a family oriented location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
east Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #20 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff are nice and helpful , free wifi is there, breakfast is good but the rooms are not comfortable, modern design of the rooms has wasted lots of space. It is located very close to the red light district so it would not be a good choice if you are traveling with families who care about what I mentioned earlier. First supermarket is about 10 min walk. But there is a nice Amusement park nearby

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morteza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Morteza.

Thank you for choosing east hotel and sharing your experiences with us.
We are glad we convinced you with the attention of our staff as well as with our great breakfast buffet.
The rooms we offer differ in furnishings and size.
The “Red light district” you mentioned is one of Hamburg’s’ favorite and best frequented sights. So there is really no reason for concerns.
It is a pity we did not have the possibility to talk to you during your last stay.
We hope next time you feel free to contact us anytime if there are any wishes or questions.

Best regards,

Sara
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for east Design Hotel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 791 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This fantastic facility was the host for a series of workshops I was presenting on behalf of a client. Staff was remarkably helpful and efficient. The hotel is right off the Reeperbahn making for some fascinating nightlife (not for kids, prudes or the wek-hearted!). The hotel and facilities are filled with excellent design and the rooms are both fun and efficient. Loved the enormous, marble bath/shower! The restaurants, lounges/bars and meeting facilities are also excellent. The East is accessible from the St Pauli Metro Station and trains can take you quickly to Hamburg Central Station and the Mönckebergstraße shopping street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear John F.

Thank you very much for your review and the detailed description of the impressions you collected during your recent stay with us.
Great, that we convinced you with our excellent design of our meeting facilities, as well as with the comfort of our rooms and our selection of food and beverage.
We will pass along your praise to our dedicated staff and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Sara
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The room was very nice and clean. Hotel was a good value. The room and bathroom are one big modern room with an entire wall of windows. I liked the big bed and the desk had lots of power outlets for charging phone, computer, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamburgEast, Guest Relations Manager at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Lanny Z,

Thank you so much for giving us this lovely short review of your impressions of your stay at the east hotel.
It’s great that you love the extraordinary design of our rooms with their huge beds and their functionality as well.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Sara
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having booked the four seasons hotel as it was ranked 4th best in Hamburg i thought that the Hotel would be great. But to cut a long story short i will tell all in another review the East hotel is wicked the room was so big the lounge was bigger than some extra large suites other hotels offer the bed was so comfortable and the room was light airy and really spacious and something that i have never had before a mini bar that was not a rip off a beer for 3 euros where have you ever had something like that so cheap.
The bar was cool but watch out for the Zombie cocktail!!
The restaurant and food was brill and i can't wait to return there thing of the terrace suite it looks like a massive apartment and all that and in the heart of Hamburg this City is cool and so are the people and food

Room Tip: The staff did
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JASON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamburgEast, Guest Relations Manager at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Jason,

Thank you so much for taking time out to give us a detailled review of all your great impressions!
It makes us proud to hear that we could make your stay unforgettable and we obviously got a new fan! 
We are already looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Sara
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed in the East hotel during the week and must admit we were all very happy. The service was good a little slow at times but good. The hotel staff were very attentive and catered for our needs immediately. Shame however you cannot sit outside until late as other guest are disturbed, especially for smokers its not ideal too have too go outside the hotel. Other than that quite expensive but the if you want cheap go too the Ibis accros the street. Also brilliant for food,service and atmosphere was their restaurant East Coast! I will be back on my next visit too Hamburg.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear wallyspain,

Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on east Hotel. We are thrilled that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words regarding the food and our staff. We will be sure to pass along your praise to our team. We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you visit Hamburg.

Warm regards

Jil
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What an amazing hotel this is - design at its finest! This renovated foundry has been beautifully renovated with a great mix of the old brickwork and very modern and zooty finishings.

Our room was huge and the bed was super-comfortable. The massive windows made lighting during the day completely unnecessary, and the net curtains gave privacy despite being next to a walkway. The 'gardens' which are actually courtyards have been superbly laid and are a delight to the eye.

The service at the bar above the very trendy restaurant was excellent and our dinner in the courtyard part of the restaurant was superb, Our waiter was attentive and friendly and always seemed to be there when we needed him. Sushi is the speciality, and was beautifully presented. Plenty of dishes to choose from apart from sushi and they have a good wine list too. We were there on a Tuesday night and it was almost full with diners lingering for hours chatting and enjoying the ambience.

The breakfast buffet was very extensive and delicious - the whole experience at the East was a pleasure.

We'd certainly stay there again when in Hamburg!

Room Tip: The Extra large room was perfect for 2 people.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Edda E,

Thank you so much for taking time out to write this wonderful review on east Hotel. We are thrilled that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words regarding the design of our rooms, our food and our employees. We want to thank you for your feedback and will be glad to pass along your comments to our team. In case of further questions or queries you may also refer to us by mail: guestrelations@east-hamburg.de. We will be glad to assist you!

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Hamburg.
Kind regards

Jil
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hamburg is our favourite city for a weekend get away and East is the hotel we choose when we want to stay at a hotel with great design and have a room with and a big bed and bath tub, the restaurant has a great atmosphere and the sushi is some of the best I have tried. Then you have a choice of bars to pick from with great lounge music and you don’t even have to worry about going to bed late as on the weekend they serve a fantastic brunch until 14,00 !

Room Tip: Park under the hotel and take the lift direct to the reception.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamedscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamburgEast, Leiter Gästebetreuung at east Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Tamedscot,

Thank you very much for your visit at our hotel and your positive review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visits at our place and that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

With warm regards from Hamburg

Jil
(Guest Relations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 319 in Hamburg
1,222 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#21 of 319 in Hamburg
845 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
#22 of 319 in Hamburg
734 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#68 of 319 in Hamburg
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to east Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about east Design Hotel Hamburg

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 31, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $151 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — east Design Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our superior design hotel east in Hamburg. We are located centrally in the heart of St. Pauli. Tourist destinations such as Hamburg's HafenCity, the port, the River Elbe and Alster lake, the Landungsbrucken, the famous Michel church, the city centre with its many shopping amenities (Jungfernstieg and Monckebergstrasse), the CCH congress centre, the Millerntor Stadium, Reeperbahn, Spielbudenplatz and the Stage Operettenhaus theatre can all be conveniently reached in just a few minutes by foot or by public transport. Situated directly alongside Hamburg's world-famous Reeperbahn, the east Hotel boasts a striking design juxtaposed with a soothingly colourful serenity, and tells the story of the former iron foundry that once operated here. Envisaged by the American architect and designer Jordan Mozer, this 4-star superior design hotel with 128 rooms and suites forms a truly unique amalgamation of restaurant, lounges, bars and hotel. After a long day of sightseeing and a boat trip around Hamburg's port, our guests can unwind in the east Mandarin Body & Soul spa, which features a sauna, relaxation area and sunny roof terrace and they can also stop by the east Sporting Club - free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your east Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing