We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with wonderful food”
Review of Von der Motte

Von der Motte
Ranked #181 of 3,710 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We love good food. And we know that in hectic times like these we all need good brain food so that body & soul are functioning. That's how we came up with the idea of slow fast food. Besides our favored All-Day-Long breakfast at the weekend, we focus on fine-dining-salads and sandwiches which you can individually order by choice on a special menue card and we offer as well small international dishes which recipees we have picked on our travels from all over the world. Come for coffee and cake and you will discover cakes which you might not have heard of before. Our favorites are the sweet potato cheesecake and the Hawaiin "Kauai" Carrot cake made with carrots, pineapple, coconut and other great ingrediants. Yummy - Yummy! If you are on the run you can get everything to go. We wrap it up for you so you can enjoy your favorite soup, salad or cakes later... We are based in Hamburg Ottensen, just around the corner from the hectic streetlife. And will be happy to see and serve you - come chillaxing with us!
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place with wonderful food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here on a sunday and couldn't have picked a better spot. The food and service are great as well as the atmosphere. Portions are nice and large and not expensive at all! Definitely come in the weekend for the delicious cinnamon rolls. They also have a large variety of cakes, muffins and pies, which we unfortunately didn't have room for, so we'll have to return some day for more tasty treats!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank books_n_looks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    28
    8
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good cakes”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am not a cake person, but we had birthday cake here, and yes they are as good as people say. The savory dishes looked appetizing too but we did not try

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Start with Dessert”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

You might just want to – the Maracuja Cheesecake really is that good! There aren't just great sweet things on offer however, the freshly made savory dishes are just as imaginative and tasty. Aside from that, the atmosphere is contemporary and airy thanks to plenty of glass giving a sun-facing view of the popular shopping neighborhood. The owners are both present and involved in providing a sense of personal quality and friendly ambience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiloho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Energyseeker, Inhaber at Von der Motte, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
It must have been your "Start with Dessert"-comment that a couple ordered 4 pieces of cake for themselves and had no leftover to take with them in a doggy bag....;-) Thank you for your great comment - and yes Passion Fruit Cheesecake and Sweet Potato Cheesecake are right now the favorites in our café....Hope we see you again soon. Warm wishes, Steffi von der Motte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love this cafe-resto!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful cafe/restaurant in Ottensen! They serve very good quality food made and presented with love - breakfast till late, as well as cooked meals (lots of vegetarian options.) The two ladies who own and run it are very friendly. You can sit indoors and enjoy the wonderful music (jazz, singer-songwriter, etc) or sit outside on a quiet semi-square - very peaceful yet just steps away from the happening part of town. A wonderful alternative to the mass-chains as well as the trend-places in Altona.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fourwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Located outside the city center, we did have a little trouble locating the cafe, but it was certainly worth the walk! Simple breakfast menu with a nice variety. The lunch specials sounded great. Friendly staff and excellent coffee drinks. Cafe was not too crowded and we enjoyed a nice meal. The slogan is "fast slow food" and it certainly lives up to that expectation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaUSA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Von der Motte also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Von der Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing