We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Recommend this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Hamburg City Alster
Ranked #48 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed November 30, 2012

For a short stay in Hamburg, this hotel is definitely a good choice. Breakfast is excellent, as is the service personnel. The location itself is also not that bad - although not ideal for sightseeing. My room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is located reasonably close to the city center and within walking distance to the next subway station. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are ok, but nothing special, still nicely decorated. Breakfast is excellent and the personnel was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiley7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This Novotel is a good choice when needing just a room close to the city. The rooms are quite small but well laid out and functional, service is very friendly. The restaurant is nothing special but there is a good choice of restaurants close to the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Well located hotel within walking distance from the city center. We stayed a family of four in a clean room with little space, but since we only used the room for sleeping that was fine. We got a rich breakfast buffet included as part of the rate, which made the overall offer very attractive. Only drawback was that WIFI had to be payed as an extra service. It am always disappointed when internet access is being charged for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The services l received was one of the best .The area was clean, food was good, and access to internet was fast. My children were very happy. The room could have been a little bigger.
I will visit this hotel again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banwa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night in the Novotel in the Alster part of Hamburg on our way to Denmark. The main reason we chose this hotel was the very low price for a family room; at €85 it is ca. 30%-50% less than what we usually have to pay for hotels in the 3-4 star range. Upon arrival we discovered that kids stay for free, so we were paying the price of a double room. This was then also what we got; i.e. a double room with a sleeping couch squeezed in for the kids. In comparison, in most other hotels the family room is bigger or you get two adjacent rooms (but again, they cost more as well).

Apart from being small the room was up to standard and clean. The hotel's facilities were also good, parking is available in the basement for €15 pr. night and the reception staff were friendly. A big hit with the kids was the playroom in the reception area, which had computer games for the big ones and lots of toys for the small ones. The location is also very good, in a quiet neighbourhood with the Alster lake close-by and the Alster swimming hall practically next door, and within reasonable walking distance of the main train station and central Hamburg (also there is an underground stop just outside the hotel entrance).

We decided to go for the buffet at the hotel's restaurant. This was a bit of a letdown as there was little to choose from and the food in general not enjoyable (the pasta for example was tough and hard around the edges from being left on the warm plate for too long). It felt like minimal effort and ambition had been put into the buffet, very different from the high standard and pride that we usually find when dining in Germany. The breakfast buffet was better, but again not as rich or varied as we're used to in Germany.

In contrast with the deal on the room, where the smallness was well compensated for by the low price, both the dinner and breakfast buffet were rather on the expensive side. So although we'd have no problems staying again at the hotel, we'd probably opt to dine at one of the many Asian restaurants we saw on the Steindamm street leading from the hotel to the central train station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is not much to say since it is the Novotel standard. You get a decent place well situated to the main spots in Hamburg. The breakfast in the morning was good and also the bar decent. Just if you check in take care that you are not in a room towards the street since it is a main road with a hospital near by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upintotheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
#57 of 321 in Hamburg
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamburg City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamburg City Alster

Address: Luebecker Str. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $85 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Hamburg City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and U-Bahn train station on our doorstep make the Novotel Hamburg City Alster hotel the ideal base in Hamburg. Enjoy the comfort of a 4-star hotel in the modern rooms and suites with a desk and free WiFi. Business travelers can relaxin the sauna after a meeting in our modern meeting rooms, while families will love our video games area. Novo2 looks forward to welcoming you ? it's an innovative combination of a lounge bar and eatery at your Novotel hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Hamburg City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster
Hamburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing