We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Quietest Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus
Ranked #78 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Quietest Hotel Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel on the outskirts of Hamburg, built of wood and very eco-friendly. The design is a little quirky, with minimalist concrete and ducting mixed with tree branches and boughs, but overall the public areas are fine. They sell local specialities as well. The rooms are wood-clad, with a lot of natural wood furnishing, and I am not sure if it is ll this wood acting as a noise damper or the fact that the hotel is in a quiet area, but inside the room there is not a sound to be heard! It really is silent, which is a good aid for sleeping of course. The bathroom is well designed and supplied. The restaurant/bar area is fine to sit in for a while, the kitchen if decent (I have a lovely steak with very good accompaniments), good beer and excellent professional and friendly staff. For a 3* hotel this really has a lot going for it and I will gladly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aintynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
54
4
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here as it was at the 2013 International Garden Show entrance that we were visiting. It is set amongst a number of very interesting modern buildings and is largely constructed of wood although the ground floor is polished concrete with exposed pipework which may not be to everyones taste. The ground floor houses the reception, the retaurant and an excellent forest exhibition. The second floor has a free art gallery. Go up in the lift and you step out into a wood panelled corridor with leaf patterned carpet and all the rooms named after trees. As the walls are not parallel it is a most unusual space which gives the feeling of an optical illusion puzzle. The room was quite small and cosy with wood lined walls and decorations based on the tree name of the room. There was also free wifi. Although it was close to the railway we did not hear it and we found it very quiet. The bathroom facilities were fine with natural eco soaps provided. The beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet had everything we would have wanted and cost 12e each. The food in the restaurant was reasonable although there was not a very great choice but fine for a few days. The staff were very helpful with a problem that we had and all spoke good English. There is an amazing swimming centre about 100m from the hotel with several pools where you can swim very reasonably. Although it is about 8km from the centre of Hamburg the train only takes 15 minutes and the station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel on wheely suitcase friendly paths.
A good tip is that even for 2 people a day group ticket (for up to 5) is the cheapest and easiest way of travelling and can also be used on some buses.

Room Tip: I think they are all similar. The ones on the corner may be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was quite a hard review to write. The hotel is new and as a result the rooms are clean with everything in good order. The hotel was very eco friendly and didn’t require any additional heating or cooling in the rooms. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Free wifi in the rooms, located within walking distance to Hamburg's excellent light rail system.
So why not five stars?
Well there are several reasons why I deducted a point, the hotel is not cheap, especially being so far outside Hamburg - and it is, you need to get a train to do anything other than stay in the hotel – there are NO restaurants, bars, or anything else to do in the evening near the hotel. I was also surprise that given the high room prices breakfast was not included.
The pool and gym are not located on-site. I stayed as part of a business trip, as such I was out during the daytime. I would recommend staying closer to the city if staying with a family, otherwise be prepared to spend a lot of time on the train travelling into Hamburg!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very quirky, modern, green hotel...designed around conservation. Small, cozy rooms with natural wood walls & ceilings. Poor bathroom design...floor got flooded when shower door was opened after shower due to run off. Other than that...a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robd216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked via Venere.com, mentioned no parking cost! Instead I had to pay 75 € for 5 days to park my car in the mud. The excuse the hotel used was because the garden show they had temporally give their private parking places back to the parking place owner. There was nothing they could do and no excuse for the extra charge. A special offer turned out into adverse, I contacted Venere com by email regarding my complaint but no respond. Complains seems not the interest of Venere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked into this hotel for a weekend stay. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and had every facility needed for a wonderful stay. The following morning we went down for breakfast which, we discovered catered for everyone(delicious). We set off later to take the train to the centre of Hamburg and the station was just a few minutes walk away from the hotel and reasonably priced. Certainly the best way to get around the city.

Room Tip: All rooms were
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel Number One
#56 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus

Property: Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus
Address: Am Inselpark 19, 21109 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ecologically designed 3 star superior Raphael Hotel Walderhaus (opened November 2012) is situated in Wilhelmsburg, an island on the River Elbe, at the former entrance to the international garden show hamburg 2013. The highest possible level of sustainability, superior comfort and excellent service standards ensure a healthy and personal welcome for our guests. The 82 comfortable rooms feature all the latest technology with shower/WC, WiFi, flat screen TV, desk, telephone, safe and hair-dryer. Public transport will take you to Hamburg city centre and the main train station in 9 minutes. Guests arriving by car should enter the following address into their satellite navigation system: Am Containerbahnhof, 21109 Hamburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raphael Hotel Waelderhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing