We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel with exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #32 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for three nights as a family of four in two rooms. The hotels location is perfect, it is well located to many small bakeries if you want to eat a cheaper breakfast than the one on offer in the hotel (I can't comment on the breakfast as we did not eat in) and they are all within 5 minutes walk. The outlook from the hotel is over the Alster river which is stunning and provides a lovely riverside walkway all the way into the main area of Hamburg. There are two walking routes you can take along the river and they are both beautiful. The hotel rooms are well appointed, ours was an excellent size with a door to an outside terrace. The bathroom is huge, amazing stand alone bath and a shower that is seriously to die for with shower heads above in front and low...all of which can be controlled to suit your water flow. The staff speak excellent English, the reservation was confirmed and a pre welcome email received, the concierge was knowledgeable and extremely happy to help in any way and the desk staff were efficient, fast and friendly. I really do not have a negative comment...I even had to call for a new hairdryer as the one in the room was not working and a replacement arrived within minutes. Great hotel, well managed and we will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace, especially in summer would be beautiful or rooms with a view over the river ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJJEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay at the Le Meridien Hamburg.

We will share your impressions with the whole team and hopefully we are able to welcome you back soon again at the Alster Lake.

Thank you very much from the whole Le Meridien Hamburg Team for this detailed and tremendous feedback!

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Easy walk from the main train station and beautiful view of the the Alster lake. Room was clean and artfully decorated with very comfortable bed and the same fantastic view as the 9th floor gourmet restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for your stay at the Le Meridien Hamburg.

We will share your impressions with the whole team and hopefully we are able to welcome you back soon again at the Alster Lake.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Sometimes in the Le Meridien hotels, I end up wondering how they organize the distribution of the interior concept since most of the brand seems to inhibit the very same layout and even fragrance. However staying in this property was an plesant experience, leaving nothing to complain about. Lakeview, breakfast, service and quality was all exceeding the expectations. However be prepared to walk a bit to the central or other locations, keeping in mind the nice small bar they hold at the top floor. My next stay in Hamburg will definitely be in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very good hotel 10 minute walk from the main train station on the outer city lake (Aussenalter). Very spacious, beautiful room (room 718). Beware that you may have to pay a surcharge of €30 for an extra kids bed. Sometime this is not yet in the room rate. The bar on the top floor offers great views of the lake. If you want an alternative to the pricey (but good) breakfast buffet, just walk up to the street "Lange Reihe" where there are several good cafés.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meier_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had an amazing stay l. Happily will return. Design and style of hotel beautiful. Bed was quite comfortable and rooms quiet. Breakfast variety and hotel personnel were always helpful and professional. What however made the difference was the view from the roof-top restaurant! Lovely!

Room Tip: Do not miss the breakfast! There is no better way to start your day than seeing this beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orsalia_Deskou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Paid around £265 for 3 nights in December - really good value for money for this 5* hotel. All the staff we encountered spoke excellent English, the room was really well designed and immaculately clean. Restaurant menu a little fancy for our liking, but they serve more "simple" food in the bar.

Spa was nice - pool a little cold but jacuzzi was good. Didn't use the fitness center but had a look and it seemed well equipped.

Hotel is well located around 10/15 minutes walk from the town hall where the Christmas markets are located. Hamburg central station is a 5/10 minute walk away and from there the metro runs directly to the airport taking 25 minutes and costing 2.95EUR.

From what we saw this is the hotel of choice for Emirates crew when staying in Hamburg, we agree with them, enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: 9th Floor has the bar and restaurant - don't worry, you won't hear them, but you can take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from a great stay over a long weekend.

Positives:
1) Excellent rooms: We were upgraded to a superior suite, thanks to platinum membership in the starwood preferred guest program. The suite works perfectly for a family stay (we had an extra bed for our small child). There is a sliding door between the bedroom and the living room and an additional powder room accessed from the living room. The suite is equipped with all the necessary amenities (e.g., good-sized desk, coffee machine, 2 flat screen TVs, ironing board etc.). There are floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of the Alster lake, and a small balcony. Room design is contemporary, and quite kind to the eye.
2) Great breakfast: The breakfast room is located on the top floor, also with a panoramic view of lake Alster. Choice is excellent, especially nice are the pastries/cakes. Also, they will prepare pancakes, waffles etc. to order. Nice choice of fresh juices.
3) Friendly service: We travelled with our small child, and every staff member we met was extremely friendly and accomodating (e.g., bringing a high chair etc.)
4) Room service: On my travels, I found that room service food quality generally is below restaurant quality. Not in this place. We had an excellent (though a bit pricey) room service dinner.
5) Location: The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk along Lake Alster to the city center, and also a 10 minute walk to the main train station, so very convenient.

Negatives:
Nothing really. The only thing I did not like is that they charge extra for coffee specialties (e.g., espresso, latte...) at breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guerteltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,560 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Empire Riverside Hotel
#27 of 321 in Hamburg
1,303 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $159 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing