We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting room designs and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Hamburg
Ranked #29 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting room designs and nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very good location in front of the lake and walking distance to the old town. Rooms are comfortable with nice design. If you booking lake view, you must get 5th floor and higher otherwise there is no view and you will see just the street and some threes.
Don't miss the 9th floor restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Food selection is good and view is fantastic.

Room Tip: Lake view fifth floor and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RezaN861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest.

thank you very much for your freat feedback!

We are more than happy to hear that we could satisfy you with our rooms as well as our Le Ciel Restaurant. It is great to hear that we were able to reach your high standards.
Please be our guest in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    417
    133
    32
    20
See reviews for
165
504
130
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

In Hamburg on business, and my second stay at this hotel.... It is perfectly located on the Outer Alster - ideal for gentle walks or runs around the lake, and walking distance from the city centre. The hotel is very well designed, with quality public spaces and excellent large rooms - good beds, furnishings, very good shower! The music play-lists in the lifts and the interesting art works demonstrate the thought that has gone into making this a great place to stay. The restaurant has a wonderful view and breakfast offers good choice... evening dining is similarly of a high quality. One quibble - as with so many other top-end hotels, the Meridien charges a ludicrous rate for in-room wi-fi... On top of a pretty hefty (but acceptable) rack-rate.... These days everyone needs to be able to access internet - it isn't really an "optional extra" and I think we all know that the marginal cost to the hotel is hardly anything. We aren't charged for toilet rolls, so why for internet? It simply leaves a sour taste. Other than this (and this hotel is not alone in this practice) a great place to stay and high quality staff too...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippingferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for such an amazing feedback on this online plattform.

It is great to hear that we could reach all your high standards and that we could leave such a very good impression. Did you know that we offer free Internet in our lobby area? There you can have a seat, a drink and maybe a little talk with our Guest Relations Manager about what is on your mind and how we can improve your stay even more.

We hope to welcome you soon at Le Meridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is very modern and could easily pass for a W Hotel if it were not branded as a Le Meridien. It has a nice location and is convenient to the center of town and lots of good restaurants. The rooms are well appointed and modern. Everyone at the hotel is quite friendly and service-oriented. My only complaint is that the dinner menu in the main restaurant is somewhat limited and the quality of the food in the bar is sub-par. When I asked for the hamburger to be cooked medium rare, they told me the burger was already pre-cooked well done and that they just warm it up. A 5-star hotel should be capable of cooking a hamburger to order based on the customer's preference.

Views of the lake from the bar and the restaurant are wonderful. Breakfast is a free-for-all: you find your own table (not easy at busy times) and then it's a buffet from there. Again, a 5-star property should have a menu, too, for those who do not want the buffet.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the lake and they do have a very nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on this online plattform.

We are very sorry to hear that we could not reach your standarts accoring to the food in our restaurant. Your feedback will be taken to improve ourselves within our team and of course our kunilary delights. We would love to improve our first impression therefore it would be great to welcome you soon back at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited hamburg for a couple of days in this past summer, colder than we expected and the second day we arrived it actually started to rain...felt like autumn, but our hotel choice definitely made this visit much more attractive. Our room was facing the lake (outer lake I think - I don't speak German), so it meant on one hand we had fantastic views and fresh air by just opening our balcony door and on the other hand we were able to keep a decent distance from the noise and crowd that happened to be surrounding the inner lake during our stay because of a kind of festival celebration. I did enjoy the firecrackers in the evening and nothing was more cozy than watching a live firecracker show right out of your hotel balcony. I felt it was totally worth every penny/Euro spent!

The hotel was in very good status, as you would expect a Royal Le Meridien would be - actually our captain talked about our hotel briefly as well while we were taking the boat ride on Hamburg's lakes and waters, with admiration.

The breakfast was nice, but we couldn't get in the breakfast room with a lake view because it was full and many guests like us were asked to go to the 8th floor (as far as I can remember) to dine in their function rooms. Even the 8th floor rooms were full at around 9:30 am, peak time for breakfast. We didn't eat anything else in the hotel, but took the chance to try out other things in Hamburg, great experiences.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieTells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

We are more than happy to hear that we could leave such a good impression. It is great that you cold enjoy our delicious breakfast unfortunatly not in our Le Ciel Restaurant but we still hope that you liked it. We will share your excellent feedback within our team and hope to welcome you soon at Le Meridien Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Andreas K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

the ride from the airport took about only 20-25mins and there is a super market near the hotel. the Alster lake is right in front of the hotel and provides nice views if you can get a room facing the front of the hotel. the city centre is also abt 15-20mins walk away and good (branded) shops are all there... its a lovely city and Le Meridien is a good rest stop for your trips!

The breakfast at the hotel has a wide spread and you can also request for yummy pancakes and waffles, congee etc if you dont like european cold meats in the morning.

The rooms on the second floor are big and spacious.. and the bathtub looks lovely. try asking for a room with the lake view if possible. my room 228 was facing the back of the hotel, so no views there.

overall my stay at the hotel was lovely, comfortable bed and bath. lovely breakfast.
the only 2 points the hotel failed me were:
a) when i checked in, the coffee cups left by the previous occupant was still on the bar top. yikes.
b) when i ordered room service using one of the hotel phones, there was no sound coming from the other end of line, so i called a few times and ended up trying another phone in the room. The room service attendant who finally picked up said to me sarcastically that i shouldnt have called so many times. I told her off and explained to her the situation. I am a Starwood Member and that kind of service attitude shocked me.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinkChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and for the time you did spent on this entry.

We are very happy that you did enjoy your time in our hotel and in the city.

It is very sad to hear that you had such a bad experience with our room service and cleaning team. You can be sure that we will work on that issue and this will never happen again in the near future. I apologize very much for this impression in our hotel.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back one day in the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Very good stay with helpful friendly staff who were very happy to help. Breakfasts were good, concierge service excellent and the rooms very comfortable. 10 minute walk to the station was fine and good views of the lake from the restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay at the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg.

We are really happy to read such a fantastic review of your stay with your family with us and
we will share your impressions with the whole team- thank you !

We are looking forward to your next stay with us in Hamburg- hopefully again with your family.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Hamburg

Property: Le Meridien Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 52 - 56, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#17 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Hamburg, idyllically situated at the Outhern Alster lake in the trendy district St. Georg offers 275 rooms including 14 suites (with Alsterview). All rooms provide LED-TVs and high-speed internet. Free daily newspapers and tea + coffee preparation facilities are featured in the Le Meridien Hamburg's air-conditioned rooms + suites. All throughout the hotel guests can receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. Bathrobes and high-quality toiletries are provided in the elegant bathrooms. Innovative variations of Mediterranean cuisine, inspired by Hanseatic style are served in the restaurant Le Ciel on the 9th floor of the hotel with a panoramic view of the Outhern Alster lake. Guests are offered a free boat trip on the Alster as part of the Unlock Art™ Programme. The hotel spa "Emotion Spa" with a fitness center offers various possibilities for recreation + relaxation. Le Meridien Hamburg owns 13 conference rooms with an event area of total 721 m². Discover ,,Meetings with a View"- conferences and events with a breathtaking view of the Alster lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Royal Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Meridien Royal Hamburg
Hamburg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing