We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Hamburg
Nearby Hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
$334
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$109
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$176
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$257
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,582)
Filter reviews
1,582 results
Traveler rating
876
485
153
40
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
485
153
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop flooralster lakewalk in showergreat hoteldeluxe roomst georglange reiheminute walkspa areaan upgraderooftop barmodern designbreakfast roomsteam roomthe main train stationfitness centerbusy road
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 1,582 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from an extended weekend trip to Hamburg with my wife and chose the Le Meridien again after staying there various times in the last couple of years. In fact, my wife and I have never stayed at any other hotel in Hamburg since we always liked the hotel, the rooms, its location and basically everything about it. This time, however, our stay turned out to be some sort of disappointment:

Everything started at check-in: Neither did the receptionist recognize that my wife and I had stayed there various times in the past, nor did he realize that I am an SPG Lifetime Gold Member. Therefore, I had to ask for an upgrade possibility which took around 25 minutes to accomplish and only for an additional payment to get an Alster-view room. O.k., I realize that upgrades are always subject to availability, but as reception staff confirmed during checkout yesterday, the hotel was at no time anywhere close to 100% utilization during our stay. I am also aware that rooms are always upgraded only in the same category. Well, this would mean that with a cash + points booking (standard room are the only option to book) one would never be able to get an upgrade to an Alster-view room since all standard rooms are facing in the other direction. Nevermind, we thought and accepted the additional payment of EUR 35,- per night, because we started to feel like beggars after discussing options with the receptionist for a while… So far, so good, however, we only got one of the smaller deluxe Alster-view rooms, but did not want to go back to the receptionist again to ask for a different room since our initial inquiry for an upgrade took him to his limits already. The room was still nice, however, my wife and I had always been offered an executive room or even a suite as an upgrade option in the past.

As this was still on the edge of acceptability (despite being a little shocked regarding the treatment of loyal guests) the following points are definitely not:

1.) Paying for the parking garage to find it completely full with no possibility to park the car on Saturday evening!

2.) No morning newspaper!

3.) No turn-down service (although they are offering it in their website)!

4.) My wife had sent an email to the hotel 1.5 weeks before our arrival to plan a surprise for my birthday, but never got any reply at all!

Sorry, but after staying at this hotel so many times in the past years and not even thinking about any alternatives regarding accommodation, I am completely disappointed about all those little things that went completely wrong during our stay.

Hamburg has plenty of other hotels and despite being a loyal SPG member, I am currently thinking of changing hotels for our next trip to Hamburg that is already planned.

Room Tip: Alster view is a must!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

we are very sorry about all the problems during your last stay.

We did speak already with the Management Team about your impressions and we really apologize about all the problem you went through. We will make sure that this will not happen again in the future and that you will have a very nice stay next time.

Please let us know before you will come to Hamburg for your next trip and please contact our Guest Relations Manager Mrs V. Vollrath then directly.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The rooms at the Meridian are stylish and comfortable. The bathrooms are roomy and modern. Internet is free in the lobby but not in the rooms. The hotel is located along the water and a nice little benefit that they provide guests is free use of a local water taxi. We enjoyed taking it all around the lake on a beautiful day. The desk staff and concierges were very helpful and pleasant. Everyone speaks excellent English. The only negative about the hotel is their charge for breakfast--30 euro per person. That is absolutely outrageous! I suppose that they assume that business travelers don't care what they pay for breakfast. Well, leisure travelers do care. We just went around the corner and had breakfast at a local cafe (Cafe Uhelaub), two blocks behind the hotel on Lange Reihe.That street has some excellent restaurants for dinner, too.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have much of a view as it was not facing the lake. However, it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest ,

thank you so much for your splendid feedback of your stay at the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the area around the hotel with the lake and the alster boats.

We are very sorry that we could not provide you with our delicious breakfast buffet. We do also offer continental breakfast for a lower price.

Please let us know next time before you come that you would like to have a room with a view to the lake.

We will pass on your positive feedback to the concierge - thank you very much for that.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you soon again in Hamburg and at the Alster Lake.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel building was great, as were the rooms. No complaints about that. The service was not good how ever. We had a lot of complications with our reservations, and actually had to call to the USA a couple of times to sort it out with the person from the head offices of Sheraton hotels who made the reservations with us. The worst thing was that we had to deal with 3 people at the reservations... and they thought we didn't speak german!! And so, they were not very nice. Finally we could sort it out, but lost our breakfast benefits.
What was good, is that it is within walking distance to the train station.
Over all, I would recommend the hotel, but my advice is to check a couple of times ahead of time to make sure the reservation is correct.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay regarding the service and regarding the complication with the reservation.

Please be so kind and contact our Guest Relations Manager Ms. Victoria Vollrath directly at the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg under following e-mail address:
victoria.vollrath@lemeridien.com

We would like to welcome you once again in Hamburg and we hope to hear from you soon.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is about 10 minutes brisk walk from the nearest station and is on a busy main road.
We arrived at 1pm and had to wait about half an hour for our room to be cleaned, but were given an upgrade due to the delay. The room was very spacious and had a large patio with two sun loungers.
I did not see any nearby car parks, but there are a lot of parking spaces on neighbouring streets. I never saw an empty gap so good luck if you are driving to this hotel.
On the other side of the road is a large lake which has a path around it which is ideal for running and long strolls. There are also boats for hire and boats trips around the lake.
There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, which is just aswell as the hotel restaurant
prices were double what you would pay for the same quality food in a normal restaurant.
The hotel pool was big enough for two people to use at once and was about 5 swimming strokes from end to end.
This hotel is more for business people who claim everything back on expenses than weekend away tourists.

Room Tip: Best to be away from the main road, as there are too many trees to get a good view of the lake.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg.

We are very happy about your feedback of your stay and we will pass on your impressions to the team. Great, that you enjoyed the area around the hotel with the alster and the St. Georg neighbourhood.

The situation with the parking around the hotel is really a little bit difficult but therefore we offer our own hotel parking for the guests.

We would like to welcome you soon again in Hamburg.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staying at Le Meridien Hotel was a very enjoyable experience. Especially memorable was the view over the lake. The room has extra modern fittings, which took a little while to figure out. However, it was extremely comfortable The city is wonderful and very easy to navigate and we would gladly come back. My only complaint is that some of the concierges should have more knowledge about the practices of the city, such as which day the museums are closed and that most restaurants are closed on Monday.

Room Tip: You must choose a room with a view of Lake Alster.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank plannack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburg, General Manager at Le Meridien Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for your splendid feedback and it is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Great that you really loved our city. We are really sorry about the problem with the concierge department and we will make sure that this will not happen again in the future.

We hope to welcome you back very soon at the Le Royal Méridien Hamburg.

With Kind Regards,

Andreas K.,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews