We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, although rooms getting tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hamburg
Ranked #82 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel, although rooms getting tired.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting a show.
The hotel has underground garage parking - we paid 7.5 euro per day for our motorbike.
The hotel is quite large and the staff are very friendly, there is free wifi throughout the hotel, with 2 terminals and printer to use in the lobby also.
The hotel has a bar and a restaurant, however we found the bar to be quite expensive and did not use the restaurant. We did not have breakfast at the hotel either. As there is a very good bar/restaurant about 100 metres from the hotel that also serves breakfast. We found this restaurant to be very good with great beers and food.
The room was a good size (we had a queen room) although now showing signs of being tired. Stains on carpet, chips in the bathroom sink, holes in the curtains.
On the plus side the mini bar is free and is replenished each day, as is the tea and coffee.
You can catch a bus (number 3, 124 or 120) into the city - takes about 10 minutes. A day ticket for up to 5 adults cost 10 euro.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pigletlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear pigletlw,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this as it helps us to improve our services and please be sure that we will forward your feedback to our F&B Manager.

We have already started with the renovation, our lobby, our restaurant and the outer facade got a new design. The rooms with their interior will get a new design very soon.

We hope that you will come to visit us very soon at the Elbbrücken.


Kind regards,
Birte Münster
(Guest Relations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    296
    217
    57
    49
See reviews for
150
206
59
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
almere
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

When you are with two or less don,t go to this hotel! THE roadside rooms are very noise when you open THE Windows and no airco .
Internet connection only for one person on a room for two persons
Breakfast is good only be on time because other wise you have to wait till there is space free, and bigger groupes are going in front of you

In our case THE hotel reception put us in THE hotel connecting to this hotel, because there was no space?

Room Tip: Go to an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this as it helps us to improve our services on a regular basis. Unfortunately there seems to bi a misunderstanding regarding you stay. You stayed in a room at our "City wing", which belongs to our Holiday Inn Hamburg and is directly connected to it. You can log in two devices with one Internet code per room. For further questions, please contact our front desk.
Our hotel offers rooms in different categories. The rooms from the category standrd plus and up do offer an A/C.
Our reservations department is happy to assist you by finding the right room.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for 11 nights while on a business trip to Hamburg, great staff throughout the hotel although the reception and check-in desks can be overwhelmed at busy times (coach trips). Rooms are a good size but TV's are old cathode type and the facilities shown on the remote control such as film channel, wake-up calls etc do not exist? Toiletries are very limited but at least wi-fi is free and the minibar as well.
Breakfast is very good and the restaurant in the evening is excellent but with a limited menu, booking is advisable because it can get busy. A taxi ride into the city is in the region of 10-12 Euros, about 15 minutes during rush hours.
The hotel does allow smoking in certain floors/rooms so stipulate when booking your preference, the bar has a "Happy Hour" each day between 5 & 6pm with all drinks at half price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this. We already started with the remoddeling of our hotel and started to change the tvs to flatsreens.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Best regards from Hamburg,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
146 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

the hotel is far away from the center but its on a park near the river and there is a nice view from the window
the room is big and nice the minibar was free with water and Coke
breakfast was nice but at the pick hours the restaurant is very busy sometimes meed top wait for a free seat
the WIFI was free and the parking cost 15 Euro

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shushush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hamburg.
We are looking forward to welcome you on your next trip to the beautiful city of Hamburg.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Horrible! We were told when we made the reservation it was all nonsmoking. When we opened the door to the room, we were assaulted with smells of heavy smoking in the room. We asked for another room, but "nothing available" and no one seemed to care we were very unhappy. Opening windows, spraying freshener did nothing. Checked out as soon as possible with puffy eyes, cough, and sore throat. Plus is was forever away from any train station.

Room Tip: Be a heavy smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dcraigclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you experienced. Please be assured that we do our very best to fulfill all your wishes regarding the room, whenever it is possible regarding the availability.
Our hotel is located near the city centre and you can reach the main station after a short bus ride which takes less than 10 minutes.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

A very reasonably priced hotel not far from the city centre. The hotel is busy, the hotel had three coach parties in while we was there, but the staff were all very efficient, friendly and although they were busy they still made time to be helpful and make you feel welcome.The rooms were spacious and very clean.
The hotel is an easy 10min (2 Euro) bus ride to the city centre and the lake

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We rally appreciate this. We will forward your kind words to our staff and are looking forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I wouldnt come back to this hotel. Very average. Bad location. It says its close to the train station, but its not.

First they gave us another room than we ordered. The room was in a different hotel directly connected to this hotel. The room did not have the same facilities as described. F.ex. i did not have aircondition as described amongst other things. Reception made me go back to the room to get the order confirmation and then go to the homepage we booked it at, to show them that the add said something different. Very bad service. In the end we got a new room.

Room was big and clean. Thats the only good thing i have to say about this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Hamburg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hamburg, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Joel,

Thank your very much for your feedback. We really appreciate this as it helps us to improve our services on a regular basis. Our hotel is located near the city center, only a short busride away. We offer rooms in different categories. Our rooms in the categories standard plus, executive and suite do offer an A/C. Please feel free to contact our reservations department. They will be happy to asist you in finding the right room for you.
We would be glad to welcome you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniela Gorres
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
#54 of 318 in Hamburg
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hamburg

Property: Holiday Inn Hamburg
Address: Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Forum Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hamburg! A trip to Hamburg is always worth while, regardless of business or pleasure, Holiday Inn Hamburg is delighted to be your host in the famous 'Hansestadt'. Hamburg, has indeed, a vast range of exciting attractions to offer, stunning architecture, famous land marks, nature, culture and entertainment to name a few! The Speicherstadt once the tax free warehouse area located in the harbour now houses many museums and visitor attractions. The German Custom Museum, The Speicherstadt Museum, Spicy s Spices Museum, The Harbour City Info Centre, Miniature Wonderland famous for the worlds largest model railway and not forgetting Hamburg s Dungeons with its historical and gruesome attractions. An outdoor alternative and not to be missed is a boat trip around the harbour itself. Afterwards you still have time to explore Hamburg s shopping mile, the famous Moenckebergstrasse or Jungfernstieg, a shopper s paradise! Finally to round off a perfect day why not reserve seats in one of Hamburg s many theatres and musicals. With so many to choose from there is sure to be something for all the family. Feel at home in one of our comfortable 385 guest rooms, or enjoy the fantastic views over the roof tops of Hamburg from one of our 12 spacious suites. All rooms have SAT-TV, radio, mini bar, direct dial telephone and a safe for your valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing