We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design, clean, cool location...”
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #18 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zollikon, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern design, clean, cool location...”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Staying there for a conference, we didn't know that it was really at Reeperbahn 1 when we booked it. It is a really interesting hotel, very clean and modern, but also cosy. The hotel is quite new. It is just a few steps from the U-Bahn station St. Pauli and to the S-Bahn station Landungsbrücken it is not more than 7 min. We walked through the wonderful park "Planten un Blomen" (Botanical Garden) to the Congress Center.
The breakfast is rather expensive (16€ per person), so we got it elsewhere.
We didn't check the Wellness and Fitness area (we were too busy otherwise).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    309
    56
    14
    9
See reviews for
69
342
41
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Arcohotel ONXY reminds us of a certain Standard in NYC, we loved the attention to detail and the mood lighting throughout the hotel. With carefree but professional staff who went out of their way to provide the best service, you might not want to leave the lux of the hotel!

Our room was a Comfort Double, you're spoilt with space and places to relax around the room. We just wish we didn't have such an early flight so we could have enjoyed a lazy morning in bed followed by breakfast - we hear it's worth the extra!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear amazingexpress,
thank you very much staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for writing this wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with, even if it was pretty short, and that you were pleased with our service and design. We are looking forward to welcome you back, so you can have your lazy morning and enjoy our great breakfast.
Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli, JANA SCHMITT, Ass. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otopeni
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

During 2013 I stayed at this hotel several times and each time I was very pleased. Rooms are nice, clean and big. it has a good location, in the downtown. Stuff was friendly ready to help you anytime and offering you good advices. Breakfast was very good. Nevertheless the price was attractive. I recommend this hotel for all people traveling for business purposes but not only. For sure that I will come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Christian P.,
thank you very much for all your stays at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed every stay with us and were especially pleased with our breakfast and service. We also would like to thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli, JANA SCHMITT, Ass. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed last week in this hotel, is very conveniently located, just steps away from musicals like Rocky, and righ next to the dancing towers (which by the way have a wonderful bar, Clouds on the last floor, totally worth the visit). I liked the hotel itself, the decoration, the vibe, the room was really nice and the bed was very comfortable. You have plenty of stuff to do around just walking distance. Good restaurants around and good night life. I highly recommend the hotel was definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Greta, thank you for your feedback. We love to hear that you had a great time with us and really enjoyed the central location, the room, the decoration and the hotel itself. Hope to welcome you back soon, kind regards, SVANTJE NAGEL / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed one night on May 11 . Smart newish Hotel right on the Reeperbahn street of Sex and fun ! The hotel staff were very helpful and kept our luggage stored before and after check /in check/out . We upgraded to a top floor (7th) executive room for an extra 20 euro . 3 smart lifts operated by your room card . Nice spacious room with two swivel chairs , table and some bizarre styled lighting . A choice of white or red light in the room and bathroom . The room had Bath robes but no bath . Weird or what ?
There was a hospitality tray with very little on it and no spoons for making tea .Tea bags were brought on request
The room was very clean and the shower room spotless . The air conditioning was excellent but it was possible to open a small side window . the curtain rail had been damaged at some point so the curtain did not draw properly. irritating but not the end of the world .
We did not have breakfast there as it was IMO too expensive . if you cross to the other side of the R/Bahn and look in the streets behind there are plenty of coffee shops and breakfast places .
Public transport is fantastic in Hamburg and the hotel is right next to the station . A thirty minute ride from the airport by train which cost 3 euros . Take an umbrella if you want to look like a local !

Room Tip: Quieter if you are not on the street side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Barmest, thank you for your stay with us and for the nice feedback you wrote on www.tripadvisor.com. We are really happy that you had a good time in the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and loved the staff, the hotel and the location. We also thak you for the points which are not this good and for sure we will talk to the housekeeping to optimize the service and double check the room that everything is working and on it's place. Next time you should try our great breakfast buffet because there you can find nearly everything and we can promise it is worth the price. Hope to welcome you back some day, kind regards, SVANTJE NAGEL / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very good beds, big room, coffee and tea maker in the room. Free one bottel of water, and free apples all stay:-)) Pleasant and polite staff. Very near the metro, so easy acess to all of Hamburg. Hotel located in the beginning of Reperbaahn, near resturants and opera, musicals etc. Try the excellent fish restaurant just across the road, Gosh from the Sylt area of Germany. Very good!!
Nice place to go jogging too, as the hotel is very near the Planten und Blumen Park! Expencive breakfast at hotell, better to cross the road to a 24/7 open bakery!

Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy from reperbahn, but ask for room high up or remember to close window, aircon is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbusandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Columbusandme,
thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time, due to our location, exploring the beautiful city of Hamburg. Thank you also for your note on the price the breakfast, which we will forward to the competent department. We wish you all the best and would like to welcome you back soon. Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli, JANA SCHMITT, Ass. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from Sat-Mon 3-5 may, our flight was delayed 8 hours so arrived midnight, had booked the suite (free mini bar etc) when booking the suite it was mentioned that the suites have free food by the chef, disappointed to find none/or asked by reception, Hotel is fantastic, modern and clean, wifi was great. Would recommend this hotel, maybe comfort rooms and not suite as quality etc is the same except just a larger room and vastly cheaper for what you get.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SnifferDogBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback at our homepage which shows us, that we are on the right way. Such feedbacks are very important for improving our services and for keeping them at this standard. We hope to welcome you again at the ARCOTEL Onyx. Kind regards, SVANTJE NAGEL / Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 319 in Hamburg
1,043 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,021 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 319 in Hamburg
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,431 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#20 of 319 in Hamburg
780 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 319 in Hamburg
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Property: ARCOTEL Onyx
Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing