We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, slightly quirky hotel at the easy-to-escape end of the Reeperbahn”
Review of ARCOTEL Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARCOTEL Onyx
Ranked #18 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, slightly quirky hotel at the easy-to-escape end of the Reeperbahn”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Just to confirm what everyone else has said! Lovely modern clean hotels with very well designed and equipped rooms, v convenient for St Pauli, and lots of less sleazy neighbourhoods if you walk in the opposite direction to the Reeperbahn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear adventurette,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    309
    56
    14
    9
See reviews for
69
342
41
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton , England
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Recently stayed here for a stag do (11 lads) and thought we would treat ourselves to a decent hotel and we were not disappointed.The hotel is only a few months old and right at the end of the Reeperbahn and only 5 minutes walk from the river / docks , 15 minutes from the city centre and 5 minutes from St Pauli FC (cult football team in Hamburg).
We were checked in very efficiently and given a key card per person, a city map with all the highlights described and circled by the very efficient reception.
All the hotel is extremely stylish and the bedrooms were shot of nothing you would expect in this type of hotel - flat screen tv, walk in wet room with power shower, excellent mirrors & lighting. Mini bar etc. etc.
We didn't eat here (no one awake that early after nights on the Reeperbahn) but the bar / dining area very well set out and stylish.
All in all i cannot praise this hotel enough !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSamsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Big Sams Wanderer,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I selected this hotel because it was the cheapest on hotels.com at the time we decided to go to Hamburg. We will choose it again, even if we have to pay normal prices when there is no "We're a new hotel. try us-prices" later.

Wonderful room, nice bathroom, quite calm surroundings despite the fact that this is at the beginning of the Reperbahn and the St Pauli area. Also it was easy to get to all parts of town.

I like my breakfast to be included when staying in a hotel, and never got as far as choosing between two quite expensice choices of breakfast, we went to a nearby breakfast cafe instead and got wonderful food. And that's the only thing I would haev changed in this nice, new hotel where even the carpet on the floor had that "new house" smell :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Grete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Anne-Grete,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Onyx is a stylish hotel but not stuffy or pretentious. It is like staying at your ultra- hip Cousin's place. I loved the apples both in the lobby and in the rooms. Wifi is free and fast. The rooms are on the large side with comfortable beds, good aircon, plenty of room in the bath and great flatscreen TVs. In the st. Pauli area, it is convenient to the UBahn and, nearby, the SBahn. Getting from the airport requires a couple of changes, but thankfully Hamburg taxis are not too expensive. It was 25 euros with tip from the airport to the hotel. Breakfast is expensive at 20 euros if you want the buffet next door, but the 5 euro continental at the bar I thought was a bargain. There are other choices nearby which we saw a number of locals eating. Restaurants nearby are generally more touristy, but across the park ( the front desk will draw you a map) is a cute street By the river with a number of great tapas, Spanish,Portuguese, and pizza places. there is a small workout/ exercise facility which was well done. Great tea available there and in your room. A couple of fast computers in he lobby which were terrific for printing out TA info on restaurants and boarding passes for my next stop. The staff couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. I look forward to returning to my "cousin's apartment" Onyx again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLA_Islandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found this new hotel on internet and after seeing nice photos we decided to come here. After arrival to Hamburg we realised that hotel is located on the end of the most famous street full of sexshops and erotic bars ;))) But never mind, hotel was really nice and we decided to stay. All staff in the hotel worked very professional. They were kind and very helpfull. Room was brilliant. Absolutely stylish to the last thing! All the hotel was modern and beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay here. There is good bar in the lobby with No1 barman, that used to work for some russian bar, so he know many kinds of vodka and can do very good coctails.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Lucia ,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to fill in your feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night in August 2012, and I think the hotel had only opened a month or two earlier.

I didn't spend much time in the hotel as arrived at 6pm, went out for dinner, and then checked out at 11am to get my flight. I didn't use the bar or restaurant, but the the rooms were great - really clean, comfortable and funky (as long as you don't mind bright yellow). The check-in staff were quick, and helpful with restaurant suggestions.

The location is great - at the end of the Reeperbahn, a 2 minute walk from St Pauli U-Bahn, and 5 min walk from St Pauli football stadium. This makes it about 30 mins from the airport and 10-15 from Hauptbahnhof. The Reeperbahn itself is worth a stroll down - it is an experience, even if you are not looking for any of the many services offered!

At 75 euro I'd say the rate was reasonable for a hotel of this quality, and would definitely consider returning if in Hamburg again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Jamesh77,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to wirte this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Like others here I had some concerns about staying in a brand new hotel, but these soon disappeared once I had finished my check-in. The room is very comfortable, well equipped and very quiet. Service at the bar in the lobby was also fantastic. I would definitely go back next time I am in Hamburg.

Room Tip: No tips to add - seemed to me that all rooms were good with excellent sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svantje N, Leiter Front Office at ARCOTEL Onyx, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear scimitar65 ,

Thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg and for taking the time to write this feedback.

Especially due to comments from our guests we are able to continually improve our high level of quality and service.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to making you feel at home when you are away from home.

We would like to wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again at ARCOTEL Onyx in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg

SVANTJE NAGEL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 319 in Hamburg
1,043 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,021 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 319 in Hamburg
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,431 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#20 of 319 in Hamburg
780 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 319 in Hamburg
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Onyx

Property: ARCOTEL Onyx
Address: Reeperbahn 1 A, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ARCOTEL Onyx 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Onyx Hamburg is located directly on the Reeperbahn, at Millerntor. With its semi-transparent elements, the hotel’s façade alludes to the popular and rare semiprecious stone which gave the hotel its name, and attracts a lot of attention in Hamburg’s trendy neighbourhood of St. Pauli. Located conveniently in the heart of the city, the hotel is the perfect starting point for trips to the harbour, the historical Speicherstadt warehouse district, and visits to musical and theatre shows. High-quality materials and functional design create an atmosphere of extravagance and exclusive flair in the hotel’s interior. 215 spacious rooms and suites provide the best of modern comfort for a new generation of guests demanding a new level of service. The entire hotel has WLAN internet access. Our BAR WIENER CAFE provides the perfect place to socialise in a sophisticated lounge atmosphere. Bar snacks, delicious home-made cakes and refreshing drinks leave no wish unanswered. Guests who want to relax and unwind have free access to the attractive spa and fitness area of the ARCOTEL Onyx. And our high-end seminar room is equipped with state-of-the art technology to create a professional meeting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARCOTEL Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing