We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible!!!”
Review of A&O Hamburg City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&O Hamburg City
Ranked #66 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you like waiting in line for one hour to check in this is your place. As well as constantly being referred to as a completely different person every time I had to go to reception, they also made me change rooms for the fourth night and then took my luggage out my room twice that day because they thought I was someone else. Never stay at any of these hotels/hostels. I have travelled all around the world and have never been treated so poorly!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 525 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I already stayed A&O in a different branch that's why I chose here but after all I have to say I don't like here just because of the one thing... Shower.... It really matters for me cuz the shower in the different branch was awesomely full of water but here soooo weak... I might say normal but I chose here because of a shower so it was sooooo disappointed. But if u don't care a shower, here is a great place I think. I stayed for a 4 people dorm but no other guests! So lucky!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a stag party. Clean but expect no frills. .you get what you pay for. Rooms clean we had bunks..breakfast average. Reception staff a little rude.mosty native Germans so dont really cater for English speaking patrons. Location good for stags but if u looking for a quiet break this is not the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The company I visited booked this accomodation for me. It is in a really good location (5minutes from S-Bahn and U-Bahn station) and this is the greatest value of the hotel.
The rooms are small with very basic furniture (no wardrobe or commode, a really small table), but the bathroom is ok and the room is clean.
Unfortunately most of the guests are young belonging to huge groups so the hotel is far from being quiet.
There is a free wifi in the lounge, though it works better in the morning, in the nights it is slow and unstable.
I would recommend the breakfast (for 6EUR/person), which is very rich. Though it gets boring after a while as there are the same things on the table all the time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAndras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very good location - 5 min till S- and U- Bahn, around 15 min till Hauptbanhof and city Center. Nice and clean rooms, with TV and shower. Nice place where to stay for weekend. There is free Wi-Fi at the ground floor, but I didn't use it because I came to Hamburg to see my friends. Any way if you need to spend night in nice, clean and good place I would like to recommend this hotel/hostel.

Room Tip: There is S-and U-Bahn near to hotel/hostel, so be ready that it makes some noises during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frezija_zl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel was not booked by myself but as I had to choose out of the A & O Hotels in Hamburg this one seemed the best option after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor.
The hotel was not in the nicest area and a good 10 to 15 minute walk from the city centre-bearing in mind that I can walk quite fast. The entrance was nothing special-although I wasn't really expecting much for a 2 star and I just wanted a clean bed for the night.
On arrival I provided confirmation regarding my booking which included the e-mail with my booking reference. After being made to fill out my personal details on a form the staff asked if I had a voucher and as I didn't they decided I had to pay although this hotel had already being booked by another organisation on my behalf. But I could use the voucher next time I stayed here!
It's fair to say that we made a quick exit and decided to pay to stay somewhere better with decent customer service. I received vouchers for everything else and therefore I can only assume that A & O Hotels messed up this booking and the voucher I was meant to receive!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was a surprise when I realized that everything was clean on a hostel so cheap. Be aware that you have to pay for the sheets!
The staff was really helpful.
It is near the metro station that runs to the city center.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Superbude St. Georg
Superbude St. Georg
#58 of 321 in Hamburg
358 reviews
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#53 of 321 in Hamburg
717 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
#68 of 108 in Hamburg
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Hamburg Hammer Kirche
#67 of 108 in Hamburg
142 reviews
MAC City Hostel
#14 of 108 in Hamburg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Hamburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Hamburg City

Address: Spaldingstrasse 160, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range: $32 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Hamburg City 2*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Hamburg City offers modernly furnished single, double or family rooms with a great hotel standard (hotel area) and spacious 4 to 8 dorms with comfortable beds (hostel area). The spacious lobby and entrance area, with billiard and table soccer as well as a kids' play area, provides a welcoming atmosphere with an international charm. New: Wi-Fi is free of charge in every room and in all public areas! Our A&O Hotel has a central location and very good connections to all public transportation. The S+U-Bahn stop "Berliner Tor" (S1, S2, U2, U3) is only a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The main train station is a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your A&O Hamburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing