We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again”

Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #20 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would stay there again”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in the Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel in March 2012. The hostel was clean, quiet and quite centrally located. My two friends and I stayed in an 8-bed-dormroom which was quite clean and with several lockers you can use free of charge (bring your own lock). I slept next to the windows, and at times there was a bit of a draught. The hostel has no curfew and the reception desk is open 18h a day (8am-2am as far as I remember) with a very friendly, helpfull and englishspeaking staff. Note, though, that the reception (along with the rest of Hamburg) DOES NOT accept creditcards (not even VISA) which means you have to pay for your stay in cash.
The hostel is located app. 20 minutes on foot from St.Pauli and Altestadt and app. 7 minutes from the S- and U-bahn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
1
12
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tetouan, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

hostels in hamburg are on the expensive side but this place was only 13 euros for a dorm bed in december. the rooms are large and have single beds rather than bunks which at first is creepy but kinda nice also. not manz people around being midweek winter and all but sick music, free coffee, really warm, loads of info on stuff to do, supermarket opposite and sick grafitti around. Also, hamburg is small so its not much of a walk to get anywhere or you can tram.

Room Tip: 9 bed dorm was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessie_Byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Moving to my Apartment and it was a nice stay for a week. Common spaces are comfortable and you have free wifi. Its clean, Rooms are Not the best but perfectly all right. The location is just great, downstairs you have the schanzenviertel with all its bars and restaurants, and you dont get the noise of it in the Hostel! They are Almost every Weekend fully reserved, so Book in advance.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We turned up near midnight and initially struggled to find the door as there was no sign. The guy at reception was very nice and spoke very good English. We were asked to give an identification number and he wouldn't accept driving licence but we were lucky that I had my passport with me. The room we had was made for two people but they brought up a camping bed for me and there was plenty of room for it.

Likes:
Friendly staff
Good room size
Beds were okay
Close to a U-Bahn station

Dislikes:
Loud at night as above two bars
Walls are very thin
Not many showers and they are on the first floor
Communal area is small

Overall a pleasant two night stay with friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitKat9020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

First off, we had the address but couldn't find the door to the hostel as there wasn't a big sign on any door near the street number. I accidentally walked into the males-only massage parlor next door. Good thing I don't embarrass easily. There is a tiny sign on printer paper in the door for the hostel. It's the one in the middle.

The service was okay. The guy wasn't overly friendly, but he was patient with our large group as we each paid individually for our dorm room.

There was a relaxing-looking hammock in the reception area, but I didn't have time to check it out. There were a few other travelers milling about as well.

Our room was on the floor above reception. We had to use our keys to scan us into that level to get to our room. The room itself was fine. Nothing fancy, but the beds were fine. The pillows were not in great shape, but I always travel with a camping pillow. There were toilets on our floor, but if we wanted a shower we had to go downstairs. Don't forget to take your keys or there's no getting back in to the upper level.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

As you said: atmosphere was bad. No room for chilling out with other travellers. Service was rude and they could not even answer: good morning! Walls were like made of paper. And rooms vere extremely hot. Overall quite boring experience. Nothing compared to Berlins hostels. But we loved the city! :)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

It was alright but not fantastic. It felt old and used - in need of some TLC. Good location. Well-equipped kitchen. Quiet at night, in spite of being on a main street. Comfortable beds although pillows were small. Our only major complaint is the bathroom stall doors - they're awkward to latch and unlatch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenndods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
2,009 reviews
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena Hostel Hamburg
#13 of 99 in Hamburg
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel

Property: Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Address: Max-Brauer-Allee 277, 22769 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt , Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Instant sleep is an independent hostel in Hamburg with its own and a little unconventional style, located in the quarter 'Sternschanze'. Since 1999 we welcome guests from all over the world. Enjoy our relaxed atmosphere: about 50 persons can stay in the beds of our eleven differently designed rooms. So we are a good address especially for people travelling on their own or in small groups and looking for room to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing