We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare but the essentials were there”

Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bare but the essentials were there”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We turned up near midnight and initially struggled to find the door as there was no sign. The guy at reception was very nice and spoke very good English. We were asked to give an identification number and he wouldn't accept driving licence but we were lucky that I had my passport with me. The room we had was made for two people but they brought up a camping bed for me and there was plenty of room for it.

Likes:
Friendly staff
Good room size
Beds were okay
Close to a U-Bahn station

Dislikes:
Loud at night as above two bars
Walls are very thin
Not many showers and they are on the first floor
Communal area is small

Overall a pleasant two night stay with friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitKat9020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
1
12
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

First off, we had the address but couldn't find the door to the hostel as there wasn't a big sign on any door near the street number. I accidentally walked into the males-only massage parlor next door. Good thing I don't embarrass easily. There is a tiny sign on printer paper in the door for the hostel. It's the one in the middle.

The service was okay. The guy wasn't overly friendly, but he was patient with our large group as we each paid individually for our dorm room.

There was a relaxing-looking hammock in the reception area, but I didn't have time to check it out. There were a few other travelers milling about as well.

Our room was on the floor above reception. We had to use our keys to scan us into that level to get to our room. The room itself was fine. Nothing fancy, but the beds were fine. The pillows were not in great shape, but I always travel with a camping pillow. There were toilets on our floor, but if we wanted a shower we had to go downstairs. Don't forget to take your keys or there's no getting back in to the upper level.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

As you said: atmosphere was bad. No room for chilling out with other travellers. Service was rude and they could not even answer: good morning! Walls were like made of paper. And rooms vere extremely hot. Overall quite boring experience. Nothing compared to Berlins hostels. But we loved the city! :)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Hinton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

It was alright but not fantastic. It felt old and used - in need of some TLC. Good location. Well-equipped kitchen. Quiet at night, in spite of being on a main street. Comfortable beds although pillows were small. Our only major complaint is the bathroom stall doors - they're awkward to latch and unlatch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenndods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Are they trying to be comedians with the name of the hostel? The only way you'll find "instant sleep" at this hostel is if you party until the wee hours of the morning at the club downstairs, and then crash here. Otherwise, if you try to sleep at 12 or 1 on a Friday/Saturday night, you'll feel like you're trying to sleep in a "chill out room" at a disco.

Showers were freezing cold the first day we were there. Otherwise it was relatively clean. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanada82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2007

I agree with what was said below - but it's by no means an awful place to stay. Atmosphere is good and it's located in a really cool area. But as an artist - the atempt to make the place look cool (murals & room painting) is awful - get someone in to do a proper job! have a look at the Black & White Hostel in Lisbon for some tips! It is hard to stay here after experiencing The Circus hostel in Berlin. But dont be put off by the review - it's not the greatest hostel - but at least it's not soulless Danhostel in Copenhagen!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank cckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Principally this building is called as a hostel... Well it is not a hostel... Ok, it is specialised for backpackers, but I cant believe it, that all backpackers are so self-denying, that could stay there for long time..The walls are dirty, you cant close the doors in the toilet for the ladies, the "reception staff" is rude... We slept in a room with 8 beds, the room is situated at the corner of the building, above a bar and next to the roads... Pleasently silent location :( ... And.. you cant close the door of your room, because you dont get any key...just dont stay here

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utazunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 319 in Hamburg
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
Backpackers St. Pauli
Backpackers St. Pauli
#10 of 100 in Hamburg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel

Property: Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
Address: Max-Brauer-Allee 277, 22769 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt , Sternschanze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Instant sleep is an independent hostel in Hamburg with its own and a little unconventional style, located in the quarter 'Sternschanze'. Since 1999 we welcome guests from all over the world. Enjoy our relaxed atmosphere: about 50 persons can stay in the beds of our eleven differently designed rooms. So we are a good address especially for people travelling on their own or in small groups and looking for room to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing