We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again for several reasons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Ranked #204 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again for several reasons”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here three nights as we were travelling by train and this hotel was conveniently close to the Hauptbahnhof. We expected a certain amount of 'nightlife' in the street from the reviews, but the action takes place all day too. The entire ground floor of the hotel building is a sex supermarket, apart from the hotel doorway, which is fitted with an entryphone and kept locked all day.
We had a room on the 4th floor which had two windows which looked out into a dirty narrow internal shaft, providing very little daylight. There was a lot of noise from other rooms and particularly people stamping around on the floor above, well into the early hours. The room had no pictures on any wall, and a very small bathroom, with WC too close to the shower door, and with a toilet seat that would not stay up, and the narrow wash basin with shelf above prevented you from washing your face without banging your head.
There were a couple of redeeming factors, the free wi-fi worked well in our room, and the breakfast was quite good, with a choice of boiled or scrambled eggs each morning.
The next time we visit Hamburg, we would look for a better hotel, even though it may mean spending a little more money.

Room Tip: Avoid room 422 if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    113
    77
    19
    19
See reviews for
35
120
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This Hotel exceeded my expectations because I thought we wouldn't get a good hotel for 95 Euro/Night (for 3 Persons!!). Our room incl. the bathroom was clean, comfy & of modern style. Nothing to complain about. Breakfast was also ok. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful when asked about directions. The only thing I didn't like was the street you need to walk through when going to the main train station, too many casinos & shops mentioned already by other reviewers. It's a bit scary at night to pass by this street. I would have given this hotel a rating of 5 if it had a better location. But we had a nice stay in this hotel! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunnylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is actually very good - it's close to the train station and the rooms are great - comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, and a really good frühstück in the morning, too - a super breakfast, actually. The staff manning the desk is wonderful, too - very helpful, very knowledgeable, and all of them speak good English. The one piece that may have you wondering about the place is in order to get there (from the train station) you have to walk by several sex shops...but we felt safe. I'd book it again - it was a reasonable rate and a comfortable room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The environment around the hotel is a little off putting but it should not be... but that had no significance to our holiday. There are lots of handy shops and snack bars close to the hotel and a big supermarket Pennys just across the road. Lidl is just a short walk away. The hotel is fairly quiet but lacks any character, there is virtually no communal space.
The rooms are quite compact but warm, clean and comfy. The television had two english speaking channels for any one that wanted to keep up with global news.
From the hotel it is only a short walk to the Main Railway station which has a direct link with the international airport for only 2.95 euros.
The hotel is fairly centrally situated within walking distance of most of Hamburgs main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

On the plus side, this hotel is clean, reasonably comfortable and offers a decent breakfast. On the negative side, the location is in a really seedy area, the official pictures don't show that the ground floor is a sex supermarket. Not for families or the easily offended. Overall not great value for money considering no en suite and the scummy area. Wouldn't recommend unless they halve the rates.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was travelling through to Denmark. The hotel is within walking distance of the main train station. The staff were all extremely efficient and helpful. The hotel has been renovated and everything looks good and the bathroom was a good size. My room was at the back of the hotel, not much of a view, but at least it was quiet at night. Both the room and the bathroom were exceptionally clean.
I did pay the additional €7.50 for breakfast and that was very good value. There is an excellent choice of fruit, meats, cheese, cereal and cooked food.
On my last day I left my luggage in their secure luggage room for a few hours (free of charge). I will be travelling through Hamburg again soon, and I will stay here again it is good value for money,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terminus Hamburg
#116 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum

Property: Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Address: Steindamm 29 | St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Hamburg is a modern hotel located in the middle of the bustling district of St. Georg near the Hauptbahnhof.Die Monckebergstrasse and the Lange Reihe is a few Minuten. More destinations such as the HafenCity, planets and Blomen and the park is easily accessible by public transport from the main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novum Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing