We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another place!”
Review of Hotel Lilienhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lilienhof
Ranked #298 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I had planned on staying in this hostel for one week.
It really doesn't bother me that the toilet is not in the room, or that the shower may not have hot water, but rather warm. Whatever. I spend most of my days out and about and really just use the hostel to sleep.
Well, the first morning I was in this hostel, my girlfriend left just before me to buy some train tickets. I stayed in the room for another few minutes getting ready to go out too. Then the door creeps open and a strange man walks in.... he sees me, then quickly closes the door. When i confronted him about it, he slyly made an excuse that he was looking for his friend. Apparently he was pacing the hallways near our room and waited for my girlfriend to leave before checking the door she came out of.

The worst part is that the reception staff did not care in the slightest. He knew there was a strange guy in the hallway upstairs. He told me "not to worry, i think he's crazy". Well, you'd be crazy to leave anything behind in Hotel Lilienhof.

We checked out and got the staff to write a letter saying we will incur no further charges for not staying the following week etc. They then charged me for the whole booking, on the same day that the we checked out!

Trust me....Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scib_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 93 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

If you're like me and you're actually considering this hotel then it's because all you really want is a cheap place to stay after getting wasted. That being said: What do you really expect?

The rooms are small and they're not modern. Your toilet will not be in the room, but rather somewhere on your floor or the floor below you. There's also a good chance you won't have a shower in your room, but instead a community one in the same fashion. So, if you desire this, make sure you get it.

The staff that works here doesn't speak English, or very, very little. But you do have free WiFi.

And the most important thing I can say on this review if you're going to stay here... Make sure you book your reservation online. There are a few different young people that work the counter and they are shady as hell. If the room costs online 35Euro they'll tell you like 60Euro and I'm assume pocket the rest.

In summary: If you want a cheap place without many amenities within a stones throw of the Hamburg Hbf then I would suggest this place ONLY if you book online.

Stayed: November 2010
2  Thank kcor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I like the people who work there. There are very friendly, and like to small talk. Unfortunately, their hotel is shy of mediocre. I stayed in a double room one night with my friend, and a single room the next night after my friend had left. The double room was extremely small (about twice the size as our double bed) , and the dark "shower corner" didn't have a light over head and the drain was clogged. The community toilet was outside the room.
The single room had a cracked mirror and a bed which felt as though it were just a set of box springs.
There was also a strange request from the management which was to turn in your key everytime you leave the hotel. I believe this is because they are real keys, and they are expensive to replace, but I noticed the cleaning service were also using the same keys to get into your room while you were gone.
On the other hand, the place couldn't be in a better location. Situated right next to the Hauptbahnhof, you can easily get anywhere in the city. And Mutterland, a wonderful but pricey cafe, is right across the street. I ate there four times in the two days I was there -- a couple times to just pick up something to go. The hotel also has a cozy dining area, and serves breakfast for 5 Euro. Although while I was in there (in an effort to access the WLAN they have), I noticed people were having a lot of problems with the coffee machine.
The cost of the hotel is less than half of what you would pay at the neighboring hotels, but be prepared for probably less than half of the quality. I recommend Super Bude. It's a similar price and much nicer, although not as close to the Haupthahnhof.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scharfer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Went over for the Celtic Game, checked in at 7.30 pm & out at 11 next morning. Well worth paying the extra 5E for brekky. Would have preferred en suite but toilet was outside my door. 500 m from main Rail station so very handy. For a bed for the night at 35E it did the trick

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavyfaePirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Breakfast was nice and the lady in charge very sympathetic.
I was really disappointed when I saw the rooms (we checked out several rooms). In some double rooms the beds were placed head to foot. We paid 50 euro's per person for a very small single room (2x5 meter) with the shower placed INSIDE the room. The toilet was in the corridor. There was hardly any space to put luggage on the floor and certainly it was a place to stay away off till the moment we went to sleep. There was a very bad smell and noise during the night coming from the restaurant next door. I would only recommend this hotel to people who need a 'cheap' hotel or to people who just need a bed for the night. The hotel is very centrally located, 200 meters from Hauptbahnhof/central station (S-bahn train to airport) and you can leave your luggage in the cellar until the moment you leave.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I enjoy simple things in life. Like being inside on a cold day and feeling all warm and cozy. Or taking a hot shower. Or chatting with a friend on the phone. You know, small things we normally take for granted and don't think about. Well, a night at Hotel Lilienhof will bring a newly found appreciation for these simple pleasures in life. That's because for that one night (and I say one because you will be checking out the next morning regardless of your original intent) you will not be able to do any of those things.

Let me first say that I am by no means a picky traveler. I travel a lot and actually enjoy staying at small simple hotels and hostels. So, bottom line is it takes a lot to make me unhappy with a place. Hotel Lilienhof managed to do just that. A group of us stayed at the hotel for one night in March. We booked several rooms (2 persons in each room). From the start, one of the rooms had the cigarette smell so strong, that they had to change rooms. Hey, no problem. It is after all not the hotel's fault. The rooms did not have private bathrooms but instead had a shared bathroom on each floor. That's okay. We knew that. The room did have a shower. It was located in the closet. Unorthodox, but what the hey. Kind of fun. The shower had no hot water. Hmmm… The room had no heat… It was -10C outside. What does one do? Pick up the phone to call the reception. Yes, you guessed it. Not working.

It would have all been okay if the person at the reception actually cared even a little bit about all of this. That was not the case.

I want to be objective about this place and bring up some of the positive things. But I can't. Oh, wait, yes I can. Have I mentioned the newly found appreciation for small things in life?

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ah_nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MadeStj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Hotel Terminus
#125 of 321 in Hamburg
133 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Apartment Hotel City Apart Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#279 of 321 in Hamburg
46 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lilienhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lilienhof

Address: Ernst-Merck-Str. 4 | St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $40 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lilienhof 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lilienhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilienhof Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing