We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the cheapest in Hamburg, standard accordingly.”
Review of Hotel Bee Fang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bee Fang
Ranked #293 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed August 5, 2011

If the Beefang was in a different pricing category, I would have rated it as very good. One has to realize it is one of the cheapest in town, and offers a personal family run atmosphere contrasting with an ordinary chain hotel. Rooms are very diverse. Some very small, even too small, others quite large, some en suite, some with shared bathroom. They have three pricing categories, and the room standard is accordingly. If you wish to adapt the one you are taking to your requirements then ask for being shown your room before checking in. Breakfast is a bit on the cheap side as well but quite okay, and still has to be considered relative to the type of hotel you are in. Overall cleanliness is fair to very good depending on the room.
What I like most with the hotel is its typical Chinese atmosphere and this encompasses a certain degree of modesty. What I did not like is the new reception guy working for them. I have to agree with another rater here that I consider him not to be trustworthy, for various reasons. Believes he is very smart, should be taught to keep a distance with the customer and not to treat them like they were jerks just because they are not impressed.
If I would go again? Certainly, I have been a recurring customer for years now. Most recommended for people traveling on a budget that can take a non-western standard, chain hotel dislikers, and for its central location.

Room Tip: Do insist on being shown your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

The location is for this price great, however they have a strange guy working (the only one that's not chinese). He wants to be good but on the other side is trying to make fool out of you and wants to make money on every step you make.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My friends and I here stayed at the BeeFang Hotel in Hamburg in May 2010. The hotel was perfectly located as it was about a 5 minute walk from the train station. The hotel itself needs some major renovations to keep up to the standards of being called a hotel. However, everything was functioning properly. The breakfast room was quite nice, with lots of space so no need to be waiting in line as with some other hotels. The variety of food was quite nice (this was one of the few hotels which served more than 2 varieties of bread). The rooms were small but clean and ours had a nice flat screen TV. The bathroom in the room was extremely small and sometimes you might feel claustrophobic inside, nevertheless, it was clean.
I would recommend this hotel for a quick city getaway for 3-4 days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NakaNiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Hotel was in a very convenient location on a nice little square and close to the main train station. There was some building work going on while we were there so all the corridors were dusty. Lift only really fits 1 person + luggage which is a little annoying. The hotel seems mainly full of stag parties. Rooms are small and basic and our bathroom didnt look like it had been refurbished- it was tiny and the sink in the room kept dripping out of the bottom. However if you want somewhere cheap to stay then this isnt the worst option and it is definately quieter to sleep than Reeperbahn!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e14_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I stayed in the same room as greg08 and would like to add that any one booking into this hotel should demand that they be shown the room with a member of staff on arrival because the highly unreasonable and uncompromising owners will try and charge for any damage that occured before your arrival!!!
The owner thought that he was dealing with your average drunken stag do ,that when threatened with the police would fold and pay up to avoid further trouble...
This hotel is probably the cheapest in this area but the owners obviously make money by ripping off innocent guests, my advice would be to book with caution.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestBromBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Be very careful when thinking about booking this hotel. First of all I would like to say that this hotel is well located and reasonably priced for the area.

However I recently stayed there with a large party of around 12 - this was a stag do but not your typical group of 12 Lads from England - we are generally very polite and friendly.

On the first night we were there I borrowed the iron for which you have to leave a ten Euro deposit (it is that kind of hotel). The next day as we were leaving for the day the young Chinese owner pulled me aside and said we had burnt the carpet in the room. This was simply not true but the gentleman was insistent. This running battle was fought across the Saturday with me being very reasonable and level headed and putting our case across that we had not burnt the floor.

I even offered 50 euros to square things off even though we had definitely not burnt the carpet. The guy was not going to let it go until we paid 150 euros so he could put a new carpet down. He did not want to offer me a receipt or let me pay the carpet company directly - instead he wanted 150 euros cash.

I got even more suspicious when to demonstrate that I had burnt the carpet he got out a strip of carpet from under his desk and started heating the iron. When I asked what this would prove he got very frustrated and angry with me.

He then threatened to call the police and I asked if he please would as I felt that I was being conned and would have liked an independent view of the situation. He called the police who of course on a Saturday night during the Euros told him to get lost.

I have a feeling that he normally gets paid at the police threat stage because he was hopping mad that I actually asked him to call the police. I don't know if I am correct but I would go so far as to say if you choose to stay do not hire their iron because I think this guy tries this on with a number of people who have used the iron.

If anyone else has had the same experience then please let me know.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bindo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

My rating is mainly based on the price - the cheapest available in town as regards internet reservations. The facilities were basic and typical as regards a basic budget hotel. My room was impeccably cleaned every day, and the furniture was new, the staff was friendly and the address was very good, in a quiet area only 5 mins walk from the Central Station.
I was slightly irritated by the public bathroom, which could be
improved for just a few Euros: the soap machine was running,
the lock in the toilet should be changed, and why deposit a painter´s ladder there ? But these are minor issues. Everything was clean. The breakfast buffet had quite a large selection, including, for instance, apples, youghurt, many cereals and breads etc., though not any fat-free ham. There were only a few guests; whether it can become too crowded during the season, I can´t tell. The owner is Chinese, and you will encounter some
interesting group photos of Chinese dignitaries which have visited the place. There are many very good and varied eating places and shops in the area, especially along the Lange Reihe, such as the Kulturhaus Koppel 69 etc. The kebab in that street, Keb Town, wil serve you a filling meal, a döner teller, for Euro 5:90. There´s
a livelier and good atmosphere at the Bierstube-like white pub
opposite the hotel on the square, which serves very filling meals for about 6:00. Try to see the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe,
if you have an interest in cultural subjects.
By the way: I booked the cheapest room without a bath at booking.com, and because of this I was only allowed to pay cash.
In short: enjoy the basic facilities and spend the money you have saved on shopping and experiences; if you tend to want to pay for a higher level of quality as regards the hotel facilities, you should probably find another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joen.dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel Kieler Hof
Hotel Kieler Hof
#200 of 321 in Hamburg
56 reviews
Hotel Marco Polo
#250 of 321 in Hamburg
20 reviews
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Alpha Hotel-Pension
Alpha Hotel-Pension
#120 of 321 in Hamburg
74 reviews
Hotel Terminus
#130 of 321 in Hamburg
135 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#231 of 321 in Hamburg
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bee Fang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bee Fang

Address: Kirchenallee 26, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $41 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bee Fang 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bee Fang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bee Fang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing