We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect for 69 euros”
Review of Hotel Alameda

Hotel Alameda
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alameda
Ranked #229 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very cheap but very basic, everything worked, the room was very small but clean, hot water all ok. Breakfast limited to cereals, rolls, cheese, cold meats, preserves and fruit juice, yoghurt etc. but was fine. At the time I went there was the big SMM exhibition nearby and normally it is very difficult to get a room in town at any price so this was a bargain. The location is great only 5 mins walk from the Messehallen, can be a bit noisy over the street but generally quiet by 12pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was very happy with my stay here. This hotel is not fancy, but clean and comfortable. My room and bathroom were small, but perfectly functional. The breakfast was ample and tasty, and offered in a pleasant dining room. The hotel is well located on an interesting street with shops and restaurants. It is in walking distance to the downtown area, Planten und Blomen, and subway and train stations. It was a short walk to the Dammtor train station where I was able to catch an ICE train to Berlin (much more convenient and less hectic than the Hauptbahnhof). The Alameda proprietors were pleasant and helpful. I was able to communicate fine with them in German (theirs was much better than mine). When I discovered that my electrical converter did not fit the round electrical outlets in my room, the gentleman quickly provided an adapter. It was no problem to pay via credit card. This hotel may not be for people who value US-style amenities (hair dryer, coffee maker, bathtub), but was fine for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank knickertraveler711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

The hotel is in an excellent location- the nearest U-Bahn stop in 1 minute from the front door. The room was clean and larger than expected. For a double room we paid 95 euros a night. There was no hairdryer or tea/coffee making facilities. There was a television set. The sheets were clean, but only changed once during a 10 day stay. The owner only accepts cash payment, and often pretended not to understand english or german.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medb_ag_taisteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

The hotel's location on Colonnaden is excellent, perfectly placed for the opera.
The hotel is up a flight of steps to reception.
The owner is very friendly, speaks some English and was very polite about my German (it's not her first language either) and pretended kindly that my Chinese accent (which is her first language) was good too.
The breakfast was good, 2 kinds of rolls, 2 kinds of cheese, cold meats, fruit, yogurt, jam, honey, coffee etc.
Free wireless internet connection available on request, which was great.
I think the difficulty for me was that yes, I know it's a budget hotel (€68 per night for a single) but it felt cheap to the point of scamped throughout.
When I arrived, I was told no single room would be available for the first 2 nights, so I'd have a double and then move. That's ok, these things happen. However, the double room, although clean in itself, was very, very tired, the walls were very grimy and grubby, and seriously needed a coat of paint. or two. The bathroom was very small but not as small as.....
The bathroom in the single, which was absolutely tiny. Knees touching the wall when - er - seated, and I'm only 5'2"; small basin with big mixer tap over it so had to bend down to spit and rinse to avoid hitting the tap - but to bend down I had to open the bathroom door behind me!
One of the curtains had been made by joining two lengths of fabric horizontally. OK, it was neat enough but looked cheap, didn't match its partner.
The bathroom shelf wasn't cleaned every day and the one glass, that did service for toothmug and drinking glass, wasn't cleaned or changed for at least 3 days.
No mini-bar, snack machine, hair-dryer.

I know that when I'm paying a budget price in a big city, a basic hotel is what I'll get, that's fine, but I expect basic in terms of accommodation and services, not tatty in terms of presentation.
I really want to like this hotel better, the owner was so nice, but I don't.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ailidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

This is an absolutely terrific little hotel in the central location of Hamburg called Dammtor. I'm very surprised there aren't a lot of glowing reviews of the Alameda on Trip Advisor, but it seems that people tend to flock to the more heavily reviewed hotels. Pity, because the Alameda is a budget hotel worth every euro.

This place is clean and well run, with the nicest, kindest owner I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. The bathrooms are close to brand new, so everything is shiny and well maintained. The beds are comfortable, and though my single room was on the small side, there was still space for a desk, chair, tv, and armoire. It didn't feel too small or too congested. My wife and daughter shared the larger, double room next door, but the price was the same. I guess the owner just took a liking to us. Go figure. We had two rooms for four nights and the cost was 525 euros. I'd be surprised if you could find a place that cheap that is nearly as good.

Keep in mind that the Alameda is in Hamburg central, and easily accessible to everything. It is on a pedestrian street that is very quiet, yet right in the heart of town. 50 steps away, if that, is the U1 subway, which connects you to the rest of the city, and makes the trip to the airport very, very quick and simple. Alster Lake is a pleasant 2 block walk away.

Breakfast is included, but I never ate it, because we got into the habit of eating a couple of doors down at one of three or four coffee spots on the block. There are also some excellent, not too expensive restaurants a minute away.

I'd really like to include some criticisms of the Alameda, to show balance in my review, but I can't think of any. Ok, it's not fancy. And the elevator is quite small, allowing only one person and a few pieces of luggage to go up the one floor to the rooms.

If you cannot afford the high cost of a luxury hotel, the Alameda is an honest, clean, quiet and comfortable alternative that puts you right in the middle of one of my favorite cities in Europe.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank TomfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2005

I stayed at Alameda in October 2004. I definitely did not expect to encounter such a pearl of the hotel for the most reasonable price I was asked for.
Location is wonderful. Colonnaden is a very short and absolutely quiet, green pedestrian street with a number of restaurants and bars to choose from. A most beautiful flowershop is just opposite the hotel door. The street is quite close to all main attractions, and even closer to the main shopping area of the city.
The room was very small, to be true, but absolutely clean and looked renovated. The bed was very comfortable. The lady at the reception seemed to be the manager of the hotel, and though hardly speaking a word in English, still tried her best to be helpful. They even gave me free city map upon arrival.
Please consider that the hotel does not have the safe deposit neither in the room, nor at the reception. But the hostess takes documents for safe keeping.
Breakfast was great, like full English buffet, and with classical music. All in all, I loved the stay at this hotel, and if ever back to Hamburg, will certainly choose it again, even if by then I have an opportunity to pay for 4*.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
17  Thank antoinette_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
Thank Chiara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hotel Garni 'Bei der Esplanade'
Neustadt
Baseler Hof
Baseler Hof
#45 of 322 in Hamburg
379 reviews
Hotel Alster-Hof
#69 of 322 in Hamburg
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel am Berliner Tor
#186 of 322 in Hamburg
224 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Bridge Inn Hotel
#225 of 322 in Hamburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alameda

Address: Colonnaden 45 | Innenstadt, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $83 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alameda 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alameda Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing