We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious home-away-from-home in Hamburg”
Review of Okotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Okotel Hamburg
Ranked #240 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in Hamburg, Germany visiting friends over New Years and stayed again in the Okotel, where we had stayed a couple of times some years before. This time however there were four of us and smaller rooms were booked up, so we took the "Apartment" on the top floor - #32. It has 72 qm. of space (about 775 sq feet), with full baths, two bedrooms, one very large with a balcony, and another room with a wetbar and fridge and table and chairs. There was plenty of space for all four of us to relax and enjoy our time there. There could be a bit more furniture - a couch or two more in addition to the easy-chairs would be nice. But otherwise it was fine. The price was about what we would have paid in a normal midrange hotel for four people, but the feeling of the place, the attention to ecological anti-allergen detail, and the breakfast were above average. The hotel is not in the city center, but you can walk a couple of blocks and catch the 5 bus downtown that runs pretty often. If you do bring a car they have a basement parking garage that costs 2.50 EUR per night, or you can park on the street. An advantage of its location is that it is very quiet, and the windows and balconies for many of the rooms - for example #32 - look onto a green space. The staff are a bit more reserved than some visitors might want, but they are knowledgeable and helpful. It is, after all, northern Germany and not Italy.

Room Tip: Review is about #32 - which is actually more of an apartment than a hotel room or even hotel suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooranth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 24 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed in the “suite” 2 nights for business purposes and found it adequate. The room was very spacious and clean, the location suited us, it is very reasonable priced and the breakfast was absolutely perfect. The staff where not very warm and welcoming but friendly and helpful, and the carpet in the lobby could use a clean/replacing. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Belgians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

I stayed in the Oekotel at least 7 times... every time when I am in Hamburg. The rooms are just magnificent, really big and bright, the staff is excellent and the breakfast buffett is really good!
Its an Ecological Hotel which means all is made of wood and supports energy saving techniques and all the materials used are enviromental friendly.
By saying that, you won't miss any of your usual Hotel amenities... it's really comfortable and even though its a bit away from town, by bus or car you're in town in no time.
It's easy to get from the Airport, and there are shopping facilities and restaurants nearby. As well as Ikea...
We've stayed in different rooms each time, and each one I liked. Even the single room was spacious!
I'll be definately staying there again, as I feel really like at home there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chica771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: In der Oberen Etage gibt es einen Großen geräumigen balkon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank felixlang2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank stefan19680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juan Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Wandsbek
La Petite Perle
La Petite Perle
#219 of 321 in Hamburg
50 reviews
Alt Lohbrugger Hof
#114 of 321 in Hamburg
74 reviews
Vierlandentor Hotel
#175 of 321 in Hamburg
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
Select Hotel Hamburg Nord
Select Hotel Hamburg Nord
#141 of 321 in Hamburg
257 reviews
Heikotel - Hotel Wiki
#241 of 321 in Hamburg
53 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Racket Inn Sporthotel
Racket Inn Sporthotel
#163 of 321 in Hamburg
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okotel Hamburg

Address: Holsteiner Chaussee 347 | Schnelsen, 22457 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $78 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Okotel Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Okotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing