We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain close to Altona station”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #189 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
321 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A bargain close to Altona station”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Central hotel was a good place to stay for a budget 2 night visit to Hamburg. Just behind the Altona railway station with excellent communications with train, S.bahn or bus.
The breakfast was 9 euro extra. Too much for our budget, so we got a good breakfast at a cafe near the station for half the price. The room was rather basic and the reception was in another building. However clean and well organized.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobbelkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    42
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
32
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel was clean and quiet (with the window closed) although dated. We enjoyed the 4 euro breakfast, especially the ability to drink multiple cups of coffee. It's right next to the Hamburg Altona train station, which I didn't realize when book meant it was a wee bit away from the city center. But we loved the St. Pauli district adjacent to Altona. The reviewers who complain about the shower and water on the floor. We also stayed at the Westin in both Berlin and Frankfurt and they had the same style of shower (albeit with higher end finishes), so I don't think one should knock the apparent German way of building a shower. The only downside was no shampoo (only a wall mount supply of soap).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixteencmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Just back from a 3 night stay in this hotel. Fab location, right next to the train station which is so easy to use & understand. Great pubs/restaurants near by within walking distance.

Hotels cleanliness was brilliant! Not one bit of dirt in our room! Bathroom was gleaming!

Comfortable beds, we were at the front of the hotel facing the train station and to be honest the noise didn't wake us up, but when we had the window shut, you couldn't hear a peep from outside.

Staff were very friendly & helpful! Will definately be staying in this hotel again in our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teenyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

first of all this should not be called a hotel, my room was nothing more than a hostel room, a pretty poor hostel room at that. first of all, i booked a double room, but was given a twin room, with two very slim single beds that couldnt be pushed together. the pictures of the hotel did not correspond with the real thing, the decor was dull n the room certainly was not comfortable. the weather in hamburg was exceptionally good so the room was hot and i could not keep the window open as the sound from the station and road was too noisy...

the positives....

excellent location, a walk from the elbe, 2 stops from the reeperbahm
n, st pauli and feldstrasse and the sternschanze and 10 minutes by s-bahn to the hauptbahnhof...the altona area is a pretty nice area as well with plenty of shopping and food options...check out Bok, near the station, really cheap food and huge portions...i recommend the duck

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

As other reviewers have said, you check in next door at the Best Western, and they then buzz you in to the hotel, which is all absolutely fine. It was up a lot of steps (our room was at the top!), which was tiring, but nothing too strenuous for anyone who's in decent enough shape.

Rooms themselves were quite small and basic, but perfectly adequate. Beds were comfortable but came with terrible thin pillows (even by German standards!). I had to sleep with a towel under the pillow to gain some height.
Bathroom wasn't great, small and a little dated, and the shower is difficult to use without flooding the entire floor as the power of the stream just pushes the curtain out into the room.
Hotel overlooks the train station, but there was no noise from that. Location was great, as it was just two minutes walk down to said station, for mainline and U-bahn and S-bahn trains. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby too, and it's not far by public transport into the main centre.
There was theoretically free wireless in the hotel, but I couldn't make it work despite following all instructions, and desk staff at the Best Western were unhelpful in this regard.

Overall, recommended, but only if you can get it at a decent price.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badoerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

4 of us stayed in 2 double rooms for 2 nights and it cost approx £80 per couple for the whole stay so I wasn't expecting anything special. It was an absolute bargain as far as I am concerned. You book in next door at the Best Western and they buzz you in and leave you to it. The room was beautifully clean and nicely decorated with TV, phone, Bath/Shower, wardrobe and twin beds pushed together. The rooms aren't huge but we just wanted a place to get our heads down and I've stayed in much smaller places, the beds were comfy with perfectly clean, warm bedding and there was plenty of hot water (in fact a bit too warm if your not careful).
I would warn anyone with mobility problems that the bath/shower in both our rooms were really high sided and could be difficult to get in and out of. Also, as we requested non-smoking double rooms ours was on the top floor (3 or 4 flights of stairs) with our friends just below us and there is no lift. No problem for us but probably for some.
The Hotel is located in Altona a very short walk from the Metro station, which is approx 7 metro stops from Central Hamburg. Altona is apparently one of the poorer areas of Hamburg and we did notice several homeless people in the mornings but we had absolutetly no problems at all and for us it was an ideal location where we could jump on the metro in a matter of minutes and be in the Reeperbahn, St Pauli or Central Hamburg.
We had a great break and would recommend the Central Hotel and Hamburg without hesitation.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the distance from the metro station.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumblesquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I went to hamburg in december with my partner, found this budget hotel in Altona hamburg.To tell you the truth it was the cheapest in hamburg and we were on a budget. Stayed at hotel central for 2 nights and with hamburg being extremely cold even more so than London the room just refused to get warm. I was cold to a point where i could not sleep after being out all night on the reeperbahn (not as seedy as previous reviews said, the redlight district in amsterdam is more seedy) enjoying the city. When we arrived at the hotel yes!! you have to pick the key up next door at the best western rafael but it was fine had no problems there. The room is small but fine if you are on a budget.
I asked for the non smoking room and to warn you it is on the 4th floor, last floor up with no lift so my boyfriend and i had to carry our luggage up the flight of stairs, not a great experience. However the room apart from being cold which my boyfriend didn't mind as much as i did, it was extremely clean bathroom, towels and bed sheets so i was happy in that respect.
Hamburg is a great city to visit it was my first time and i love it and would go back oh the christmas markets and the hot wine!! Public transport is much easier than in berlin to get used to only 2 stops to the reeperbahn and the fishmarket which you have to visit if you are in hamburg on a sunday morning and go early. I had the most amazing time at the fishmarket drinking beer before 12.
The best selling point for the hotel is the location right next to the train station Altona with lots of fastfood restaurants around with a big shopping mall. Do not forget to try 'BOK' the chinese/korean restaurant next to burger king the food is the best noodles and rice i vegetables i have tasted at a chinese restaurant. Try the sweet and sour fish great!!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank slyckchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ottensen
Hotel Commerz
Hotel Commerz
#215 of 318 in Hamburg
46 reviews
Ottensen
Hotel Hamburg Altona
Hotel Hamburg Altona
#239 of 318 in Hamburg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Stephan
Hotel Stephan
#156 of 318 in Hamburg
46 reviews
Ibis Budget Hamburg Altona
#113 of 318 in Hamburg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Prasident-Krahn-Strasse 15, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Central in Hamburg As its name suggests, the Hotel Central enjoys a central location and is well placed for the port, theatres, musicals, shopping and sightseeing. This ideal location - only 100 m from the Altona (ICE-) train station, 200 m from the popular Ottensen quarter and 1500m from the Cruise Terminal Hamburg-Altona - makes the hotel ideal for city tourists and business travellers alike. The 25 comfortable rooms offer a pleasant and personal atmosphere with comfort at reasonable prices. Free WiFi Internet access is available throughout the hotel and we also have dedicated parking spaces available. Ask our reception staff if you wish to use the Internet terminal, the sauna or bar in our partner hotel next door. Everything is within easy reach of the Hotel Central. The port, Fish Market and Reeperbahn are all easy to reach on foot. You can get to the city centre with its sights and museums in 10 minutes by S-bahn train from Altona station. If you want to see a musical, you can also get there very quickly by train. The lively restaurants and pubs in the Altona-Ottensen district are only a stone's throw away from the hotel. It's also a great place to go shopping or just stroll around. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel Central in the exciting Altona-Ottensen district of Hamburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing