We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, great location”
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Hamburg
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I like the the Barcelo for its clean, simple, functional, yet friendly, professionalism. Everyone, and everything, works just fine without any unnecessary fuss. The style of the rooms is distinctive and more interesting than most. The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. The location is great. That's it!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Barcelo has a very good location in the city centre, It's just a few minutes walk from the central station and just a ten minute walk from the city hall square (which is the main square in Hamburg). Rooms are nice and clean with good beds. However, not very big, and I did not fancy the open shower- and bathroom solution. The breakfast buffet was ok, but too expensive. For such price (22 euro) I expect even more. Service was ok, however the personnel did not bother too much to make you feel welcome. And what is the point with waking people at 9 o'clock to tell them to put the "no disturbances" sign on the door?

Location and cleanliness is really good, but the service and breakfast prices is not good enough for me to give the fourth star.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Very beautiful room, enough space for two, Really clean. We had a junior suite and the view on the city we asked for (in the highest grounds of the hotel). We were really glad to have found such a modern, elegant hotel in Hamburg which isn't as easy as we could thought. The only problem was the service at the hotel bar, we waited there for 30 mn to get a drink, the tables weren't cleaned up and the service bar was awful. But The service at the reception was very good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Camille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the Central Train Station and also a short walk to the U-bahn at Monckebergstrasse where you can catch the Yellow U3 to St Pauli for the Reeperbahn and also Baumwall & Landungsbrucken to the harbour on the Elbe. It is also convenient for the shops on Monckebergstrasse and walkable to the Rathaus and delightful shopping area situated here.

The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was large, modern, clean and facing an inner court-yard, so was very quiet. The room has windows which open. The shower is a large glass shower cubicle which divides the sleeping area and the bathroom, where there is a separate toilet.

The bed is large, with two large separate duvets. The only issue I had was the bottom sheet - it was more than likely highly starched, but it felt like plastic, as was the main long pillow - both of which rustled when you turned over.!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed at the Barcelo for one night on business. I found the hotel very functional, clean with a nice ambience and good service. The room was spacious, clean and functional.
The location is great in the middle of the city center.

For a weekend getaway i would however choose something else like EAST or Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten, but the Barcelo certainly did the job of hosting for my purpose this time.

Go if you need a stylish and good hotel with a good location for a good rate. nothing to complaint about.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckrSTHLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We love this place! We were together on a christmas weekend trip to Hamburg and stayed here for two nights. The atmosphere in the city was enjoyable!

Further, Even in our standard hotel room, The beds were extremely comfortable. The design of the shower was quite original, since it was located in the midst of the room.

The personnel was quite friendly and the hotel lobby was pleasant to stay. Walking distance to the closest mall and the inner Alster was approx 1km.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Léon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice hotel, perfect to stay in. Spacious, clean and nicely decorated room, comfortable bed and different sizes of pillow, very quiet too. Personal at reception accurate and polite.Location is fine, just around the corner from the lake & center. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank A... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#30 of 321 in Hamburg
1,504 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
1,637 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
685 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $134 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing