We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Hamburg
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Walking distance away from one of the biggest shopping centre, from central station, but on quiet street
Modern hotel with excellent service, it's one of the best hotels we've ever stayed, but agree with other reviewers who said that breakfast was overpriced
We definitely will be back there

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Recently opened (March 2013) and very well located as others mentioned. The price was reasonable in a period where many hotels were busier and rooms available exceeded 220€. Not here since I paid less than 125€ per night. As it is unfortunately often the case in Europe, breakfast buffet prices are steep at 22€ pp but in line with other similar hotels in Hamburg (not as varied). Service was polite but did lack efficiency (15+ min for check-in, credit card system problems at check-out).
Not the most confortable setup for working in your room between meetings. Minibar charges are outrageous (3€ for a small bottle of water) and the Internet was very slow and kept kicking my devices out, so I had to re-log in very often.
Bartender needs training...
Minor irritants that will hopefully be resolved.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel is situated one block away from the Alster and some 5 blocks away from Hamburg's busy central station which makes it an ideal location for a city break. The hotel itself is a haven of modern design and comfort.

Staff is efficient, and checking in or out is done within a matter of seconds - the lobby and the restaurant all ooze a mod vibe, however we did not got to trying the restaurant. On the downside, the hotel breakfast is quite expensive, and in an area full of coffee shops and bakeries is thus best avoided.

The rooms are nothing short of stunning - modern and comfortable, with a glass-enclosed in-room shower. The star of the room however is the bed, which is likely the best bed I ever laid my head on; large and comfortable. We especially liked the selection of different pillows to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

arriving by train from Berlin we were able to walk to hotel from train station about 5-10 min walk. On arrival were we made feel very welcome, once checked in we were shown to our room and the air conditioner didn't work so we were moved to another room - all good. Room very nice but not alot of room to put 2 cases, good sized shower, toilet very cosy, small mini bar, tea/coffee. Free WIFI in room. Breakfast there was a lot to choose from. Hotel very close to the water, a lovely area to take an evening stroll.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellady007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room was large, clean and the shower was situated in between the bathroom and the room, and it was fantastic.
Next time I am in Hamburg I am coming back.

The hotel is situated close to the city center, and they have parking within the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinHolmslykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Within walking distance of Central Station, otherwise the 5min taxi ride will cost you €6. Modern, clean and very stylish, this hotel is situated in quiet part of the city but is within easy walking distance of main areas of interest, shopping and restaurants. The room (209), was very spacious and furnished in a contemporary style. The open plan bathroom, together with the rain shower cubical which divides the room may not be to everyone's taste, we found it to be a great idea - after all where else can you watch TV whilst showering! The beds have memory foam toppers and crisp white linens that allow you dissolve into a great nights sleep. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Didn't take breakfast due to the high cost quoted by other reviewers, and there are a number of local coffee shops serving much cheaper equivalents. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone, and would be a first choice when visiting the city again - well done Barcelo!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank plauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank sisi0
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 321 in Hamburg
1,504 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
1,644 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#14 of 321 in Hamburg
2,275 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 321 in Hamburg
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $137 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing