We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-time stay at Barcelo”
Review of Barcelo Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Hamburg
Ranked #28 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First-time stay at Barcelo”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've been to Hamburg 15 times now and normally stay at the Fairmont or Park Hyatt. The Barcelo recently opened so I thought I would give it a shot. The hotel is in a very central location (4 blocks from the Hauptbahnof, 1 block from the Alster and about 3-4 blocks from the main shopping area). I enjoyed the open room (bathroom was not walled in with the shower being the divider between the sleeping area and the bathroom) and the quality of the furnishings. The hotel interior is quite modern and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    529
    140
    39
    20
See reviews for
161
687
41
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Barcelo hotel in Hamburg is a great place to stay overnight or overweek. It has a central location and it is still a quiet place. It is centrally located, very close to all possible public transport. Central Railway station is at the 7 minutes walk if you find the right way. The breakfast is very good but a little bit expensive for average Germany visitor, just 24 EUR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnis_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good central location, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very comfortable. A bit more atmosphere in the public areas and in rooms would be nice. Showers are brilliant! Would recommend this hotel for business stays in Hamburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

In Hamburg for the first time, I stayed at this great hotel - and I'm coming back for at return visit.

Barceló is a "designer hotel" with a almost scandinavian style, integrated bathroom, cool yet not cold! The atomsphere is relaxed and rooms in great shape.

The hotel is located close to cafés, shopping and everything also you need.

Room Tip: Go high, stay high
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Everything is new, shinny and very clean.

Big room with a huge bed, very fancy glass showers in the middle of the room.

Lots of fine details, such as the lighting in the rooms that makes you feel comfortable.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best I ever tried.

This is not a cheap hotel but it is very good value for money.

If you force me to say something negative, I would mention the slightly boring view over a court yard from my room. And maybe because the design of the hotel is so futuristic and fancy some couples looking for a romantic hotel would find the atmosphere a bit too cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Barcelo Hamburg, whilst visiting the brilliant Hamburg Christmas market, and found it a good choice. We have stayed in Hamburg many times, usually at the traditional Hotels round the Train Station, but chose the Barcelo because of its location much nearer to the Rathaus in the centre, and the price, which was excellent. I was a bit concerned that all the rooms had a double bed, but one e-mail to them and 2 single matresses were put on the top to make it a twin room for us and my daughter and her freind in theirs. Its a very modern hotlel having only opened on March 2012 and very contemporary. It seems odd with the sink in the middle of the room, and the shower wet room has a glass door which is almost see through, so you need to know your partner, or warn them! LOL
The staff very very freindly and helpful. Breakfast is expensive at 20€, but having a large apitite I managed Fruit salad folllowed by scrabled egg with smoked salmon, then a fried breakfast course, then if room, you could have ended with pancakes and maple syrup. The dinner menu is a Tapas selection, which looked good although we didn't eat there.

In all a good Hotel for pleasure and business. We will return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, it's has a Very modern & trendy atmosphere! The bar/restaurant area is like a cool nightclub experience, dark with trendy club music, a real cool atmosphere, yet still nice & relaxing, near the fire!
The hotel has a fantastic location with 5min walk from Rathuas (centre of Hamburg, Town hall) nr the large Christmas Markets.
The hotel is extremely clean tidy and has helpful staff.
Rooms are fantastic! Could do with a bath, but a lovely walk in shower.
We are a young married couple with no children. This hotel I'd recommend to similar people, couples, young/middle aged, or trendy older people, business people.
Hotel wasn't the cheapest, but as soon as u walk through the door you see why, I think it's all value for money.

Overall I recommend this hotel 100%!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,343 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#26 of 319 in Hamburg
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,013 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,489 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Hamburg

Property: Barcelo Hamburg
Address: Ferdinandstrasse 15, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing