We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #21 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
essex, england
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Short stay in Hamburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had travelled into Hamburg via a cruise and opted to stay a couple of nights before heading back to London. It was easy to get a taxi from the Port and for 4 of us the fare was 25euros and not too long a drive. We arrived early but was ok to check in and the rooms were just about ready. Service at check in was excellent and at the same time we were able to buy a Hamburg card which enabled us travel across the city as a group.

The hotel is as it appears in all the pictures and is an exciting and interesting building. Our rooms were loft rooms and the exposed brick was a nice feature. The rooms were a good size however as already mentioned on here, there is no air conditioning and it happened to be a fairly stuffy and humid weekend in Hamburg while we were there. However, they immediately sent fans up and with the windows open it was ok.

The amenities in the hotel are limited outside of food and drink. There are nice areas to relax and take it easy, there is a 'Spa' however - it was closed most of the time and in the limited window it was open, there were no treatment times available. Talking to reception, it didn't sound like much of a spa even when it was open so I wouldn't use it as a reason to visit!!

The restaurant was superb and I would fully recommend eating here at least one night - apart from here there are some smaller restaurants in the local area and all reasonably priced.

We enjoyed our stay, it is a good base for Hamburg as the station is a 5 min walk and it is a nice building to stay in - but not much to do.

Probably wouldn't visit Hamburg again by choice, but if did - I would definitely chose the Gastwerk!

Also - easy to get to the airport by the train! (30mins)

Room Tip: Ask about air conditioning - I believe some rooms do have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear flyboylee,

We thank you for the comprehensive feedback and recommendation. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a good time at our hotel as well as in the city of Hamburg.

In case you will be visiting Hamburg again, we will be happy to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Yours Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    225
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
50
213
33
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I booked this hotel after seeing it in the easyJet magazine article about Hamburg and wanted somewhere a bit different. The hotel and surrounding area are beautiful, polite friendly staff, large rooms, modern bathrooms and amazingly comfy beds. The location is ideal for the train station and local bars. A very calm, peaceful and relaxed hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear VonJohnstone,

Thank you very much for your very kind feedback and recommendation. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations after seeing us in the easyJet magazine.

We hope to see you back, soon.

With kind regards
The Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg – team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My favourite hotel in Hamburg. No two rooms are the same. I love the exposed brick work that shows the building's heritage. All the staff are friendly. They even give me German lessons. I would not stay anywhere else in Hamburg.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Gordon B,

Thank you very much for your review and your loyalty towards Gastwerk Hotel. We are glad to hear to that you still enjoy your time with us and look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel with a great combination of old factory, modern decoration with vibrant colours, very comfortable and with spacious rooms and a good breakfast. Servid is good but bot exceptional locatiobs is not great too in terms of the surroundings being interisting to visit everything distants 5km and there is no gym facility which is also not good for a person like me that likes to exercise but it was a good experience

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Teresa C,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. Your opinion is very important to us.

With regards to the gym, we’d like to recommend the use of the Holmes Place Fitness Club neighboring Gastwerk Hotel. A day ticket is available for € 18.00 at reception.

We would appreciate to welcome you back, soon.

Kind regards,
Yours Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in February for work and was very impressed with the hotel. Whilst it is slightly out of town the hotel is close to my office and therefore very convenient for business trips.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel looks well designed and has a lovely ambiance in all public areas. The room I stayed in was large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was plentiful and there was lots of choice of hot and cold food.

We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner on 2 occasions. Each time the food was incredible and we all walked away feeling full and content however we managed to crawl the short distance to the bar.

Overall I was very impressed with the Gastwerk Hotel and I'm looking forward to my stay here next week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheSun82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear LovetheSun82London,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us and look forward to welcoming you back, soon.

Warm regards,
the team of Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in the Gastwork hotel a couple of times before. Every time, I'm impressed by the building and the great atmosphere of this old gas factory. Spacious rooms, cool but laid back atmosphere. Very quiet rooms. Great service and an excellent onsite restaurant. Parking is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Claudia R,

Thanks for the very kind review and praise given. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This old gasworks makes a super hotel with lots of character. Our room was very large, with a walk-in wardrobe area and a bathroom which had both a bath and a shower. Breakfast was good - it was a bit of a palaver making a cup of tea (who'd have thought it could be so complicated!) but once I'd got the hang of it, quite enjoyed it. Wasn't sure about all the plastic pots of herbs as decor though!

The hotel is close to an S-Bahn station and I was able to hop on a train and get to the centre of Hamburg in half an hour. All very easy - the trains and connections are first class.

Unfortunately we had to leave early because of a bereavement and this entailed changing flights and trying to print boarding passes in the middle of the night. The printer in the business centre wasn't working and the concierge was really helpful, letting us use the desk computer for this at two in the morning. This was a lifesaver and we were hugely grateful. I wish we could have stayed for the whole of our planned trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Caroline H,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We highly appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you had a good experience at our hotel.

We are sorry that you had to leave early due to personal reasons. Sincere condolences from all Gastwerk team.

We wish you all the best,
Kind regards,
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#60 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#23 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Property: Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, HRS, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing