We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Modern,Comfortable and Cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #19 of 320 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern,Comfortable and Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Built within an old gas works building, this is a modern and well appointed hotel that captures the industrial feel of the old gas works. Some remnants add that connection to the past.
A great restaurant and bar area, the staff are friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is good, although a bit repetitious by the third morning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Riccardo56,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you had an overall satisfying stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us, already.

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    203
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
178
32
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

When I was informed by our Hamburg office the hotel they had reserved for me was a converted gasworks station I can’t say I was instantly filled with enthusiasm. My fears were hardly abated when my taxi pulled into the crowded car park and indeed it was a large brick industrial building. However, my impression started to change when I entered the building and saw first the lifts and stairs and then the atrium and reception desk. After a swift and pleasant check-in I was soon in my room. Facing inwards into the atrium space, the room was spacious with many trendy design features. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom new and modern.

The bar area was relaxing for a quick drink before going to classy restaurant. The food was excellent, but with prices to match !

Breakfast was popular with not many spare tables each morning. In addition to all the normal offerings there was a large choice of tea available, most of which I was unfamiliar with. No option to have an English Breakfast teabag !

Overall, the Hotel Gastwerk was a tremendous surprise and great value. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear fatbear2000,

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is a pleasure to read that we were able to positively surprise you and that you had an overall satisfying stay with us.

We look forward to your next stay with us already!

With kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here business in September. I got a room in the top floor. It was a very spacious room indeed which all the conveniences of a European city hotel.

Located of Mendohlsson Strasse in the Altona district it is a good lengthy ride in to the city centre but still convenient.

The breakfast is excellent at the hotel and if you are into tea- it has the most impressive selection of teas anywhere- it's like Whittards! (Wait didn't they go bust?)

I was speaking at a MALDI-TOF Technology conference in a large auditorium and I found that that staff provided good concierge facilities and knew what they were doing with the sound.

The buffet food was of impressive quality and reflected well on the company who hosted the conference.

Would I stay again? On business yes, might baulk a bit at the price if on personal visit.

Room Tip: I woudl ask for a high up room as the rooms are constructed around the central atria of the hotel mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear JamesSherwood,

Thank you very much for your comments! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Business or leisure trip – we look forward to welcoming you back, soon :)

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We are currently staying at the Gastwerk Hotel on day 4 of a 6 night stay. We have been very pleased with our choice of hotel. It's in a great location and is very central to many of the sights, the autobahn, etc.

We have an atrium room, which has plenty of room for the 2 of us. The beds are comfortable and are what you would expect in a European hotel. The room also has a nice sized desk, closet with safe and mini bar and the bathroom is small, but functional.

The staff has been great - assisting with questions, responding quickly to a request for an iron and board, and providing timely wake up calls. Even when we arrived early on the day of check-in, they arranged a room for us within 10 mins of arrival.

As others have said, the building architecture is really cool. It just adds to the overall feel and vibe of the hotel. I would highly recommend Gastwerk and we hope we have the opportunity to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CAPTampa,

Thank you very much for the kind review regarding your recent stay with us! It is a pleasure to read that you had an overall satisfying stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Hamburg, soon.

Kindest regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a wonderful,cool and modern hotel, it has all the things one would like to see in a stylish hotel, I have no complaints, breakfast was good and free Internet which seems to be a problem here in German is offered , the staff are friendly and helpful, nice big windows and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear WarrenTraveler,

Thank you so much for the kind words. It is a pleasure to read that you had an overall satisfying stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back, soon.

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

cool building, hotel was adapted to the original structure of the building
spacious room, bathroom very tiny in comparison to the room.
my room was an interior one and the noise from the patio can be disturbing, also a bit dark as no natural light enters through the windows
good breakfast with a good selection of free newspapers

Room Tip: ask for an outside room, there´s no noisy street, the building is in an office area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkfs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear jkfs111,

Thank you very much for the review given on tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your Atrium room. Next time you stay with us, try one of our modern style business loft rooms or a loft room with the very characteristic brick walls.

We look forward to welcoming you back, soon, and thanks again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed two nights at this very beautiful, modern hotel of Hamburg, since it was very close to the offices I was visiting. As many other buildings in this lovely town, the hotel is an old factory which was renovated as a hotel.. That means, at least for my taste, a very modern and stylish hotel, with more than average size rooms, free wifi, lovely lobby and a nice restaurant. My room (184) had a not good view at the building next to the hotel, however even that was adding to the whole experience in a positive way (sounds controversial but... :)

The only negative was the bar experience. During my first visit to Hamburg some months ago, I have stayed at the sister hotel 25h, very close to Gastwerk. Back then we have visited the bar and we have experienced lovely cocktails (I had worked in this field so I can judge pretty fair). This time, I learned that that barman has left the place.. The Mint Julep we have all tried, it was one of the worst cocktails I have ever tried.. Even the beer was not served in the correct way the next night. Pitty for such a lovely place. If you exclude that, I would definitely
suggest the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can avoid the 1st floor most probably you will have a lovely room view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Xainis,

We thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is good to hear that you like the hotel so much :)

On the other hand, we are very sorry to hear that with regards to the bar, we were no longer able to meet your expectations. Your feedback has been forwarded to our F&B team and we very much hope to give you a better impression next time you visit our L.BAR.

Dear Xainis, thanks again for the feedback. We hope to welcome you back, soon.

Kind regards,

Your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Hotel Volksschule
#8 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#11 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#29 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#17 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Property: Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing