We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five-star hotel with central location, modern and clean rooms, large breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Five-star hotel with central location, modern and clean rooms, large breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Sofitel Alter Wall is a modern hotel, the design of the rooms is the way I like it (modern and clean cut). We had a room on one of the highest floors (on the Alster-Kanal-side) with a great view. The breafast buffet was fantastic, with an enormous variety of choices. The spa is relatively small but very cosy and has also a cool design.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHGZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    706
    216
    69
    25
See reviews for
234
1,027
201
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

My husband and I visited this hotel for 3 nights in the end of march. We had a deal that said stay 3 night and pay only for 2, in a luxary room. Our room was spacy and clean and the bed was very nice. But, there was one thing annoying us. The internet was not free and if you used the cable in the room you were charged more for an hour than you pay for a month in Denmark ! We bought 5 hours wireless internet access for 10EUR, but in ALL other hotels we have stayed in, both cheap and expensive hotels, the internet access has been free to use. The minibar in the room is also very overprised. 4,20EUR for a 0,2l coca cola. At restaurants in Hamburg we gave 2,5EUR for the same size.

We ate the breakfast every day, and it is also very overprised in my opinion (26EUR), both it worth the money ! There are a lot to choose from, different kind og bread (wholegrain eg), many different juices and smoothies and you can order pancakes, waffles and so on from the kitchen. The breakfast room was lovely to be in and the service was good.

The location of the hotel is very good. We arrived with train at the central station, and it took us about 15minutes to walk to the hotel. Just beside the hotel there is and U-bahn station, but we could walk to almost everything we wanted to visit. It is close to the main shopping area, Europa passage (shopping mall) and a lot of cafés, retaurants and so on.

So all in all a fantastic hotel, but the fact that you have to pay for using the internet access, was very dissapointing when the hotel itself is very expensive and we use the internet at lot when travelling to find informations e.g. The rooms are quiet some rooms facing the canal and some rooms facing the road, but not a very busy road.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Title says it all.. Buuut They want me to put some more characters in here soo.. IT WAS GREAT!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank paulix89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stayed here intiially for business and then stayed on the week-end for pleasure. Easy to reach from airport on direct S-bahn line and then just a couple of minutes walk. Also right next to an U bahn station which is only 5 mins from the port. Also only 10 mins walk from main shopping areas. I had lovely room (though paid for the upgrade), great bathroom and toiletries. Pool area is stunning and I had a great massage. Will definitely stay again when I return to Hamburg.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

I stayed at Sofitel for two nights on a business trip,
my meetings were at the Congress Center, which was only a 5 min drive away,
and enjoyed the 5 min walk to the lake and to great shopping.

I would have given a 5-star to the room, if the lights were a bit brighter, but this is not unique to Sofitel, can anyone tell me why the lights are always a bit dim in hotel rooms, I miss bright light after a stressed day of work. However, I must admit I enjoyed the philips ambilight tv in the room and the pink and green spotlight to the bed was cool.

breakfasts are yummy with delicious choices of fresh juice.

Bathroom is spacious with a tub and a seperate shower, the beds are comfy, and the price is just right!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed at the Sofitel Alter Wall 2 nights ago over a long weekend and sincerely enjoyed my experience there.

The hotel was centrally located close to the Innere Alster and shopping district, and featured beautiful views of modern and old architecture along the canals from my room.

The rooms featured many modern and fun design features (plus the great views mentioned above), staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the decor of the common spaces memorable, and the bistro/ restaurant featured friendly service and good food. I would highly recommend a stay here, as it was truly classy and well worth the money spent.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinheiro_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

just arrived back from alter wall hamburg.fantastic relaxing wend arrived late thurs nite check in fine was on the 8th floor lovely views of the city.room was lovely,spacious very clean and lovely comfy beds,slept great,staff were very friendily and helpful,bfast was superb with plenty of choice of hot and cold items,bfast runs till midday at weekends which is great after a lie -in.we did the i love chocolate promotion-3rd nite free -fantastic.well done sofitel hamburg.dutchflower

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing