We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay over Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay over Christmas”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Invited my mum for a 3 night stay over Christmas. Checked the website and different booking options then rang reservation and a very helpful lady recommended the luxury rooms based on my requirements regarding views and high floor. Location is fabulous with major attractions in walking distance and several metro lines to choose from.

The room was spacious and very well equipped with a fantastic bathroom.

Service was unobtrusive but always there when needed and breakfast definitely one of the best I had with a great choice.

We really enjoyed our stay and I'll return gladly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello-Ms-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Hello-Ms-B,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    716
    218
    72
    26
See reviews for
236
1,039
202
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel was a positive surprise from the start to the end. The location is excellent and in short walking distance to shopping areas. The hotel features a modern design, cleanliness and staff that were at all times friendly and accommodating. I would have loved to take the bed home with me - it was sooo comfortable. For a hotel of that class it is really quite moderately priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RichMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear RichMei,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and as well for taking the time to write your feedback.
It is nice to read that the room with the soothing “My Bed” concept makes your stay an unforgettable experience. Kindly be informed that you can purchase our special “My Bed” concept to enjoy the same comfortable sleep and Sofitel experience at home. Please do not hesitate to contact our Quality Manager ( Tel : +49 40 369 500 or h5395-QM@sofitel.com) for more information.
I would like to thank you for your positive comments and pass them over to my team.

Dear RichMei, once again thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall to stay at and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice and upbeat hotel. The rooms are larger than normal with a lot of up to date items such as an in wall TV and a Bose sound system. Most rooms come with an ironing board, iron, and a coffee pot boiler, but if you don't have them in your room, just call the desk and they will send you the items. The rooms are pretty much sound proof and the floors are very quiet.

The front desk is very helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants and attractions. Pay attention to the floor that you are on when you get to the elevators. It is NOT logical. For example, if your room number starts with a 3, then you will need to push button 2 on the elevator panel. It is written on the panel, but if you are in a hurry and just want to get to your room, you will miss it. I am seeing this every now and then, and its like the guy who installed the elevator was not talking to the guy who numbered the rooms. There is some construction going on in the building behind the hotel across the canal, but the noise is minimum.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Duck1963,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Kindly be informed that our rooms are not equipped with an ironing board and iron. However you are right that you can call our Housekeeping team at any time. They will be happy to bring you an ironing board and an iron in your room.

Dear Duck1963, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

With the hotel being less than a 5 minute walk to both an overground and underground station, this hotel is in a perfect location to access Hamburg for a visitor.

The hotel itself is has a nice cocktail bar just off the lobby with a respectable range of cocktails and Scotch Whisky.

I never ate dinner at the hotel but the breakfast is definitely up there. Selection is very good, but what makes it stand out is the quality on offer. Options for all here.

There are only two things that let this hotel down. 1, the gym. It's tiny. In fairness Sofitel does look like it has quite a good spa, but I think they've hedged their bets in that direction which made the gym suffer. Only one treadmill (second one out of order), one elliptical trainer, one exercise bike and some weights.

The other complaint is the room. Although very well laid out, clean and tidy, it is a bit too contemporary for a sleeping area. A lot of white and a random picture of two peoples faces on the headboard? A little weird. But in any case, the important aspects were good - comfortable bed, good night sleep.

Would recommend for business trips.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Foodgoorou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Foodgoorou,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Check in. A crowd at getting advice from the front desk meant a short wait. Then when I got to the desk one of the crowd came back and I was totally ignored for 5 minutes while her requests were dealt with. The agent then looked at me blankly and asked if he could help...this despite me already having given my name, explained I wanted to check in and handed him my credit card. No apology for that, or that it took 10 mins from walking through the door get served. Welcome drink offered as an A Club Platinum benefit but no late check out as the hotel is busy.

Room. Tiny. I had booked a single and they are small. A queen size bed shoehorned into the room but an oddly large hallway. No bath. Nicely decorated though in soft warm tones. No A Club Platinum upgrade but that is pretty typical of the chain. As always if they had explained no upgrade was possible because the hotel was full I would have understood. Dodging the point totally isn't so clever.

Bar. 15 minutes before any of the staff noticed me, and that was only achieved by standing up and waving at them. Service was then very good but a sour taste left by the large, handwritten TIP on the bill. This is Germany, not the US! Drinks were good but the food over priced and mediocre, charging Euro17 for a few microwaved sausages and oven chips.

Bed. Very comfortable but by this point I was annoyed so noticed all the things that didn't work for me. Two small overly soft uncomfortable pillows, a flickering bed side light, poor sound proofing so I could hear every passing conversation in the hallway, no obvious do not disturb sign so housekeeping knocked at 9am.

Checkout. Another crowd of people, no obvious attempt at serving people in order. Disappointing again.

For Euro155 that was poor value for money, especially the service and also a reminder why Accor A Club is a really, really bad loyalty programme. I would look elsewhere when I come back to Hamburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear SHNW6,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
It is our goal thanks to high Sofitel standards to make your stay always the most comfortable one.

Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your experience with our Front Office and 7 Heads Bar Team which will help us to improve.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Centrally located and an easy walk from public transportation. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent (though a tad expensive if not booked as part of the room rate). The room was clean and spacious. I have no complaints and would definitely stay there again - and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Jon C,

thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and for taking the time to write this feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as we have committed ourselves to make you feel at home while away.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will be happy to pass your feedback over to my team, of course.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
Kindly be informed that we offer different choices of breakfast, so please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant staff during your next stay.

Dear Jon C, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Sofitel Alter Wall is located in the city center, close to shopping, sights, and transportation. The hotel itself is a pleasure, with well appointed and spacious rooms and a large lobby that is never congested. The front desk service is excellent with the staff eager to assist in answering questions and providing information about restaurants, shopping, sight seeing, etc. A very positive experience at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Phillipd3,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I highly appreciate it and I would personally like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
Moreover I am pleased to read that our modern room with the soothing MyBed concept and exquisite bathroom make your stay an unforgettable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
Best regards,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing