We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk not representative of a Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Front desk not representative of a Sofitel”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stay here if you want a convenient business oriented hotel with minimum interaction with anyone in the hotel. But stay elsewhere if you want atmosphere, a warm bar to chat in, a happy and helpful front desk and memories that will bring you back. The Sofitel in London does all of that, so its not the fault of the brand. The concierge staff were brilliant but they couldn't make up for the reception desk and some staff who seemed solely focused on "processing" you as quickly and as impersonally as possible. When asked for help, they did the absolute minimum and seemed to lack any knowledge of the area around the hotel - too much effort. It occurred several times during our three day stay and unfortunately we won't be back. The hotel management needs to inject some charm into their front of house staff and to make the whole foyer a place that welcomes and provides a good experience. Right now it and the reception staff are soulless. Try one of the classic Hamburg hotels and you will immediately find the difference. There at least there the bars are also not like some temporary curtained off shed in the middle of a bland railway/airport terminal like foyer.

Room Tip: High floor - suggest 8th floor as then you have a view over the city and above the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fliegenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear fliegenkiwi,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
It is our goal thanks to high Sofitel standards to make your stay always the most comfortable one.

Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your experience with our Front Office which will help us to improve.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    731
    227
    73
    28
See reviews for
245
1,058
206
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Check in staff were friendly - had to fill in a time-consuming form which seemed surplus to requirements......
Room was very clean. Decor felt somewhat clinical and sparse although sofa at the end of the bed was a good touch.
Bar staff very friendly and attentive.
What pulled down the rating was the dreadful check out process - it took far too long and clearly needs reviewing. There were two queues with 4/5 people in each queue all of whom were getting frustrated with the lengthy process. Hope they change the process soon as it was a disappointing end to a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbear0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Cbear0510,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
It is our goal thanks to high Sofitel standards to make your stay always the most comfortable one.

Criticism and hints how to do things better, will help us to reach our goals and increase our guest’s satisfaction. We are very grateful that you described your check out experience which will help us to improve.
Moreover I am particularly happy to read that all other services matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

We hope, you find a second home when travelling to Hamburg and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It has been one of frequent return calls at a hotel already known from previous trips. So no surprises expected. Great location, we are corporate customers - must be a great stay.
But not this time. Check-in as swift as usual but the room - well you find it only at night. There is a city rail in Hamburg and it operates also at night. And if you are "lucky" to get a street side room - you feel it and hear it as if the train was going through your room. Don't believe my words! Try it!

In the morning I asked for the room to be changed to the canal side (I was staying two nights). And the receptionist refused saying that there are no rooms available, and I already got an upgrade... Basically - I should feel delighted that I was permitted to stay at the hotel at all! No arguments accepted - not possible.

How nice it was to get the room changed within next 15 minutes after discussion with Sales Manager! The rooms were available and the rate was not a problem. It seems that the receptionist had a bad day - one of those when it is easier to say "NOW" then "YES".

we have 2 cooperating hotels in Hamburg. Next time I will surely try the other one...

Room Tip: By all means do not accept street side rooms even if they pay you for that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aszanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear aszanti,

thank you very much for taking some time to inform us about your opinion and your impressions of our hotel.
We assure you that it is our highest ambition to have satisfied guests who are looking forward to return to our hotel. Therefore it is much to our regret that your stay in our hotel did not perfectly match with your plan and expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
I am surprised to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Indeed, during your last visit, you were very satisfied with the room facing the Alter Wall and I ask you to kindly contact our Quality Manager (H5395-QM@sofitel.com) in order to provide him with your room number so that we can check the soundproof of the room.

Dear aszanti, once again, thank you very much for your comments and we would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, business or leisure brings you to Hamburg.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I spent four days in Hamburg and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The room (luxury room) was really spacious and the 3.2 m to the ceiling was a nice feature.

The staff was as friendly and helpful as you could expect, and the "feel" of the hotel was great: quiet, tidy, luxurious.

The spa is nice, but a bit small.

Our only criticism is the price of the breakfast buffet: appr. 30 EUR pr. person is a LOT of money compared to what most people can consume at breakfast. We opted for nice cafes of which there are plenty in the immediate vicinity.

But otherwise thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank denkrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear denkrab,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
In addition it is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.
Moreover we offer different choices of breakfast, so please do not hesitate to contact our restaurant staff during your next stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel at the epic center of Hamburg. The hotel is located at the Alter Wall which is at the other site of the center canal where the Neuer Wall is full of shops of the uber-class. The hotel has a public car park just below, a spa and several restaurants. As always ask you Conciërge (Christian Kluess) for good restaurants and you will not be disappointed as he knows the local scene very well. Rooms are at a good level of comfort and the bathrooms are also of a good size.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flateric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Flateric09,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team including especially one of our concierges Christian Kluess.
I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
It is nice to read that you like the modern art of the hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your whole stay with us and that you had a positive experience at the hotel.
We hope, you find a second home when travelling to Hamburg and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location, ambience are perfect. Walking distance to the fancy, diverse shopping areas around the Alster lake. Service from doormen, check in, concierge were impeccable. The (deluxe) room was very well appointed, spacious and had a very nice, large bathroom. The drawback was, that it was facing away from the canal on which the hotel is located. From very early in the morning, a very noisy subway is surfacing from underground, lumbering up an incline with a turn, causing a screech that can wake up the soundest sleeper. Windows, although double glazed, provide little "protection" and even earplugs didn't help. After two nights, I requested a new room facing the canal. Service staff were extremely kind and helpful, another room was available and my belongings were moved without having to pack up. The next 2 nights were paradise by comparison.
The hotel is modern, stylish, has a very comfortable bar with great service and a very beautiful spa. With a room facing the canal, the Sofitel is a very good choice for downtown Hamburg

Room Tip: Try for room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hongkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Hongkon,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with the french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was a really fantastic hotel. I was astonished by it's location. About 5 minutes walk from the Rathaus and the same from the nearest S-bahn stop (Landungsbrucke) direct service from the airport. It was also about 10 minutes walk from the main shopping street starting at the Neuer Wall. The staff were, as always at Sofitel, immaculate, helpful and kind. The facilities were very good. Great spa, free internet at the PC's in public areas and good restaurants. Food quality was superb... (I particularly recommend the buffet breakfast. Both cooked and continental styles available but also a section for North German specialities - smoked fish and herring etc.) Rooms were excellent. The bed was comfortable and had the usual pillowed under blanket. The bathroom had a separate shower room - unexpected in a standard room. The only slight negative was that a "double" bed consisted of 2 singles pushed together. The bar was excellent, a good selection of German beers and some really good cocktails including some invented by the bar team themselves. A very comfortable and highly enjoyed stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Stuartm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles_Felgen, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Stuartm,

thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay.
Feedback is utmost important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve.
I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.
In addition it is a pleasure to read that the great morning buffet with the french flair met your expectations and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Hamburg or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 319 in Hamburg
1,439 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,338 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing