We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #26 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very modern and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The property was first settled. The hotel is very conveniently located. Near train station with direct travel to the airport. Very close to the Town Hall Square, so we never miss a Christmas show at the weekend. It offers comfortable, clean, the breakfast is great. However, at first it was uncomfortable, because we lived in a room for the disabled, but with a great view of the canal. This is perhaps the single remark, as at the reception we were not warned. But the room was large with a great bathroom and two TV. I could watch late-night football, and his wife - a concert. The room is very fast wi-fi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofi842, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Moreover, I would like to apologize for the fact that you were not informed that you were assigned a suite for disabled guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    726
    224
    73
    27
See reviews for
239
1,051
203
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We only stayed for one night on our travels but it was a great location to stay in. Our window faced the water and was neet considering we are in the middle of the city. We walked for hours in the area around with lots of upscale shops and historic places to see. It only took about 5 minutes with the Subway which was right at the corner.

The room is moderns, well equipped and very comfortable. But as some other reviewers pointed out the window to the bathroom was a rather strange view. The spa and pool is a must when visiting as it is a waterfall massage and very relaxing.

Only issue we found was parking was a bit over the top with 26Euro/night on a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofi842, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We'd never been to Germany. So as a first experience in a new country we were so suprised to feel do completely at ease. The people of hamburg are credit to their country. The surrounds of hamburg are architecturally interesting given its 20th century history. What survives that is very artistic. Hamburg itself is historically significant I'm it's own right. The reason I've not mentioned the hotel yet is that it was pretty much flawless. Not being overly affluent people we did find the prices a bit high. Bu then we did pick a high end hotel. It's location us spot on!
Excellent all round

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnerandbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofi842, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
It was nice to read that during your first stay in Germany, Hamburg especially met your expectations.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
232 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel is an about 30 min drive south of the airport and an about 20 min walk from the main train station. The hotel is located in the heart of the city.

The rooms are relatively small due to for my feeling the wrong furniture. The couch is big and there is an extra small table, hence not too much space. The bathroom is large with a separate walk in shower and a bathtub. The bathroom actually is quite large with good lightning.

The beds are very soft, but they can be turned around and they become more firm - the reception can arrange that to happen.

TV is quite annoying, as it has many functions, such as internet, pay per view etc. It is difficult to simply watch TV. The TV itself has the usual channels, hence good.

Internet is LAN and WLAN based. Basic internet is free of charge, but it is really slow, however enough for Facetime and Skype. The VPN, although they advertised that is does not, worked in the free of charge mode.

Breakfast was good, but for sure not worth 29 Euro. Real orange juice was available. Good!
We had a large conference there and had lunch, which frankly was not very good. It was a simple buffet and itself enough food, but the quality was simply not too good. Maybe we were unlucky.

The room number system does not correspond to the floors, hence rooms starting with 4 are located on the 3rd floor etc. But it is simple to follow.

Electric plugs are next to the desk, 4 of them. Good, but they only take German style plugs.
There are also plugs next to the bed, but they are used for the bed side lamp, hence you must unplug the lamp to e.g. charge your mobile etc.

Room Tip: Rooms to the "fleet" are quite and the view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofi842, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
There are a few points for example the Internet and the TV which we already want to fix as soon as possible.
If the soothing MyBed concept were not to your satisfaction, please let us know before your next arrival, so that we can remove the MyBed that you can sleep a little bit harder.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The style of the hotel is modern. Our room was clean and a fair size. In room safe. Free wi-fi. Strange window in bathroom that looks out into main room (and no way to have privacy). Large tub to relax in. The bed was comfortable and the linens were nice too. There were some really fun (and delicious) candies for us to enjoy in the room upon arrival as well as mineral water.
Friendly staff upon check in. They were also able to make change for us when we needed it.
Very close to the train and there is a grocery store close by too.

Room Tip: Try for a room looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofi842, Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
It is nice to read that the Luxury room with soothing MyBed concept made your stay an unforgettable experience.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Gilles Felgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
1,421 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
2,304 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Property: Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing