We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, fashionable design hotel in the centre of Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Ranked #27 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Pros
- great location - 10 min walk to centre of Hamburg
- welcoming and helpful staff
- modern, albeit small, rooms - designers, feel good
- view on the canals of Hamburg
- nice bar with welcoming and friendly staff

Cons
- ?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A friend of mine and I travelled to Hamburg from within Germany in April and decided to stay at the Sofitel in Hamburg as we were able to get a very good, discounted deal on a room for two nights.

All I can say about the Hotel is that some of the other reviews on here ring very true. The hotel may look very nice and snazzy but the service is even below what you would expect in an Ibis. First negative was that when we arrived in reception we were not greeted by the receptionist, who was busy with paperwork. The other staff in reception were huddled around at the office end and no one came up to serve us. The receptionist took about two minutes to complete the task she was doing and then finally acknowledged us and just asked how she could help us. We then presented our booking confirmation print-out and after not being able to check us in she walked off, without apology or explanation to get the reception supervisor to assist her with the check-in process. The supervisor did not acknowledge us nor apologised for the delay. She mentioned something to the receptionist along the way that the category we were booked in was overbooked so something had to be done to override this and just walked off and left the receptionist to deal with us once more who eventually managed to get us checked-in. Before she checked us in I enquired whether the room we got is a twin to which she merely replied that they "don't do twins, doubles only". She then presented us with the room cards, not asking whether we would maybe like a newspaper in the morning or giving any information regarding breakfast. On the way to the room we encountered several members of staff, none of who acknowledged or greeted us in any way.

The room itself was ok. The mattress was very very soft to the point of discomfort and the bathroom has a large glass panel which enables whoever is in the bedroom to look right into the shower and vice versa. I would only recommend staying here to people who have got nothing to hide from each other if you get the drift!!!! Bathroom was very dark with what seemed like a thousand light switches for little spotlights which only caused glare. No coffee and tea making facilities to top everything. The only good thing was the room safe which works with swiping a credit card.

The decor in the rooms is quite bizarre with photographs of random people in bikinis on beaches. They appear to be holiday shots from the 1980's, enhanced with garish colours. Pretentious and just not very nice to look at really. The room was average size with a small sofa at the top of the bed and a dirty, pebble-like footstool which always rolled over no matter how hard I tried to balance my feet on it. There was some sort of sideboard-wall in which the TV was integrated in with two tiny drawers, once containing a bottle of wine. No shelving or spots to put stuff in in the entire length of that wall,

We stayed for two nights and the morning of departure we were woken by a constant hammering noise from around 8am onwards until we departed at around 12pm. Upon departure I mentioned this to the general manager who checked us out and he appeared to be very surprised by this and immediately made enquiries in front of us as to what was going on. I don't think he was unaware of any maintenance work going on in the building and that this was just his way of making us feel 'dealt with' and that our concerns were being taken seriously.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel as it is style over substance and service fell short on every level. Each and every member of staff in this hotel looked dour and unhappy. Yes, it was all very nice and clean and snazzy and sophisticated but it's all smoke and mirrors in my opinion. Just goes to show that the Accor Group should stick with what it does best... budget, no frills hotels such as Etap and Ibis where one does not have high expectations in regards of service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Papillon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Sofitel alter wall in November I have to say it was fantastic!the room was spotless and very comfy I didn't want to leave!the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us.it was pure luxury and I don't have any bad points whatsoever can't wait to go back!!:)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Overall a very nice hotel with a particularly nice and outgoing staff. The hotel is moderns and well designed. There are two cons:
My own laptop failed and I urgently needed to work with documents/emails etc. To my surprise (for 5* hotel) there was actually no business center to sit down and work and only one computer located in open space by a corridor, which I could use, and which was quite demanded during a conference. This is something that needs definitely improvement.
While I really liked, the design of the rooms and the bath room, some parts appear to be too worn and this could be easily repaired

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomcat222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

excellent rooms and service in a centric and well design, modern hotel. It isn't cheap but it is worthi and reasonable in price/service relation

Room Tip: 29 Euros for a breakfast is way too much. There are enough nice caffes around for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabaOmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed there for a business event with some colleagues, some of us got upgrades, some did not, me in the latter group. The standard rooms are quite small, the superior ones quite lovely with nespresso machines. The staff is extremely welcoming and friendly, the service impeccable, a very positive experience overall. Will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade or at least a room with a view to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,489 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,449 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 321 in Hamburg
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#36 of 321 in Hamburg
781 reviews
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#50 of 321 in Hamburg
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Address: Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hamburg-Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $163 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alter Wall
Hamburg Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing