We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific stay for business pity no Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #36 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Terrific stay for business pity no Internet”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for business and the room was beautiful. Modern design, minimalist, on point. Breakfast was the best in Europe with a total understanding of dietary requirements. Gluten free is a nightmare in Germany! Room wasn't huge but good size by European standards, enough for one person or a couple with limited luggage. I had a room at the end of the hall. Excellent English spoken by the staff, very helpful and taxi was called and came quickly every time. This is a terrific area with awesome shopping and sightseeing within walking distance. Only real let down was the Internet which never seemed to work for more than a minute at a time any time of the day. Several of my colleagues had the same problem, though the hotel was full due to the Aircraft Interiors show and I can only imagine the number of devices trying to use it at the same time. I would definitely return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Waitermorebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDE_Hamburg, General Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give your thoughts on the service and facilities at the hotel. Our customers’ feedback is very important to us. We are delighted to hear that our SIDE breakfast was to your full satisfaction.

We are awfully sorry that the Wifi did not work properly during your stay. The problem has already been fixed by our technical department. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of our best attention to make your next stay perfect!

Yours sincerely,

Theda J. Mustroph & Michael Lutz
General Manager SIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    450
    184
    54
    26
See reviews for
139
518
82
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Absolutely fantastic stay. The hotel is conveniently located to the opera, symphony, dining, shopping and subway. Never felt unsafe walking around the area alone late at night. Very large room and the ever pleasant staff checked twice a day to change towels if needed. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opernbesucherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDE_Hamburg, General Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

On behalf of the whole team of SIDE, We are extending our sincere thanks to you!

We hope to have you back soon.

With best regards,

Theda J. Mustroph & Michael Lutz
General Manager SIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Location is great and convenient for walking to river restraints and expo-trade show hall. Room very clean. Bed was a bit stiff compared to what you normally would experience in a US hotel like a Marriott or Hilton. Food at hotel was good. Hotel lobby and lounge kind of plain. It was cold when I stayed there the week of April-8. Room temp system does not allow you to target your temp. You hit either + sign or - sign and then room temp goes up or down. Took over 3 hours to go from 16.5c to 20c. This not acceptable. Then once temp got to 22c I could not get it too cool down. Other than that hotel was good on all other aspects

Room Tip: Temp control could be an issue for sleeping. Not sure how the air con would work if the heat system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDE_Hamburg, General Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us.

We are concerned about your comments regarding the low temperature in your guest room and would like to apologize that we could not regulate it. We already discussed your feedback with our Chief Engineer and assure you that we take your complaint very serious.

We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of our best attention to make your next stay perfect!

Yours sincerely,

Theda J. Mustroph & Michael Lutz
General Manager SIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is quite stylish modern look with a taste. Despite having relatively darker rooms as they look to other building and walls; you never feel this as a problem. The decoration is soft and white so that it keeps the mood in the rooms bright. Spa area is quite satisfactory and breakfast is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBALCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDE_Hamburg, General Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that the SIDE breakfast was to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

With best regards,

Theda J. Mustroph & Michael Lutz
General Manager SIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night and it worth it! Recommended by a friend we gave it a try and we would definitely come back.
The rooms are just lovely! Although the aircon in our first room didn't work, they upgraded us within 10 minutes which was lovely. The service is just amazing and the people are more than friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dieliebekati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDE_Hamburg, General Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

With best regards,

Theda J. Mustroph & Michael Lutz
General Manager SIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

room: nespresso machine, windows can be opened, super soft toilet paper, very comfortable and huge bed, clean, quiet.

service: very very friendly and well trained staff; breakfast until 2pm.

go enjoy the lobby bar which is, untypical for city hotels, very cozy.

did not use the spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Arnold_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDE_Hamburg, General Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We hope to have you back soon inSIDE!

Best regards,

Theda J. Mustroph & Michael Lutz
General Manager SIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
257 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pros:

*The location is good with reatsurants & shopping close by
*Ultrachic design in the lobby as well as the rooms.
Rooms are very modern without the cold "hospital feeling" many other modern
hotels have.
*Good breakfast

*Cons:

*While the pool area is the same gorgeous modern style as the rest of the hotel
a cold!? jacuzzi with temperatures around 20 degrees is not what i call nice.
This was a big flaw and i dont know if there was something wrong with the temperature
while we where there.
*Price. As prices on most hotelwebsites go up and down and we cought this hotel when the price was right its normally above the standard rate in the city.

Conclusion: While this is a nice hotel i prefer the Marriot while staying in Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDE_Hamburg, General Manager at SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that the location of our hotel was to your satisfaction.

We are concerned about your comments regarding the low temperature in the jacuzzi and would like to apologize that we could not regulate it. We already discussed your feedback with our Chief Engineer and assure you that we take your complaint very serious.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

With best regards,

Theda J. Mustroph & Michael Lutz
General Manager SIDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#53 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg

Property: SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Address: Drehbahn 49, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#33 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Hamburgs first 5* Superior Design Hotel, SIDE is directly located in the heart of the city. Built by architect Jan Störmer, designed by Matteo Thun and illuminated by Robert Wilson, space and light have been put perfectly in relation to one another. These are the factors, which essentially shape the heart of the hotel and make the SIDE a sensual location for the urban generation of today. The 168 rooms in different categories are minimalist in style, yet welcoming, comfortable and with a personal touch. Ten "flying" suites on the 10th and 11th floor are all decked out in white. A further highlight of the hotel is the Sky Lounge and the roof top terrace on the 8th floor which offer an impressive view over Hamburg. Both are perfect venues for summer parties, events or photo-shootings. On the ground floor, the [m]eatery bar +restaurant serves dry aged steaks, different self-made burgers and special tartars. Colourblocking is a key theme in the SIDE SPA. This wellness oasis is refreshingly colourful and luxuriously furnished ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Side Hotel Hamburg
Side Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing