We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every essential is there”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #110 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2010

For tourists the hotel is perfekt situated.

You're allowed to park in front of the hotel for a very short time (unload only), the hotel itself has some parking spaces in a parallel road, which are very small.

You'll get every basic in that hotel but only at a basic level, cool designed rooms with cheep materials and very limited space.

If you're travelling alone it could be very stressing to go out after sundawn, all table-dance-club-inviters and "commercial girls" think you're there to have some fun in the red light district, they can be "aggressive" - was very annoying for me after the second evening out there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robinkrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 167 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2009

Very good location for the reeperbahn, on the street and inbetween sex shops and strip bars and the like. Rooms were clean, I had one at the back so couldn't comment on the noise from the street. Bathroom had a shower cubicleand was very clean and tidy, lots of hot water. Breakfast was an excellent choice of cold breads, cheeses, fruit and cereals and there was some hot food too.
To be honest I didn't think much of Hamburg or the reeperbahn, I did go as part of a Stag party and we did have an excellent time but Amsterdam or Prague, both of which I have been too before were much better than this dirty little place. But if you this if your choice of city to visit then this hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

When considering the Monopol you have to fully aware of its location. It is bang in the middle of the Reeperbahn, which for those who don't know, is lined with bars, sex shops, dancing bars along with a few hotels as well as Burger King, MacDonald’s and other fast food joints. Basically Party Central.

If you want a hotel to enjoy a quite weekend in Hamburg then don't choose this place. If you want a hotel that is right in the heart of the action, then I would have no reservations recommending this place.

Its only 3 euros from the airport via train and then 400yds walk from the nearest station or about 20-25 euros in a taxi.
I booked this hotel for a group of 35 people and we had various twin and triple rooms. Breakfast was included which was mainly a cold continental affair but with the addition of some scrambled and fried eggs. The bonus was that it was served right up to 11am, with checkout a very generous midday too.

When booking a large group I would certainly recommend that you make the booking direct with the hotel and NOT go through a website. I booked direct and only had to "reserve" rooms, which meant I could make changes to the room numbers right up to the day before we travelled. Which was brilliant as I had two people pull out of the trip the week before we went and Doris on reception let me change the booking without charge, she was amazingly helpful all weekend. As I’d only made reservations, I didn't have to pay until we left, so only paid for what rooms we'd used.

The hotel itself was very clean. The bedrooms were on the small side, but adequate as we only used them for sleeping in. The bathroom looked nearly new and was very clean too, the shower was nice and hot as well.

We were on the 4th floor with a window facing the Reeperbahn and there was no getting away from the noise from below, even at 3am. But as I said at the top of the review, you have to understand where the hotel is located.

For a group of you looking to party on the Reeperbahn, then this is the place for you, no question.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Great Hotel, conveniantly located RIGHT ON the notorious Reeperhbahn! We stayed here in 2002 in a triple and also in 2004 in a twin and had a great time! If you are looking for a good budget hotel right on top of all the action, this is the one to stay at!

Pros:
* Staggering distance from all the great seedy (FUN)reeperhbahn sex stores, strip joints, bars and clubs (Headbangers ballroom... Der Clochard!!!).
* breakfast included was great (continental type stuff including hardboiled eggs of which i had a dozen without complaint from the friendly service) and they didnt mind us rocking up half cut straight from an all-nighter the night before!
* Staggering distance from all the fast food you can eat (kebabs, pizza)
* Walking distance from Internet Cafes, Supermarkets and Laundrys
* Conveniantly located between two u-bahn stops!
* Birds eye view of the Reeperhbahn's "Colourful" characters all night and day long!
* Walking Distance from the DOM Fair site

Cons:
* Non-smoking rooms smelled of stale smoke
* Tacky 70s decor
* bathroom was a bit mildewy
* Lack of Airconditioning = HOT Nights In Summer!

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOD_WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

I have stayed at the Monopol many timesin the last 8 years. As a regular visitor to Germany I can not thank the manager and staff enough for the consideration and assistance they give to their visitors.

The rooms are first class, and the cleanliness of both the rooms and the bath area is excellent, Room service leaves nothing to be desired.

The breakfast room is large and airy and food perfect - both hot and cold. On my last visit building work was going on to "imrpove" the Monopol. To my view it was perfect anyway but I look forward to my next visit.

It is in a perfect location for seeing the real Hamburg with two nearby underground stations. And returning late at night -or early in the morning - the intimate little bar is invariably open

I would strongly recommend it to anyone who has a life and wants to see Hamburg. Nearby Altona has a great shopping complex where many goods -perfume etc - can be purchased at a much lower price than at the up market city establishments.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Richard018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich würde immer ein Zimmer nach hinten nehmen, gerade jetzt zum weihnachtsmarkt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Centro Hotel Keese
Centro Hotel Keese
#123 of 321 in Hamburg
110 reviews
St. Pauli
Kastanien Hotel
Kastanien Hotel
#263 of 321 in Hamburg
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 321 in Hamburg
870 reviews
St. Pauli
St. Joseph Hotel
St. Joseph Hotel
#153 of 321 in Hamburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Address: Reeperbahn 48 - 52, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $75 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monopol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing