We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much nicer than chain hotels, if a bit dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vorbach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vorbach Hotel
Ranked #102 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Much nicer than chain hotels, if a bit dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel. My room is huge (I suspect it is not the "standard" single room I booked, but there was no upcharge), and the bar is always open. It is very convenient to the University of Hamburg. There are some excellent restaurants nearby. I am very happy I cancelled my reservation at the Radisson Blu and am staying here instead. The staff is very helpful. Take note: the Vorbach is by no means a luxury hotel. The decor is a bit dated, and after dark you need to use a key to several times to complete the journey from the outside to your room. I tend to prefer boutique hotels but was on a budget, and I am very happy with this choice.

Room Tip: Room 407 is very quiet and large, with a nice view of the courtyard in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    37
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
35
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very good hotel and an excelent big room with a large bathroom. (television doesn't have any Italian channel.......and the pillows aren't comfortable but the rest is really OK)
The hotel is in a nice part of the town near the University, central but quiet and surrounded by small restoring places, restaurants etc. The Strassbahn station is at 5 minutes walking and by Strassbahn you can go everywhere. A place to come bach again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

What I liked about this hotel was: (1) the friendliness of the staff; (2) their willingness to help you; (3) the updated bathrooms, and (4) it's location for what I needed to do. If I had been paying for the room, I would also have noted how cheap it is (or put nicely, its arguable value for money).

I would take a pass on pretty much everything else; and if I had to stay in Hamburg again, I would probably not stay here and I would do my homework to get a different place. This is not to insult the staff, because I very much enjoyed all my interactions with them. But the hotel was dated in nearly every other respect. The furniture in the rooms was 1970s chic. The beds were not sufficiently firm and I felt like I was sinking in (but if you like that, it would be a real plus). In the first room I had there, the TV was easily from the early 1990s and the remote control was broken. Which meant every time I turned it on manually, I had to search by hand for the one channel (CNN) in English. That got old after a while. Also, I note that the rooms have the most confusing keys. I didn't realize that you have to lock your door from the inside -- and I ended up having some trouble with getting this to work. Also, depending upon which "house" you're staying in, you may have lots of extra locks to open. Just watch out for this.

The absolute kicker, however, was the thump thump thump thumping from the music that kept me awake on a Friday night. I wasn't sure where it was coming from, but when the poor night clerk came to my room (at midnight) to help me figure out where it was coming from, we discovered it was coming from the university across the way. There was no way that they could control this. But as I was jetlagged and desperately needed some sleep, they were kind enough to move me to a different room for the night where I could get some sleep.

The breakfast in the morning was utterly unremarkable for Europe. Bread, meet, yogurt, fruit, coffee. Fair enough. It wasn't awful. It just wasn't spectacular.

Bottom line, I wouldn't come back here -- but it's not because of the staff -- it's because the owners should just put some real maintenance and capital into the facilities.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room facing the university on a weekend, particularly a Friday. It will keep you awake...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

First impression was like entering an elegant old familiar establishment. The staff was very kind and friendly. The ceilings in the hotel are high like Victorian buildings with deep cornices, they have preserved the original style with the hotel makeover and introduced some mod cons like elevator in the centre of the stairwell. The breakfast was fantastic, I did not want to move from the elegant dining room. If you cannot sleep the bar is open 24 hours, or you can go for a walk around the neighbourhood and savour the architectural delights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eros447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I enjoyed by three day stay at the Vorbach Hotel. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the Domntor train station. There is an events/information office in the train station that can provide you with a map and directions to the hotel. The hotel itself, seems to be two buildings connected on the second floor. The building features classic tradional German architecture but the interior is a bit simpler and basic. My room was as small as I have ever stayed in. I had to sit in the only chair and prop my feet up on the bed in order to work on my lap top. The door into the bathroom didn't completely open before it banged up against the toilet. That being said, the room offered everything I needed as I wasn't at the hotel much. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers breakfast in a confined space on the second floor each morning. The waiting staff are great but the breakfast is pretty basic. As far as I could determine, you had a choice of a soft boiled egg or a hard boiled egg, to go with selection of cold plates available on the one buffet table. The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing. You can rent bikes from a shop at the University a block away and pedal to the downtown canals and cathedrals in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My stay in this hotel was extremely pleasant and for a decent price. Room with lots of natural light and a view of a big tree. Very peaceful.
Great, strong shower and good breakfast.
Very friendly staff.
Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

elegant old bulding with very spacious rooms including top designed bathrooms and kitchen with all you need for a pleasant stay.
the Hotel is based at the top district of the city of Hamburg,10 minutes walk to the "Alster" or "Jungfernstieg",the famous shopping area.
also "Opera","Thalia-Theater"and "Laeizhalle",the best place for concerts are within walking distance.
just at the corner from"Rothenbaumchaussee",where you find all kinds of restaurants,europeen,asian,german food....
i recommend the Hotel Vorbach!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNCello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais
Hotel Alster-Hof
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Preuss
Hotel Preuss
#224 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uhlenhorst
Hotel Alsterblick
Hotel Alsterblick
#158 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Romantik Hotel das Smolka
#107 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vorbach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vorbach Hotel

Property: Vorbach Hotel
Address: Johnsallee 63-67, 20146 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vorbach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Vorbach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vorbach Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing